Chart Update 1/17

I’ve decided on a weigh-in rhythm that I’d like to try for the next couple of months. I’ve found, in the past, that I can get obsessed over the numbers on the scale, which leads me to do things like keep my scale in the trunk of my car. But if I go too long without weighing myself, I start getting really antsy, and begin fixating on when I’ll weigh myself next.

So, I’m gonna start weighing myself once every two weeks, and see how that goes. Starting… NOW.

Tuesday is my regular weigh-in day, and it’s gonna stay that way. Yesterday, I weighed myself, for the first time since I weighed myself on January 3rd. The results:

I gained a pound.

I’m happy with the two weeks that I had – I ate well and had great workouts – but sometimes, these things happen. And I’m not going to freak out. Those two weeks are over, and all I need to do now is keep moving forward. Keep eating well, and keep exercising.

In fact, I’m off to the gym as soon as I get this post published. I haven’t worked out for the past 2 days: Monday was a planned rest day (after 6 great workouts in a row), and Tuesday was an unplanned rest day. For the past few days I’ve been fighting the beginnings of a cold, and yesterday, I ended up sleeping most of the afternoon and now I feel a whole lot better. Hopefully the cold has run its course. I’ve already had two bad flus/colds this winter, and I don’t want a third.

My current weight is 236 pounds, which is a weight loss of 166 pounds!

With this one-pound gain, I’m back to what I weighed at the beginning of December:

Even though I’d still like to be losing weight, I’m pretty impressed with my consistency!

Keep it up, David!

13 Responses to Chart Update 1/17

  1. Savannah Smith says:

    Glad to know I am not the only one that stores the scale in the trunk of the car! You totally got this!

  2. shannon kamstra says:

    I know how easy it is to get obsessed with weighing yourself! I weigh myself every morning after i goto the bathroom and remove all my clothing. Ive lost 85 lbs so far and im struggling taking off the last 10 lbs i want to lose. Keep up the good work!!

  3. I have followed your blog for a while now, since the summertime anyways, but i’ve always kept quiet. You are an inspiration to me, and you seem like a genuinely kind person! Dont worry about the pound, i have lost 70 so far and what has really helped me to keep on pluggin along is not to get so discouraged by little things like this. I see the number, acknowledge it, let it go. Start fresh. You got this!

  4. Congrats on the 166lbs! That’s outstanding!

    I’ve written about the scale MANY times. I personally hate the scale and don’t trust the damned thing, but like you, become obsessed with it. I go through spurts where I weigh in every day.

    I’ve actually written a post with the exact same tone as yours, but then I also give some advice.

    http://www.yourinnerskinny.ca/dont-trust-a-machine-scales-lie/

    Keep it up, David!

    • David says:

      Thanks, Scott. Your post is a great one, and, like you, I pay attention to the other ways my body changes. Clothes are a big one for me, and I’m also enjoying seeing growth in my shoulders, chest, and arms. Woo-hoo muscles!

  5. chauncyrenay says:

    Keep up the great work, David! You are such an inspiration!
    I signed up to meet you at the Pasadena Whole Foods. Woop!

  6. Wow! You are truly an inspiration! I’m just starting (yet another!?) venture into lifestyle change and improved health: 24 pounds down and well over a hundred to go…:-) One step at a time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

