Thanksgiving 2011

In my last post, I wrote about my Thanksgiving Day exercise – the Louisville Turkey Trot 5K. In this post, I’m going to catch you all up on my Thanksgiving eating.

I established two rules to help guide me through the big Thanksgiving meal, because I was determined to not let the holiday be an excuse for reckless, uncontrolled eating. Like I mentioned in my Thanksgiving Day post, those two rules were:

  1. NO SECONDS. I will indulge in a reasonable portion of whatever food I want, but I will not go back for more.
  2. I WILL PHOTOGRAPH EVERYTHING I EAT DURING THANKSGIVING DINNER. Those pictures will end up on this blog. This means that you all are going to help me maintain accountability.

How did I do? Well, I technically broke both rules in minor ways, but I’m very proud of my eating. Here are the pictures that I took, in accordance with Rule #2.

First Course – Oyster Soup:

My brother-in-law Justin did the lion’s share of the Thanksgiving cooking, as Thanksgiving is his favorite holiday. It’s a tradition in his family to start Thanksgiving with oyster soup, and now it’s my tradition, too, since I’ve been eating Justin’s Thanksgiving meals for 7 or 8 years now. The soup is not healthy, in any way, shape, or form – it’s basically butter, cream, oysters, and seasoning. It’s really good (with those ingredients, how could it not be?), and I asked for a mini-portion, and only ate about two-thirds of it. Bread was passed around for dunking purposes, but I didn’t take any. Oh, and the nametag leaf was a joint project between me, my sister Laura, and our 3-year-old niece (and goddaughter) Allison. Cute, right?

Main Course:

Most of your Thanksgiving standards: turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing (Justin added pork sausage and dried cranberries to it, and it was amazing), green bean casserole, and sweet potatoes (my sisters made it, and they cut about half the sugar from the recipe). My contribution to the meal was the asparagus, which I sauteed in a little salt, pepper, lemon, and PAM. I limited portions of everything to between around 1/2 – 3/4 cup, ate slowly, and enjoyed everything.

Then I broke Rule #1, and went back for more asparagus, but I’m okay with that, because it was the healthiest option on the table. Round #2 of asparagus:

Third Course – Dessert:

My mom, my sisters and I teamed up and made three pies: 1 apple, and 2 pumpkin. My contribution to the apple pie was carving a little turkey into the upper crust as a steam escape route, and I made the filling for the pumpkin pies. Despite the sweat equity, when we had dessert a few hours later, I decided to skip the pie and eat fruit instead: a banana and an apple. I did have one bite of my sister’s piece of pumpkin pie (and it was delicious), but I didn’t photograph it.

It was a guilt-free day, and thanks to my rules, it wasn’t a stressful one, either! And there was no food coma afterward, no loosening of the belt or struggling to get off the couch because of overwhelming fullness. A successful day!

How was your Thanksgiving? Did you keep your eating under control? Did you exercise?

I woke up on Friday jonesin’ for a workout, so I went for a run. I normally don’t like doing the same workout two days in a row (I had run the day prior in the Turkey Trot 5K), but since I was away from home and without my usual resources, running fit the bill. I ended up doing a big loop around my sister’s neighborhood. My route:

That’s 3.8 miles that I ran in 37.5 minutes, which works out to just a hair over 6 MPH. My quads were really sore towards the end, and it was chilly outside, but it was a good run, and I enjoyed the new scenery. Time to update my Running Chart!

Lastly, after over a week, I’ve think I’m finally at the tail end of whatever it was that caused my sore throat. It’s still itchy and a little painful when I swallow, but I feel 80-90% better and am looking forward to it not being an issue any more. There were a few days, early on, where I was too sick to work out, but my workouts over the past few days have been a huge help, because for those hours, I didn’t think about my throat at all. I only thought about pushing myself in other ways, and that shift in focus proved to be beneficial and a relief.

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Well done. Keep it up, David!!

  2. Debbie says:

    Hey! I wonder if your brother-in-law got the same recipe for stuffing? I make one with pork sausage and dried cranberries too. We ended up putting the turkey in the oven and walking to K-Mart (since it was the only place open on Thanksgiving) while it was cooking. That way, we weren’t thinking about the food the whole time. It worked out well too…except the whole time we were worried about coming home to a house on fire. Happy Thanksgiving David!

    • David says:

      I don’t know where Justin got the recipe – where did you get yours? I’m sure you would have mentioned if your house actually burned down, so I’m glad you still have a roof over your head and turkey on your turkey day! Whadja pick up at K-Mart? Any great Blue Light Specials?

      • Debbie says:

        We got it from Real Simple Magazine. I think we just cut most of the butter. We took all the sugar out the sweet potatoes. We squeezed an orange into it for a little sweetness and citrus flavor (also to thin it out). We also did a dry herb brine this year which made it super juicy so we didn’t even need the gravy for the turkey. Did you see the picture of the baby with every Thanksgiving entree? I don’t think he knew what to do when we scooped everything in front of him.

        We ended up not getting anything at K-Mart. I was looking for a sewing machine that was supposedly 60 bucks but I didn’t see it there. They were selling some diamond earrings that were originally $99.99 for only $19.99. Can you imagine? Women were getting all pushy at the jewelry counter which made it a nice excuse to leave. We more went just to get a good walk in while it was still nice out.

      • David says:

        I just now saw the baby/Thanksgiving pic – ADORABLE. Also saw the photo shoot pics – EVEN MORE ADORABLE. You have one cute baby, Debbie! Your meal sounds delicious, by the way. And if you EVER see me getting pushy at a K-Mart jewelry counter, would you please run me over with a cart and put me out of my misery?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

