This Place is a Zoo

Yesterday was my last full day in Colorado. It was also a rest day – I had completed five great workouts in a row (including a 2700-yard swim and a 5K race), so I was due for one. Despite the absence of a dedicated workout, I wasn’t inactive. That’s because I went with my sister Sarah, her husband Justin, and their two kids, Sam (almost 6) and Allison (3), to…

…The Denver Zoo! It was probably the best day I’ve ever had at a zoo. The Denver Zoo is spacious and open but not overwhelmingly enormous, and there was great weather (sunny but not hot), small crowds, and most of the animals were out and about, as opposed to napping or hiding in the corners of their habitats. We accidentally stumbled upon 4 different animal feedings or demonstrations (without ever looking at a schedule), so we got to see zookeepers feed the tiger, the sea lions, the seals, and the African wild dogs. Very cool.

We saw a polar bear (one of my favorite animals)…

…and two snakes cuddling together on a tree branch…

…and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a hippo before that wasn’t submerged in water:

We rode the carousel – I was on an ostrich, and Sam was on a cheetah (his favorite animal):

My niece Allison got face-to-face with a huge komodo dragon (don’t worry, there’s a piece of glass between them):

Here’s Sam, Allison and I with two big horn sheep way in the background:

In total, we were there almost 4 hours, so I’m sure we walked around 3 or 4 miles. I was certainly tired at the end of the day! But the fun didn’t stop there – we headed over to a nearby Bass Pro Shop, which had a whole Santa’s Workshop set up. Allison got a picture with Santa, and we rode another carousel – this one with reindeer. Two carousels in one day? I can cross that off the bucket list!

This is the second zoo I’ve been to since September (when I went to the L.A. Zoo with my friend Katherine and her two boys), and sorry L.A., but I like the Denver Zoo more. But I don’t need to go to another zoo any time soon – I’m all zoo’ed out!

I’ll wrap up this post with a video. I’ve posted a link to this video before, but I love it so much I’m gonna feature it again. It’s a commercial from the ’80s for the Detroit Zoo, and it’s one of my favorite commercials of all time. I used to have this commercial memorized when I was a kid. I hope you enjoy!

By the time you read this, I’ll be on a plane back to California. It’s Monday, so I have another week ahead of me of eating well and exercising, so…

…Keep it up, David!

One Response to This Place is a Zoo

  1. Sarah Van Houten says:

    love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

