Galette (Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving!)

GOBBLE GOBBLE, Keep It Up, David readers! It’s Thanksgiving and I’m again writing from my sister’s house in Colorado, which is where I’ve been coming to celebrate turkey day for the past, oh I don’t know, 7 or 8 years.

I wanted to put up a little post before I went to bed on Thanksgiving Eve, mainly to share my Thanksgiving Day game plan. There will be a lot of food, and a lot of temptation, but I will not overeat. It won’t happen. My strategy is two-fold:

  1. NO SECONDS. I will indulge in a reasonable portion of whatever food I want, but I will not go back for more.
  2. I WILL PHOTOGRAPH EVERYTHING I EAT DURING THANKSGIVING DINNER. Those pictures will end up on this blog. This means that you all are going to help me maintain accountability.

If you have any other tips or ideas to get yourself through a food-based holiday like Thanksgiving without ending up in a food coma, share them in the comments section!

Now it’s time for a couple pictures and a recap of my Wednesday!

My sister Sarah and I had a great workout in the morning, at the amazing pool at her local rec center. Check this place out:

That’s a six-lane lap pool in the foreground, a water slide in the back (surrounded by a lazy river), and not pictured is the kiddie pool with slide and water features, the hot tub, and the sauna. Sarah and I did a sprint-based workout, and swam 2700 yards total (my first swimming workout since my last trip to Colorado, at a pool that had a high-dive). It totally kicked my ass, but I told myself that if I pushed myself, I could take a trip down the water slide. I ended up going down the water slide once twice thrice. And it was fantastic.

Later that day, I made dinner for everyone, including my folks, who arrived in the late afternoon. Sarah was dying to try a recipe that was recommended to her, so I made it, and it was a pain in the ass. It’s the Butternut Squash and Caramelized Onion Galette from Smitten Kitchen, and it only took me 5 hours to make (although there some breaks in there while components chilled in the fridge and freezer). I’ve never made pastry dough before from scratch, so there was that, plus roasting butternut squash and caramelizing onions, and then you gotta put it all together and bake it as a galette (which is a free-form French tart).

I will say this, though: it was totally worth it! Absolutely delicious. Here’s the galette before it went in the oven:

And the finished product:


I already provided the link above to get the recipe. I won’t endorse it as a recipe to help you eat healthier – the crust uses an entire stick of butter – but if you’re looking for something for a special occasion, then check it out.

Because of the butter, I kept the rest of the meal really clean and healthy: a big green salad, loaded with tons of veggies, and a little lite dressing; and some baked salmon and steelhead trout, seasoned with only salt, pepper, lemon, and dill.

Have a happy, healthy Thanksgiving everyone! My next post (going up maybe on Friday?) will be a recap of my second-ever race – the Louisville, Colorado Turkey Trot 5K!

Keep It Up, David!

5 Responses to Galette (Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving!)

  1. Being the cook and trying to keep from blowing the calorie bank today is going to be a challenge! This is the first major holiday I’ve tackled since turning my life around last January. I’m 80 pounds down now and I’m not going to ruin it… but I’m the world’s worst when it comes to resisting a taste of this and a bite of that when I’m cooking! So… what to do? My plan is to graze my way through the cooking by thoughtfully munching on fresh veggies and fat-free dip. Mindlessly moving bites of food from platter, plate, and bowl to my mouth while cooking is verboten. I am also cooking with an eye toward making the dishes lower fat and lower carb this year. Then, when the appointed hour arrives, I will sit down and eat – not denying myself the foods I’ve prepared, but eating with control: slowing down so I can enjoy it while visiting with friends and family… and watching some of them pack it in! :) Then, when this noon meal is done and cleaned up, we head over to my niece’s house for round two!

    Pray for me.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Everyone… and keep it up, David. Every time I’m down and feeling like this is impossible, I come here and revisit your struggle, and I leave with hope.

    • David says:

      EIGHTY POUNDS!?! You’re doing great! It sounds like nothing will derail you. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving (and hope you stuck to your awesome plan) and KEEP IT UP!

  2. impetua says:

    I just started a couple of weeks ago with eliminating most extra sugar and empty carbs from my diet and hitting the gym with a trainer. My rule about holidays is, have some goodies but don’t go nuts, and send the leftovers away! I’m giving myself one day to enjoy traditional foods, in moderation. Reading your blog helps keep me inspired. :)

  3. Kristy says:

    I’ve made that exact galette a bunch of times! The first time, I was eating vegan, so I used Earth Balance margarine and faux-sour cream. And it was actually really really good…and if you cook everything else in non-saturated oils (like olive) you could up the health content a bit. BUT hey, it IS the holidays, and every now and again it’s worth it to just use the butter and make up for it with virtuous eating later! And you’d be proud – Mike and I got up at 7 am and went to the gym yesterday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

