Prepping for the 10K

My first 10k race is only 6 days away! I’m feeling good about everything. I’m at 65% of my fundraising goal (can you me get a little closer? Every dollar helps – you can donate here). I know I’ll have a good time during the race – I’m running in a group with four of my friends, so that will be a blast. I’m confident that I’ll be able to complete it, too. The one question mark I have involves my ability to run up hills, because it’s likely the course will have some hills (I’m going to see the course on Wednesday, which will be helpful). I’ve wanted to go running on hills to prepare, and today I finally did. Sort of.

I wanted to go running this past weekend, and the plan was to head about fifteen minutes away, to a hillside neighborhood where I used to live, and go running there. Mother Nature had other plans, though, and it rained all weekend. It was cold, too! I’m not complaining – I love rain, and I love when Los Angeles has actual weather, and let’s face it: cold and rainy in Los Angeles is no big deal compared to what cold and rainy means in other parts of the country. In Los Angeles, it means temperatures in the ’50s and intermittent sprinkles. But I’ve been spoiled by nine years of beautiful southern California weather, so I skipped the running (on Saturday, I lifted weights at the gym, and Sunday was a rest day).

Today, I headed back to the gym, where I started off with 5 minutes on the treadmill, to warm up and loosen up. Then, I hit the weights for 30 minutes, working muscles all over my body. After that, I returned to the treadmill and started running. After a few minutes of settling into my pace (5.5 mph), I started upping the incline. I did two minutes each at 5 degrees and 6 degrees, and then three minutes each at 7, 8, 9, and 10 degrees. Holy crap, I felt ready to collapse! It started getting really tough at 8 degrees, and after a minute of it, I seriously contemplated ending early. But I kept pushing myself… for one more minute… until this song ends on my iPod… only a little while longer… and after three minutes at 10 degrees, I was done. Whew! I adjusted the incline so the treadmill was flat, and slowed down for a good cool-down. In total, I spent 23 minutes on the treadmill, and 16 of those minutes were running uphill. And I survived. I feel much better about my hill-running abilities!

Later in the day, I bought a new pair of shoes for the race. Check ‘em out!

The model is Nike LunarGlide 3, in Grey Wolf and Max Orange, and I love ‘em. I bought them at my local Foot Locker, where the sales associate, Stephanie, was super helpful and knowledgeable. (I gave Stephanie a business card when I left, so if you’re reading this, Stephanie, hello!)  I have six days to break them in, and I’m not worried. I’m going to take Richard Simmons’ class in Beverly Hills tomorrow, and that will be a great start. I’ve broken in shoes during that class before!

Oh, and these shoes I purchased are a Size 13 – click here to read about my incredible shrinking feet!

Speaking of purchases, I mentioned the other day that I bought a new faucet at Home Depot, because my faucet was leaking. My new faucet will make filling my big water bottles easy, and it was installed this morning.  Goodbye, old leaky plastic faucet:

And hello, new water-tight stainless steel faucet!

It was when I bought this faucet that I also purchased a bag of oranges, which I’ve been using as practice to improve my orange peeling technique. Today, after my workout, I peeled another orange. I did really well at removing all the pith, and I was able to keep the peel as one long continuous piece up until the very end, when it broke as I was finishing up. Pretty good, but not good enough!

I’m gonna keep trying.

Keep it up, David!

14 Responses to Prepping for the 10K

  1. Maren says:

    Good luck on your race!!

  2. Elizabeth Tudhope says:

    I have Nike Lunar Glide shows (the neon royal blue) and LOVE them. I use the Nike sensor in them to track my runs/walks using Nike+. I love the challenge feature of the Nike+ site. I have an ongoing challenge with a friend of mine in Spain.

    Good luck on your first 10K

  3. Mom says:

    I love your new stylish shoes and your stylish photo pose to show them off!

    I think the orange peeling challenge has to do with the proper amount of pith remaining on the peel for good continuous circular peel retention. I always thought there was too much pith remaining on the orange when Dad peeled them but maybe there was a reason for that.

    • David says:

      It seems like each orange I’ve peeled so far has had wildly different amounts of pith. I also think I should sharpen my knife, which will make for smoother cutting.

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Nice kicks and nice faucet. Good luck with the race. Keep it up David!

  5. Tavi says:

    I love the shoes! & I used to always peel my oranges like that… Of course I was eleven!

  6. Kenlie says:

    Love the new shoes, and I’m wishing you all kinds of luck in the race! Can’t wait for the recap….

    And your new faucet is so pretty! Sigh……….:)

  7. tim says:

    David, good luck with your fundraising goal. think of me when you run down Wysteria lane please

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers

