Chart Update AND Slimmons Birthday Photos!

First things first: yesterday was a weigh-in day. After going most of February without weighing myself, I’m back on my once-every-two-weeks weigh-in schedule. Here’s how I updated my weight loss chart yesterday:

Down one pound! It was a lovely thing to see the morning after my birthday, and a welcome change from my last three weigh-ins, each of which resulted in a gain. In the grand scheme of things, a weight of 238 equals a total lost of 164 pounds. I’m 6 pounds above my all-time lowest weight, and 18 pounds away from my next goal – and still happily chugging away!

It’s hard to tell because that photo is so close-up, but with this weigh-in, my chart moved onto a new page! It’s officially my chart’s eleventh page (!), but in December, I reconfigured the chart because I was running out of space, and condensed five pages onto two. Here’s the eleventh page, waiting to be filled up:

Here’s the chart in its entirety:

I’d love your input on a chart-related matter. I’m thinking of retiring the weight-loss chart altogether. I’ve been updating it for over two years now, and it was most helpful during year #1, when I ended up dropping 150 pounds in twelve months. Updating the chart every week and seeing my progress was a huge motivator. Now, though, it’s less motivating. In the past year, I’ve oscillated between 243 and 232 – an eleven-pound range (eleven is turning out to be the number of the day!). I’m certainly proud of that accomplishment – keeping off weight loss is no easy feat – but I don’t find myself rushing to update the chart or relying on it as much as used to. On one hand, I’d like the satisfaction of keeping the chart active until I reach my 220-pound goal, but on the other hand, reaching that goal has proven to be really difficult (I’ve been working on it since December 2010), so how much longer should I update a chart that just features a line wavering between a 10-pound range?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments section. You’re an insightful bunch, and you regularly help me see things in a new light, and I’d love to know what you’d do if you were in my size 13 shoes.

In other news…

Last night I took one of Richard Simmons’ classes at Slimmons, and at the end of class, my birthday was celebrated. Richard pulled me up in front of the entire class and had everyone sing me happy birthday (which he does with birthday celebrants at the end of nearly every class). Earlier, during the workout, he pulled me into a big circle to dance in front of everyone. Both moments may have been captured on video by Michele, one of the other instructors at Slimmons, so if they were and she’s able to send them to me, I’ll most definitely share them here.

When it’s your birthday at Slimmons, Richard gives you a little present: it’s a little, hand-crafted, one-of-a-kind Richard Simmons doll on a ribbon that he puts around your neck. He commissions a doll artist in the Midwest to make them for him. The one he gave me is jumping out of a package:

Cute, right? It’s the third birthday I’ve celebrated at Slimmons, so I’ve received three of these little guys:

And because it was my birthday, I couldn’t resist getting another picture with Richard (see all my pictures with Richard in the Photo Gallery). Wanna see it?

Yep, those are hundreds of colored puffs all over Richard’s tank top. As he said during class, “it takes a lot of balls to wear this top!” It sure does – quite literally!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

13 Responses to Chart Update AND Slimmons Birthday Photos!

  1. Martha Jane says:

    David,

    I LOVE the weight loss chart! Your Chart Updates are my favorite posts!

    If you are looking a change…maybe you should move the chart to an excel spreadsheet?

    I think…no matter what…that you will look back years from now and be so glad that you have the chart! And for that reason I think you should Keep It Up! :)

    Martha Jane

  2. Monica says:

    I agree with Martha, I think in the long run you’ll be glad you continued the charts. I, for one, adore that you’re kicking it old school with the graph paper but I know I wouldn’t have the patience to chart it myself (I rely on my trusty iPhone apps for that). It sucks hovering over that gain/lose line and I’ve been there but I think forcing myself to post those gains has held me more accountable for my actions. Also, the “balls” top made my day!

  3. susan says:

    Hi David,
    You have done a fantastic job; you look great and feel great and that is what is most important – not a number on a scale. This may end up being the right weight for your body. Please consider that. AND WE ALL KNOW that keeping weight off is harder than taking it off. For that reason, I think that you should keep the graph. In the light of possible weight gain, a flat line is fabulous ! Keep it up !

  4. Graham says:

    hi David, I have been following your blog since I started losing weight last summer (from 350 to 250 so far and continuing to go too!) I don’t use a weight loss chart like yours, but I did download an app for my iPad and my iPhone called iWatchr – it has a really great weight chart on it – so it’s an electronic one. I wonder if there are other weight loss charting programs out there? Keep it up, David! You’re doing well – and you continue to inspire thousands!

  5. Jen Weidenhof says:

    David – I do love your chart just because it’s so extensive and it shows all of your progress – but I can also see a point for taking it down and moving on. I am down a total of about 72 pounds since first starting my journey in 2007, and like you, I lost a bulk of that in the first year. But I decided about a year ago that that 275 pound person was LONG GONE, and I needed to focus on the here an now. And a pound loss per week just doesn’t compare to the large losses at the beginning of the journey – so when you really think about it, it’s more discouraging than helpful. So I started anew at the beginning of the year with tracking. I will never see 275 again, so why have it there to constantly remind me of the struggle?

    Thanks for your inspiration!
    Jen

  6. chauncyrenay says:

    Happy Birthday, David! Also, congrats on your 1lb. Yay!! As I was reading, I was thinking you should move to an excel spreadsheet, and I can see that others have already suggested it. The point of the chart is to motivate you, and if it’s not motivating you – you shouldn’t feel the need to do it! You are a-mazing! Keep it up!

  7. Jen says:

    I don’t have an opinion about your weight loss chart, but I wanted to say I like your workout shirt. ;-) I like to keep my old 5K shirts to work out in so I can remember the accomplishments of finishing those races!

  8. Lucie says:

    Hi, I use weightchart.com. It’s a free website I found on the internet when I was looking to track my weight loss. Take a look at it–I think you’ll like it.
    Lucie

  9. Lisa says:

    A bit late but Happy Birthday David – Love the little figures from Richard that is so nice of him!
    Good luckw ith your decisions on the weight loss chart – it is a hard one as you have been filling it in for so long but it doesn’t define you or your weight loss. You have done an amazing job with your weight loss journey and thanks for all the great posts!
    Lisa in NZ

  10. great job down to 238 and love the picture with Richard and all his balls lol

  11. sha says:

    maybe you could condense it into a big poster board or two or three with the major wt losses in 50 lb increments listed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

