Produce, Produce, Produce!

Yesterday, I had a fruits and veggies situation – I was running out of them. It wasn’t quite as dire for veggies, but I was precariously low on fruit. I was down to two oranges in my fruit bowl, and I picked one up yesterday and discovered this on the underside:

GROSS. I hate throwing away food, but I had no other option. That left me 1 other orange, which looks mold-free, but I will examine it thoroughly tomorrow morning before I make it part of my breakfast.

It was time to go to the store. In recent months, I’ve begun frequenting the Whole Foods in Beverly Hills. There are three or four other Whole Foods (at least) that are technically closer to my house, but this location is literally blocks from Slimmons, and I’ve gotten in the habit of stopping by after leaving Richard Simmons’ classes. And that’s what I did last night.

My produce procurement actually started at Slimmons. Before class started, my friend Joanne offered me a couple oranges from the tree in her backyard. I love backyard produce! She had brought in a big bag of oranges to share, and I got the last two (next time I’ll have to arrive earlier, I guess!):

Thanks, Joanne!

It was a fun class – my dear friend Vikki, whom I haven’t seen in forever, came for the first time and had a ball. Afterward, I threw a hoodie over my sweaty workout clothes and went to market. Curious what a Richard Simmons’ aerobics class is like? Read this recent post.

I kinda like the Beverly Hills Whole Foods. It’s not a huge store, but their produce section (my favorite section) is sizable. Plus, it’s never that crowded, and parking is a breeze (maybe because I’ve only gone on Tuesday or Thursday night around 8pm).

Sometimes I breeze through the produce section, filling my cart and moving on, and sometimes I linger and really examine the offerings. I’m not afraid to fondle the melons, stroke a banana, caress a peach, or tickle some plums. Sorry, couldn’t resist! (But please note I’m an equal opportunity molester.) Today I must have wandered around each display 2 or 3 times, because it seemed like I was in that produce section forever – and that’s a feeling that I don’t mind at all!

Here’s what I came home with:

  • Top Row: mushrooms, bananas, baby carrots, blackberries, green beans.
  • Middle Row: lettuce (more on this in tomorrow’s post), zucchini, a container of pre-cut celery, yellow cherry tomatoes, comice pears, black seedless grapes, kiwis, apples (a variety called Lady Alice, which I’ve heard of before).
  • Bottow Row: pineapple, baby bell peppers, broccoli florets.

This is where this post will sound like an informercial, because that’s not all! I also picked up a few other things, including…

Rainbow Carrots! I’ve bought them a few times before – here’s my favorite post about them – but I’ve never bought them with the greens attached. Pretty, aren’t they? They makes me want to eat them Bugs-Bunny-style, which I suppose would be pulling them out of my pocket, chewing with my mouth open, and asking “What’s up, Doc?”

I also bought…

Starfruit! It’s been nearly a year since I’ve had one of these suckers, and even though they weren’t my favorite fruit, I thought I’d give it another go.

Lastly, I stumbled upon a vegetable that is so stunning that it quite literally makes me weak in the knees. I’ve seen them before, at farmers markets, but I’m pretty sure I never bought one before. Ladies and gentlemen, take a look at this:

It’s called romanesco broccoli, and I could stare at it all day. It looks like it shouldn’t belong on this planet – like aliens left it behind when they left behind E.T., or built the pyramids, or covered the planet with all those thetans. I don’t know yet what I’m going to do with it, but in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy looking at it. Is it not the coolest produce item you’ve ever seen?

I seriously can’t stop looking at it. I’ve opened my fridge twice in the past half hour just to stare! Once I do eat it, I’ll be sure to share the pictures with you.

And, in my next post, I’m going to be quite literally putting a new spin on salad!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

8 Responses to Produce, Produce, Produce!

  1. Rachel says:

    I bought a romanesco broccoli this week, took a million pictures, and then turned it into a delicious pumpkin-chickpea-broccoli curry! So pretty and so delicious!

  2. Diandra says:

    In Germany it is “Romanesco cauliflower” – thought I’d share that. How long does that amount of vitamins last you?

  3. What. The. Hell. Kind. Of. Alien. Broccoli. Is. That?!

  4. Tavi says:

    It looks like Lisa Simpson 3D hair!!! Now about those carrots, will you eat the greens?

  5. ybenner says:

    That is some good looking produce. I like the Whole Foods in El Segundo. It’s closer to home for me. I’ve never purchased a romanesco broccoli. Will have to do that soon.

  6. I just got the Romanesco in my CSA box – but they called it cauliflower, and I have to say, it tastes a lot more like cauliflower than broccoli.

  7. Sandy Ackerman says:

    Here is a super easy delicious way to use broccoli romanesco. I made this for lunch today. Toss romanesco with garlic cloves, I used 8 and cut the large cloves in half. Drizzle and toss with 1-2 tablespoons olive oil and a little vege salt. Spread on baking sheet and roast in 400 degree oven until soft. It is great like this but I mixed it with quinoa and it was an awesome light lunch. Use more or less garlic depending on taste.

    • David says:

      Sounds delicious, Sandy – thank you! And FYI, whenever I see “Use more or less garlic depending on taste,” I’ll lean towards more garlic. Too much garlic is rarely an issue for me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

