Burpee Update, Chart Update

Two different updates today.

1) Burpees Update. Remember when I committed to the No Excuses 30-Day Burpees Challenge? It’s a workout challenge hatched by Scott over at Your Inner Skinny where you do burpees every single day for a month, adding one burpee each day. I was feeling a bit in a rut when the challenge began, and even though I hate burpees, I made the commitment as a way to push myself into doing something new.

Tomorrow would have been my 30th day, but I’ll cut to the chase: I abandoned the challenge a long time ago. I dropped it like a prom dress. In the end, my dislike of burpees won out, and after missing a couple days of burpees, I couldn’t rally to get back on the burpee train. The 10K didn’t help, either, as it was a workout goal that really excited me, so I had no problem focusing on that and letting the burpees slide.

I did complete 14 days of burpees before pulling the plug, and I had worked my way up to 28 burpees on that 14th day. Add in the 4 days of practice burpees before the challenge actually began, and I completed 361 burpees. I can be proud of that, and proud that I’m man enough to share my shortcomings, even if I’m not proud of my quitting.

I’m also a little worried that Scott, once he reads this, is gonna emerge from his northern Canadian igloo, strap on his snowshoes, and find his way down to Los Angeles to kick my ass. And he totally could – that guy is jacked. Better sleep with one eye open.

2) Chart Update. Stepped on the scale yesterday, and I liked what I saw. Here’s the update on my weight loss chart:

Down 1 pound! Not to sound like a snot, but I should hope so. I worked my ass off last week, pushing myself while training for my 10K, and then actually running that 10K. What I’m most happy about is that I’ve turned around my recent slow gain:

I’ve lost 1 of the 5 pounds I gained over the 6 weeks. Four more to go! A weight of 236 puts my total weight loss at 166 pounds. A couple more weight loss chart shots, because I know you love ‘em (and so do I):

Keep it up, David!

TOMORROW: My recipe for a healthy, delicious fall salad!

5 Responses to Burpee Update, Chart Update

  1. Jeannie says:

    SOOOO AWESOME! Your body is paying you back for that hard work you did. Congrats again on the amazing 10k :)

  2. I’m more likely to come down there and whoop your ass for mocking Canada as apposed to giving up on the Burpees. But I’ll buy you a beer afterward… A Canadian beer!

    Congrats on the 10k! That’s awesome. I’m still upset I injured myself last year the week before my 10k run. I still haven’t taken it off of my bucket list… yet…

    Can you do me a favour? Read this post about scales and how I don’t trust them. http://www.yourinnerskinny.ca/dont-trust-a-machine-scales-lie/

    • David says:

      Ha! I only mock because I love. Canada has given so much to the world, from The Kids in the Hall to Alanis Morissette to Alex Trebek to insulin. One of Superman’s creators was Canadian. It just boggles me how we’re both on the same continent, and yet your town and mine couldn’t be more different!

      Am gonna read that post right now.

  3. Ryan says:

    This is my first time coming across Scott, but he’s Canadian, so I must agree. Sorry, David, but here comes trouble! ;)
    Ryan

    • Ryan says:

      One other thing I forgot and wanted to add…

      The effort and nutrition you maximize in those days tells the whole story, not just a number on a scale! :)

      My weight loss has slowed considerably, it’s almost 25% of what my initial weeks were.

      However, I feel my increased strength is making up for my slowed weight loss.

      I just did my first chin up in 10 years yesterday… Hell’s yeah!
      RY

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

