Happy Blogiversary To Me!

This has turned out to quite the week of celebrations.  On Saturday, I traveled back to Cedar Point for the first time in a decade.  Then, yesterday, I was able to update my weight loss chart for the first time in 3 weeks (and was quite happy with the results).  Plus, I’ve been plugging away trying to spread the word about my first-ever public speaking gig (It’s next week at a Whole Foods in LA – get info here).

In all the commotion, I completely forgot a big huge anniversary!  (I’m such a typical guy, forgetting an anniversary.)

Yesterday was the ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY of KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

On September 13, 2010, I published my very first post on Keep it up, David.  Like Monday’s post, it was all about roller coasters, although not the ones at Cedar Point, the ones at Six Flags Magic Mountain.

When I started this blog, I had already lost 131 pounds, and I weighed 271 pounds.  Now, I weigh 232.  That’s 39 pounds I’ve lost since I started Keep it up, David!

Here are some more fun facts about this blog in the past year:

  • I’ve published 369 posts in the past year, including this one.
  • There have been over 2,600 comments.
  • I averaged 69 hits a day in September 2010.  So far in September 2011, I’ve averaged 360.
  • In total, Keep it up, David has had over 110,000 hits in the past year!

I started Keep it up, David as a way to keep myself motivated.  Before this, I’ve never kept a journal or a diary, or shared so much about myself on a regular basis.  As a motivational tool, blogging works!

Above and beyond that, though, is appears as though this blog has become a resource for so many other people who are at various points in their own weight loss journeys, and that’s something I never expected, and something that astounds me on a near-daily basis.  The messages I get from all of you make me think, make me smile, make me laugh, and warm my heart, and I value them.  More than all that, they help keep me going.  At the end of the day, it will always be me who will make the choices every time I pick up a fork or tie on my gym shoes, but knowing there are people all over the world (literally) who are rooting for me, cheering me on, and who will be there to listen and provide support…  well, I’m a lucky guy.  A really lucky guy.  Thank you.

WELCOME TO YEAR TWO OF KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

So, um…

Keep it up, David!

10 Responses to Happy Blogiversary To Me!

  1. retroactiv says:

    Congrats on your awesome achievement! You have definitely had an influence on me and my goals – KEEP IT UP DAVID!

  2. Tavi says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!

  3. suzanne says:

    Happy Anniversary!! What a journey to health you have had. Congrats!

  4. J. says:

    congrats on all of it. seems well deserved.

  5. Ang says:

    And this all ties back into Monday Night Chat topic in the RS Clubhouse..Who is your biggest supporter? Lisa had the best answer and that was herself. She had to be her biggest supporter.

    David,
    Very pleased with your results and blog..KEEP IT UP!! And wishing you another successful year!

  6. I’m so happy that blogging has been so meaningful for you, too, David
    congrats!

  7. No, David… thank YOU. Reading about your recent struggle with your plateau and being ‘with’ you when you re-conquered the roller coasters helps me every.single.day of my own journey.

    Congratulations on your success; good luck on your upcoming speaking engagement, and here’s to another year – another decade, another millennium – of health and happiness and blogs. :)

  8. jenny o says:

    Happy anniversary David.
    Keep writing because I love reading your posts!

  9. Keith - SuPeR K! says:

    Happy forgotten ‘versary!

  10. congrats on a successful year, I look forward to another!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

