See You Tonight? AND Chart Update

First things first: Tonight’s the big night! I’m speaking at the Whole Foods in Pasadena at 6:30pm, and I hope to see some of you there! If you need the details, click here. I’m ready – I’ve been practicing my speech. It’s in good shape, and I’ll give it another run-through today. Hope to see you there!

Secondly, lots of you read my Disneyland post yesterday (thank you WordPress site stats!), and at the end of the day, I updated the post with two more pictures – the on-ride photos from Splash Mountain and Space Mountain, which came courtesy of Keith (thanks, Keith!). Head back to that post and scroll down to check them out!

Now it’s time to update the weight loss chart!

Today is Thursday, and on Tuesday (my normal weigh-in day), I weighed myself. The delay in sharing the results is because I was so excited to blog about Disneyland and share the fantastic ‘Before’ and ‘Current’ pictures from the Getty Center.

First, some good news: I decided during my last weigh-in that I was going to switch from having weekly weigh-ins to bi-weekly weigh-ins. The idea is that it would help prevent me from becoming overly infatuated with the numbers on the scale – I’ve had periods where I’ve weighed myself multiple times a day, and I don’t like it. And, for the past two weeks, it’s been working. I stepped on the scale a couple times during the two weeks just to see how I was progressing, but not an alarming or unhealthy amount of times.

Usually, the flip-side to good news is bad news, but I’m choosing not to interpret the results of my weigh-in as “bad.” Here’s how I updated the chart:

Up a pound. I’m up two pounds in the month of January, and up a total of five pounds from my all-time low. But I’m still down 165 pounds and, as I’ve said before, that’s nothing to sneeze at.

Why I gained another pound is not a mystery to me – it was due to a lack in focus with my eating. I blogged about this at the end of last week, and since that post I’ve been true to my word and buckled down on bad food choices, but it wasn’t soon enough to make a difference in this weigh-in. Hopefully it will be next time.

I’m refusing to interpret this pound as bad news, because I need to stop associating weight gain with failure and weight loss with success. It is not that simple, and telling myself that I somehow failed over the past two weeks negates all the hard word that was successful: all the smart choices, all the exercise (and there was a lot of exercise), all the positive reminders to myself. I don’t foresee a time in the near future where I won’t use my scale, but I hope to continue moving towards a life where the scale is just one of many indicators that I’m healthy and making positive changes.

This is easier said than done, and I was reminded by this minutes after getting off the scale the other day. My usual pattern on weigh-in Tuesdays is to weigh myself and then go update the chart, and after updating the chart, I looked back and realized that one year ago, I weighed five more pounds than I do today, and that depressed me.

It depressed me because I worked hard over the past year – completing, quite literally, hundreds and hundreds of workouts – and all I have to show for it is five measly pounds? I immediately reminded myself that the more positive spin on the same data is: Holy shit, I kept off 160 pounds for an entire year! And yet, my mind goes to the negative place first, and I stayed in that funk for a while.

Look, I know I’m hard on myself, probably much harder on myself than I should be – and that’s something that you guys remind me of on a regular basis in your comments and messages (which I greatly appreciate). One pound is just one pound, and it’s NOT THE END OF THE WORLD. I know that. I suppose I need to work on figuring out ways to maintain my accountability and stay on track while giving myself a break from my tendency to be overly critical, harsh, and tough on myself.

As I type this, I realize that’s gonna be a tall order. How do I let things like a one-pound gain roll off my back while I still have weight that I want to lose? My work is cut out for me. But you know what? I’ve lost 165 motherfucking pounds. I can do any goddamn thing I put my mind to. And I won’t forget that.

Keep it up, David!

14 Responses to See You Tonight? AND Chart Update

  1. Guess what, David? You’ve lost 165 pounds and you’ve kept it off for a year! Congratulations!! Not only the loss is a win, but the maintenance makes it a WIN-WIN. You. Are. AWESOME.

    • David says:

      Thanks, Jennifer! I’ve been meaning to send you a message thanking you for your comments – especially the one you left on my anniversary post, which really made my day. I’m honored to have such thoughtful, wonderful readers like you. Thank you. And congrats on your own very successful year and KEEP IT UP!

  2. Kari says:

    David,
    I never planned on entering maintenance a year ago, but my body decided that it was time. I am still 15 pounds away from my goal of no longer being “overweight” on the BMI chart. Stupid BMI chart! I am however, 10 pounds lighter than I was last January. Even if it takes me another year and a half to drop the last 15, I know that I will get there. I’ve found that maintenance is WAY harder than losing. Congrats to you on being able to stick to your goals and push through them- even when the scale doesn’t reward you with low numbers. Keep up the great work! :)

  3. chauncyrenay says:

    Daviiiiid! You are awesome. You may have lost 5lbs in a year, but the amount of weight loss you have inspired others to lose is incalculable. I look forward to hearing you speak tonight and am bringing friends. :) I better win that raffle! I’m going to tell them all to write my name down. lol

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Damn scale!! Perhaps that extra pound is muscle!!! So proud of you, keep it up, David!

  5. Toni Auletti says:

    let me know if you want a copy of my food combining diet, I’ll send it snail mail, lots of success here xxooxxo

  6. claudia says:

    you know what else? you’ve probably gained some muscle and lost some fat in all of that. I decided to add jogging to my activity list- and i really didn’t eat more, so i figured the pounds would jsut drop away. well, they haven’t, but some clothes that i couldn’t fit into before , i now can. so that’s what i figured happened to me, so it has happened to you as well. You look great and are def an inspiration to so many of us! WTG!

  7. Kenlie says:

    I am inspired by you on a regular basis, but today it’s in full effect. I needed to hear exactly what you said exactly when you said it because I’m moments away from weighing in, and I’m going to be up while I should absolutely be down this week. Thanks for reminding me that I can’t obsess over the numbers either.

    You freaking rock man. That is all…

  8. Frances Lawton says:

    You’re an inspiration and don’t ever forget that!! Those 5 pounds mean nothing – you have gained muscle mass (and muscle weighs more than fat), you have improved your cardiovascular system and your heart and lungs love you for doing so!! Keep up the great work and never second guess your efforts!!!

  9. Joanne Greene says:

    >> I’ve lost 165 motherfucking pounds. I can do any goddamn thing I put my mind to. And I won’t forget that.<<<
    LOVE that!!! You are a super success in my book! Keep it up!

  10. Alyssa says:

    fuck yeah you did! Pardon my use of the F word but it felt appropriate here! You’re an inspiration!

  11. Stacee says:

    I wonder if you’ve been measuring yourself? I know that with all of your exercising, it could just be that you’re replacing fat with muscle. You could be losing inches even if you’re not losing pounds.

  12. Matt says:

    David, let me add my voice to all the rest who say you’ve probably gained tons of muscle while continuing to shed fat. Have you taken any body fat measurements? I think it’s time to focus on that. Schedule a Bod Pod measurement, and then do it again in six months or a year. I think you’ll find you’ve done even better than “kept 160 pounds off” :)

  13. Jeannie Klisiewicz says:

    Hey you handsome man! Just wanted to tell you that you know I love fitness and I TOO have been having a rough, rough time. I think it’s in the air. Reading your blog though is inspiring me that it really is just one day at a time and 5 pounds shouldn’t weigh down the amazing things you have and are achieving!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

