My Incredible Shrinking Clothes – Sportcoat Edition

A trip to the dry cleaners isn’t usually anything to get excited about, but I was geeked to go to the dry cleaners yesterday. And the dry cleaners didn’t disappoint! I wasn’t there to pick up a piece of clothing that had been cleaned. Nope – I was there to pick up an article of clothing that had been altered for me. To learn the rest of the story, we have to jump in a DeLorean and time travel 14 months into the past. Buckle up!

December 2010. My friend Laura’s wedding is fast approaching, and I have nothing to wear. I’m losing weight at a steady clip, and my one suit no longer fits. Alterations to every seam to make it fit would be costlier than buying new clothes, so I opt for the latter and hit the discount stores. With your input (thanks to a poll on this very blog), I buy a sportcoat (and pants, but this blog is more about the sportcoat). I go to Laura and Chad’s wedding, and have a fabulous time. Here I am with the bride:

Beautiful, right? And Laura looks amazing as well! HEY-O!

(Fun fact about Laura: She was one of the people who, way back in the day, encouraged me to start a blog in the first place, and for that I’ll always be grateful. I can’t wait, when I’m super famous and super wealthy, to screen her calls and pretend I don’t know her. Just kidding! Or am I?)

(Fun fact #2 about Laura: I don’t think she’ll mind me saying, but her weight has been all over the place in the past year, and that’s because a couple months ago she and Chad had a baby! Now she’s reading Keep It Up, David as a tool to help her lose the baby weight, and I have no doubt she’s gonna do it. And their baby, by the way, is adorable.)

January 2011. The ensemble in the above photo gets worn a second time, when I deliver the eulogy at my grandmother’s funeral. I’m thankful that Laura’s wedding forced me to go shopping, because there was no time in my grandmother’s final days and during the prepping for the funeral for me to make it to the mall.

February 2011. The ensemble gets worn a third time, at a fundraising gala for the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra. I’m working the event as a volunteer, and my friend Nicolette walks up to me at the gala, looks me up and down, and says something to the effect of: “You look very nice, David, but I think your jacket may be a little big.” The jacket is two months old at this point, although I have lost weight during those two months. I take the entirety of Nicolette’s comment as a compliment, and smile. A big shit-eating grin. I love shrinking out my clothes!

We’re done time traveling. Back to present day. A full year has gone by, and I’ve had no occasion to wear formal clothes (which is not abnormal in casual Los Angeles). This year’s gala for the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra is approaching, and I’m volunteering again (I still have community service hours to work off for punching that cop). Last week, I take the sportcoat to my cleaners, which has a slew of tailors on-site. The tailor ends up removing a couple inches of fabric from the sides. Wanna see me in the jacket now?

This is what I’m wearing to the gala, from head to toe.

Let’s talk sizes! I’m not wearing the same pants to the gala this year that I wore last year. Last year’s pants were 40″ around the waist, but I got a great new pair as a Christmas present (thanks, Mom and Dad!), so I’ll be wearing those this year, and they’re 38″ (I fit into both 36″ and 38″ pants right now, depending on brand and cut).

Even more exciting: The jacket is a 48″ Long – although not after it was taken in! My previous suit jacket was a 54″ Long – check it out:

I hate this photo – I look like Kevin on The Office, but with more hair – but it’s the only one with that suit.

And the piece de resistance: The suit I wore at my heaviest, in July 2009, to the wedding of my friends Lisa and Matt in New Jersey. This suit is size 64″ Long, and it was ordered from a catalog – even big and tall stores don’t carry suits that big.

The number in suit sizing refers to the distance, in inches, around the widest part of your chest, doesn’t it? So, my advanced math skills tell me that a drop from 64″ to 48″ in suit size reflects a loss of 16 INCHES around my chest (and now a little bit more than that, thanks to my jacket getting taken in). WHOA!

Keep It Up, David!

Check out My Favorite Posts for all the Incredible Shrinking Clothes blogs – this is the ninth one!

13 Responses to My Incredible Shrinking Clothes – Sportcoat Edition

  1. TC says:

    Wow, great post, you look terrific.

  2. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Wow. These stats are more important, and frankly more impressive, than your scale. Keep it up, David!

  3. Kenlie says:

    Awesome. Awesome. Awesome…Awesome!!!!!!!

  4. Pat says:

    More pics of that Hottie Laura!!!

  5. chesla says:

    David…. you have no idea what an inspiration you are to us!

  6. auntiekim says:

    David, you look amazing. Isn’t it strange how we look like completely different people when we lose weight? You are one handsome man. I hope you keep all these pics handy and refer to them often when you’re feeling unmotivated. What an inspiration you are!!!

  7. Kelly B says:

    Looking GREAT, David!

  8. Laura B. says:

    The picture progression is incredible! I feel lucky to have known you through all of these stages. And more importantly, to know the brilliant & creative person inside of all of those sport coats. You were born to inspire and I’m following you every garment, every post, and every pound of the way!!!

  9. Mom says:

    That catalog suit is really ugly. And, although you are always handsome to me, I can’t get enough of seeing pictures of you in your new svelte self. It IS motivation to Keep it up David!!

  10. Sylvia says:

    You are looking great! It gives me hope. I just bought a swimsuit today and wanted it or me to be smaller. I’m working on it day by day.

  11. Chelsey says:

    Even though you may not have lost as many pounds as you would have liked over the past year, this sport coat definitely shows that your body was changing and a lot of progress was made! Congratulations! Your blog is always a highlight of my mornings :)

  12. Nurse Karen says:

    As always, proud of you! Thanks for persevering & sharing, as it truly helps the rest of us. You’re amazing! I know looks do not matter, as it is our character & comportment that makes a genuine impact, and yet I must say: you are lookly very studly! I think the dating scene says Keep It UP, David: you’re “Eye Candy”. ^_^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

