What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Twenty

I just got home from Palm Springs, and I’m gonna write about it and share pictures tomorrow.  In the meantime, check out this meal from last week.  I ended up busting out the RediSetGo for the first time since August… so it’s time for the game that has the entire internet-viewing public at the edge of their seats…

…What’s In The RediSetGo!

Holy crap, is this really the twentieth installment of What’s In The RediSetGo?  It is!  Before we jump in, let’s take a moment to reflect on the good times (and good meals) the RediSetGo has provided over the past year.  All the frittatas… and the brussel sprouts… and the pancakes

OK.  Reflection time is over.  The RediSetGo is still kinda on my shitlist, so a singular moment of reflection will suffice.  If you’d like to reflect more, than check the What’s In The RediSetGo archives on the My Favorite Posts page.

Grab your sunglasses, smear on the SPF, and zinc your sniffer (that’s a Ned Flanders quote), because it’s time to play!

WHAT’S IN THE REDISETGO?

SCARBOROUGH FAIR MEATBALLS are in the RediSetGo!

I’m sure I’m not the first to name a recipe “Scarborough-something” just because I used parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme, but dammit, I’m going to pretend that I am because I think it’s wicked clever!

Not familiar with Scarborough Fair?  It’s a 1966 Simon & Garfunkel song.  Watch them perform it in concert here, OR watch Paul Simon sing it with The Muppets, which was my first exposure to the song:

Until I started writing this post, I thought Simon & Garfunkel wrote the song, but it’s actually a traditional English ballad that dates back hundreds of years.  The herbs in the lyrics might be a reference to the plague, since those were the herbs used in olden days to ward off the smell of the dead.

Mentions of death and plague in a recipe post – you don’t see that on other blogs, do you?  Let’s get back on track.  I’ll show you how this dish came together.  First ingredient: extra-lean ground turkey:

I  used half of a 1.25 pound package of turkey, so that’s 5/8ths of a pound (look, Dad, I still know my fractions!).  Next I added 1/2 of a red onion, that I chopped and sauteed (in Pam) for a few minutes:

A good meatball needs bread crumbs.  The initial idea to make meatballs came from my desire to use one of the Swedish delicacies Katherine brought from Sweden (more on this later), so I embraced the Swedish nature of this meal and used crispbread (knäckebröd if you’re Swedish) for my bread crumbs.  Crispbread is more cracker-like than bread-like, and since the knäckebröd that Katherine brought me was long gone, I picked up a package of Wasa crispbread at the store:

Each big cracker is fat- and cholesterol-free and has 45 calories.  I put three in a Ziploc bag, used a wine bottle as a rolling pin, and smashed the crap of them until they were crumbs:

I also threw in 2 egg whites as a binding agent, and then I added the Scarborough Fair herbs.  I had fresh rosemary and sage (straight from Mat & Maggie’s garden), and dried parsley and thyme:

That’s about 6 sage leaves and 2 or 3 sprigs of rosemary needles.  I chopped all of it up finely, and tossed them in a bowl, along with a healthy pinch of the thyme and parsley (about 1/2 teaspoon of each):

The fun part about making meatballs is that it’s perfectly acceptable (and often recommended) to use your hands to mix it all up, so that’s what I did.  Once everything was incorporated, I rolled them into golf ball-sized balls.  I was able to make ten of them – perfect for 2 servings (my dinner, and lunch the next day):

I was ready for the RediSetGo, and a RediSetGo accessory that I’ve never used before!  Here it is – it’s called the Mini-Food Pan:

According to the recipe pamphlets that came with the RediSetGo, the Mini-Food Pan is perfect for all sorts of dishes I have no interest in making (which explains why I’ve never use it before): mini pigs-in-a-blanket (put a cocktail weiner in each well and cover with pancake batter); brownie bites, and a dish called “Stuffed Soup,” which involves mixing a can of soup, a box of Stove Top and some shredded cheese and scooping some into each well.  No, thank you.  The wells, however, were perfect for my golf ball-sized meatballs, so I sprayed it with Pam, loaded up the meatballs, and they cooked for about 10 minutes.

While the meatballs were baking in the RediSetGo (as shown in the second photo in this post), the other components of my meal came together.  I blanched some green beans, and sprinkled them with some Spike salt-free seasoning mix.  I also cracked open the Lingonberry jam that came all the way to my kitchen from a farmers’ market in Stockholm:

Here’s the end result!

The meatballs were a little dry and a little bland.  Next time, I might add some garlic or one of the egg yolks or something.  But the lingonberry jam added a little sweetness and a little moisture, and made the meatballs absolutely delicious!  The perfect bite:

While in Palm Springs, I made another dish starring green beans – it’s been a green bean week!  I’ll share that recipe soon.

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Twenty

  1. erintakescontrol says:

    One of my favorite KIUD features! Although I am not a sage fan, this sounds totally amazing!

  2. Lucinda Kubitz says:

    Ah, the Swedish chef from the Muppet Show would be so proud!–bad Muppet joke. Can’t wait for the new Muppet movie. To make this Detroit related guess who’s performing at the Fox 11/18–Paul Simon (it’ll only mentioned every other commercial ad on the 104.3 FM)

    Lucie

  3. If they were dry & bland, how about a little bit of olive oil & a pinch (not a punch) of Adobo next time?

  4. Stacee J says:

    It won’t help with the blandness but next time making a turkey meatball (this sounds a bit crazy), add some water to the meat mix. It adds no calories and actually produces a more tender meat ball. Crazy, but I promise – it works!

  5. Katherine says:

    I would like to express my gratitude for making mention in yet ANOTHER episode of Keep it Up David! I’m glad the lingonberries were good. Believe it or not, I have never tried the above pairing. There is something about it that turns me off, to be honest. I have, however, in my developing Swedishness made a meatball or two. I can second Stacee J’s advice to add water. We add a splash or two of carbonated water actually. And I think meatballs are all about the spices, or they can tend to the boring end of the spectrum. My first meatball experiment remains one of my favorites: Jamaican Jerk Chicken (or turkey) Meatballs. Lots of onion, garlic, one egg (with yolk), little fizzy water splash, breadcrumbs (Have never used knäcke bröd, by the way. How enterprising!) and a LOT of Jamaican Jerk spices. We have them dry in a tin spice jar type packaging. I am pretty sure we bought them in LA actually. By “a lot,” I mean add a lot, stir, then add a bunch more. Let me know whatcha think. xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

