New Before and Current Pics

The other day I mentioned my amazing friend Katherine, who’s in town from Sweden with her husband Peter and their two young sons, and who brought me all sorts of fun Swedish foods to try.  Yesterday, I spent the afternoon with her and the family, plus a handful of other friends.  The occasion was the baptism of Katherine and Peter’s younger son, Kai, who’s 4 months old.

I was looking through some old photos of Katherine and me, and it seems like a great opportunity for a new Before and Current photo comparison!  Yeah, I know, I kinda sorta did this yesterday, too.  Sue me.

The baptism was held in the lovely and lush backyard of Katherine’s cousins, who live up in the hills not too far from me, and have a beautiful home (with a jealousy-inducing enormous kitchen).  I got all excited when I drove up, because I passed this sign as I entered their neighborhood:

Mountain lions?!?  I should call my realtor and see if I can afford anything up this way (news flash: I can’t).  Mountain lions aren’t the only cause of danger in these parts.  There are also black bears and coyotes, and also wildfires and landslides.  These folks are always on their toes!  Two years ago, the enormous Station fire, which burned 250 square miles of these mountains, came within 100 yards of where we were.  Because all the vegetation above them was torched, on the rare occasions that it rains, mud flows freely down their street, so the city installed these barricades to keep the mud out of peoples’ homes:

The barricades will stay up for a total of five years, until enough vegetation has taken root on the mountain to help curtail the erosion.

Anyway, I digress.

The baptism was beautiful.  The ceremony was led by a Swedish priest, a lovely woman who conducted parts in Swedish and parts in English, and there was a guitarist who provided musical accompaniment for the hymns, as well as “Itsy Bitsy Spider” and “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star,” which were worked into the service because Kai’s older brother, Stellan (who’s 2 years old), loves to sing and they wanted him to feel included.

Katherine’s cousin prepared a delicious lunch (salmon, two types of salads, and a zucchini casserole), and we spent the rest of the leisurely afternoon talking and catching up with everyone.

Before I get to the Before and Current photo comparison, one quick pic of me and Stellan, who is my Godson:

OK, on to the photos I promised in the title.  Here’s a picture of me and Katherine from July of 2008.  We’re on the beach in Malibu:

And here we are yesterday, with the addition of little Kai:

So much change has happened for both of us in these three years:  I’m down 170 pounds, and Katherine has gotten married and has had two adorable kids!

The side-by-side:

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to New Before and Current Pics

  1. Jackie says:

    Katherine does make beautiful children. They are gorgeous. You look great too!

  2. Kelly B says:

    You look great! Keep it up!

  3. Floriana says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of danger in one place. Brave people live there!

    You’ve come such a long way. Fantastic progress. Very inspiring!

  4. Sarah says:

    You look great and Katherine’s two kids are adorable!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

