Gym Update and Poster

Something’s up with WordPress and the formatting of my paragraphs is all kinds of wonky, but I’m tired of messing with it. Please forgive the spacing problems and enjoy my post!
Let’s start with some gratitude. A big thanks to everyone that has reached out in the past couple days. The comments and messages I’ve gotten because of yesterday’s anniversary post put an enormous spring in my step, so thank you. Tons of you shared it, via Twitter and Facebook, with your friends, and I appreciate that, too – my blog hits yesterday were through the roof, making that spring in my step even more enormouser.
Then, there were all the people that weighed in on my gym dilemma – what a thoughtful and insightful bunch of comments those were! You all gave me a lot to consider and think about, and I’m still not 100% sure what I’m gonna do, but I do have more information to share. Here’s a speedy recap if you need one:
Spike has been forcing his wife Jessica to prostitute herself, and he’s been drugging her and convincing her that she’s the one that’s killed all those dead johns that she keeps waking up next to. Jessica finally gathers the strength to leave Spike and move back into her dad’s house, but soon thereafter, she realizes she’s pregnant with his child. A bitter Spike retaliates by kidnapping Jessica and burying her and their unborn child in the woods, where they both die from a lack of oxygen. Jessica’s sister, Kay, finds them a little too late, but thanks to a magical group prayer, their spirits return to their bodies and they come back to life.
Sorry – that was a recap of a Passions storyline from 2006-2007. Here’s what you really need to know:
A big, fancy new gym is opening nearby in a couple months, and they have a great deal if you sign up early. My membership at my current, no-frills gym is almost up, and there are pros and cons to both staying where I am and switching to the new gym.
You can read about all those pros and cons (and see my readers’ reactions) by reading my original post.
So here’s some new information: Yesterday I talked with the manager at my current gym. He confirmed that my membership expires on February 19th, and that I could renew for another year at my current rate ($199 for 12 months, paid upfront, which works out to $16.58 a month). I also inquired about a monthly rate, because I may want to extend my membership by a month or two until I see how things pan out at the new gym. Buying a month at my current gym would cost $35 (it’s more expensive, as gyms reward longer contracts with cheaper prices) but that’s actually a discounted price – I guess the manager likes me (which is fantastic, because I like him).
Later today, I’m going back to the new gym’s membership center and confirming a few things with them, and I’m taking my sister’s advice and reading the fine print about cancelling a membership.
At this point, I’m leaning towards trying out the new gym. Change is good. As far as money is concerned, the eventual increase in my monthly gym expenditures won’t be the end of the world, and any investment in my health is a good investment. Like many of you pointed out, I can always go back to my old gym, and I don’t see leaving my gym as a sign that I’m somehow a back-stabber or a traitor. More news to come.
Before I wrap this up, I wanted to share a fun graphic – it’s the poster that Whole Foods Pasadena created to promote my upcoming speaking engagement! Check this out:
Cool, huh? I love it. Am I gonna see you there? Are you going to bring all your friends? Gee, I hope so!
Keep it up, David!
4 Responses to Gym Update and Poster

  1. Jenn says:

    I would sure go if I was closer!! :)

  2. Nurse Karen says:

    If I am still in Cali, YES!!! xoxo

  3. Janet says:

    I sure would like to be there. Congrats on getting so far on your journey. Keep it up David!! ;)

  4. TC says:

    Hi there, sorry can’t make it to Whole Foods since I’m in NJ, but are you going to video tape it at all? It would be a great post :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

