My Halloween Costume

As promised at the end of yesterday’s post, here’s my Halloween costume:

I’m Jared, the Subway guy!

I’m wearing jeans under those big pants, and my shirt pocket is filled with pens that have the Subway logo on the. That’s a real Subway sandwich in the bag that I’m carrying as a prop. Well, almost a sandwich. I wanted to carry what looked like a sandwich, but didn’t want to make a mess or have anything ooze out over the course of the evening, so I went into a Subway with the idea that I would have them wrap up a loaf of bread as if it was a sandwich.

When I went into the Subway earlier that day, before I was in costume, and asked about buying a loaf of bread, the guy behind the counter looked at me quizzically. Then he yelled into the back room to his manager, who yelled back that they didn’t sell the bread on its own. Something about violating store policy. I quickly came up with a Plan B, which was to buy a Veggie Delight sub with just tomatoes and cucumbers, and eat them in the car, and wrap up the remaining bread. The employee started on the sandwich when the manager emerged, and asked why I wanted just a loaf of bread. I quickly explained my costume and my weight loss, and she started laughing, and agreed to sell me the bread. For $3 (cough rip-off cough). But hey, I got what I wanted!

A couple more pictures from that night. Here I am with my friend Rochelle (Black Swan), who hosted the party at her house:

And here I am with my friends Heidi and Tom, who co-hosted. Heidi is Medusa (with a hand-made snake headdress), and Tom is a platypus, which was one of my favorite costumes of the evening (he’s also wearing swim fins, which you can’t see in this picture):

I had found the Subway merchandise website, and that’s where I bought the Subway-branded pens, and I also bought Subway temporary tattoos. I applied about 6 of them to my arms, and one to my face, which you can see in this admittedly artsy-fartsy photo:

The best part of the costume is that the big pants I’m wearing are actually mine! I’ve gotten rid of most of the clothes I wore at my heaviest, but I held on a few articles, and for this costume, those 3XL pants came in handy. A costume that’s also a “Before” and “Current” photo op?

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to My Halloween Costume

  1. auntiekim says:

    This is so fantastic!

  2. Me So Hongry says:

    I L.O.V.E. I.T.!!!!!!!

  3. Jennifer says:

    You always come up with such awesome costumes!

  4. J. says:

    great costume, you must have gotten sick of holding up the outer pants though.

  5. Janet says:

    Brilliant idea! I wish Halloween was a little bigger in Germany but hey, carneval is comming up. I’ll get my chance to follow in your footsteps. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

