10K Pictures… Finally!

On November 13th, I ran my first race – the weSPARK 3rd Annual 10K Run. The course was through movie sets at Universal Studios, and I had a ball. You can read all about here, and see a bunch of photos, too!

In my follow-up post, where I shared my official time (59:06!), I mentioned how I was hoping to post a couple more pictures – the organizers had photographers scattered throughout the course like paparazzi, and I just had to wait until the photos were uploaded online.

Shortly after that, after a heads-up from my friend Jen, I headed to the Super Sports Photo website and looked around. In total, they had snapped 14 pictures of me, and a couple of them I liked! Because it was my first race, I decided to splurge and purchase a couple. The cheapest option, a low-resolution digital photo, cost $12.75. I decided to buy two. After paying $25.50, I got a receipt and an email saying that a second email, with instructions on how to download my purchase, would be coming within an hour. I checked my email all day long – I was excited, because I was still on a high from the race itself, and I was geeked to share the pictures on the blog. That was on November 16th.

Guess when that second email arrived? December 1st! During those two weeks, I called twice to check on the status of my order. The first time, I left a message that was never returned. The second time, I was told that I could expect my photos that morning, but it took another week for them to come. Super Sports Photo gets no bonus points for customer service.

But the photos are now in my hot little hands, which means you all can see them too! They aren’t low-resolution, either – the files I got were high-resolution, so maybe that’s their way of making up for the delay.

Here’s the first photo – taken on Mexican Street at Universal Studios:

I think I’m trying to smile and breathe at the same time! And look, my pants are a little short!

Here’s the second photo – taken at the War of the Worlds set, which basically replicates what it would look like if a jumbo jet crash-landed on a suburban street (so, lots and lots of rubble and debris):

Again, trying to smile while focusing on the run – when this photo was taken, I had about 1 kilometer left, and I was really starting to ache.

So there you have it! I wish I could’ve posted these sooner, but it was out of my control. I think they nicely round out my photo collection from that day, which was pretty comprehensive but lacked action shots of me actually running. Now that I have these, I’m feeling a desire to quote from The Little Mermaid:

“Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat?
Wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?
Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl, the girl who has everything?”

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to 10K Pictures… Finally!

  1. Maren says:

    Great pictures! You are doing wonderfully!

  2. auntiekim says:

    Great pics! I know exactly where those were taken.

  3. tim says:

    You did it, and for a good cause too. congrats David!

  4. Nurse Karen says:

    love, Love, LOVE it!! Love you!!!!

  5. Señor Rojo says:

    These are great!!!! Good job. :-) now sign up for the ten mile cherry blossom run with me in april! http://Www.cherryblossom.org

  6. Jen says:

    I’m glad you finally got your pictures! I wish there was a cute picture of me from the event, but I was wearing my sunglasses the whole time so the pictures aren’t too flattering.

  7. Awesome action shots!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

