My Incredible Shrinking Clothes – Jeans Edition

I’ve covered lots of different types of clothing in the “My Incredible Shrinking Clothes” series on this blog, from my swimsuits to my dress shirts (all six prior editions are archived on the My Favorite Posts page), but today’s post is about one of the most popular types of clothing that can be found in nearly everyone’s closet…

…JEANS.

Usually, these posts include a photo of a piece of clothing that I wore at my heaviest, which I compare to clothing I can fit into now, but this post is a little different, because I don’t have any pairs of jeans from when I was at my heaviest.  It may be hard to believe, but for a span of close to a decade, I didn’t wear jeans at all.  I didn’t even own a pair.

At some point in college I stopped liking jeans.  As my waistline expanded, I found them less and less comfortable.  Meanwhile, the pants in my closet that I grew to favor most had one thing in common: elastic waistbands.

Oh, elastic waistband, how I loved you!  You made my life so easy.  I never had to pay attention to my actual pants size, because elastic waistband pants aren’t sold by the number, they’re sold in basic Small, Medium, Large, and Extra-Large sizes.  I was a 3XL.  Plus, elastic waistbands are forgiving after junk food binges – you never have to worry about not fitting into them the next day.

As my love and reliance on elastic grew, my love for denim shrunk, and by the time I moved out to California after college, there was none left in my closet.  I found jeans with elastic waistbands at the big & tall store, but they were so goofy, unflattering, and ugly that I couldn’t bear the thought of wearing them.  So I went jeans-free.

By June 2010, I had lost around 80 pounds, and the thought started percolating in my brain that maybe it was time to buy my first pair of jeans in a looooong time.  Despite my 80-pound loss, I was still too big to shop at major retailers, so I went to the big & tall store and started trying jeans on.  I found a pair that fit that were 46″ around the waist.  A few months later, I was able to buy 44s.  A few months after that, I bought my first pair of 42s, and the bigger sizes ended up in the donation bin at Goodwill.  And so on.

Lately I’ve been noticing that my current jeans are a little looser, and then all my friends on the kayaking trip I went on last month came to the consensus that my jeans were just too big.  That’s when I started trying on jeans, and realizing that I was fitting into jeans that were one size smaller.  That’s an amazing feeling, by the way.  Even though smaller jeans were fitting, I wasn’t finding any that were quite right for me:  the cut wasn’t flattering, I wasn’t nuts about the finish or color, there was some other detail or stitching that bothered me.

The other day I went shopping with my mom, and I finally ended up coming home with a new pair of jeans.  It’s my first new pair in about 6 months, and yep, they’re a new smaller size.

Ladies and Gentlemen, take a look at my SIZE 36″ JEANS!

They’re Levi’s 514 jeans, waist 36″; length 32″.  514 jeans are called Slim Straight, which means the jeans are slim cut through the butt and thigh, but have a straight leg.  They’re comfortable, and even though you can’t see it in the picture, they make my ass look good!

While fitting into 36″ jeans is certainly a notable milestone by itself, there’s a greater milestone that I must mention.  Even though I wore elastic pants almost exclusively before I started losing weight, I went to a wedding two summers ago that required the purchase of a new suit.  The suit pants that I bought were size 56″ waist.  That’s right, folks…

…I’ve lost TWENTY INCHES around my waist!

Keep it up, David!

17 Responses to My Incredible Shrinking Clothes – Jeans Edition

  1. Colline says:

    Well done! Buying a new pair of jeans is a definate milestone. Wear them proudly!

  2. That is amazing! Congrats on your new jeans. You’ve gotta love that. :)

  3. kerri says:

    You’re looking great David!

  4. lanae says:

    Gotta say it again, you are an inspiration!

  5. Carey says:

    Lookin’ good ! I must say I went through the same thing with the jeans…my heaviest was a size 26 plus size jeans..resorted to the elastic band :P In the past 6 months Ive dropped 56 lbs and 80 1/2 inches in total and I just bought a size 16 jean!! And I love how they look on me :) I plan on losing more weight then will look forward to buying jeans :D

  6. jeannie says:

    You are one fabulous dude!!!

  7. suzanne says:

    Fantastic! You’ll be smiling all week :)

  8. Pat says:

    OK. Hold on. Now I need to re-evaluate. FTR I’m a 34 or 36. NO MORE SNACKS FOR ME!!! Keep it up.

  9. YAY! i finally put on a skirt I used to wear all the time then a few months ago, it was a no-go. Tried it on this past weekend and it fit!! A little snug, but I got it up around my butt :) Hope to wear it without being uncomfortable in a few weeks!

  10. ragemichelle says:

    Oh David..you ALWAYS make me smile. And you are DASHING in your 36″ jeans. :)

  11. nanasu says:

    Such a handsome man! So proud of you! Next time do we get to see the butt? JUST KIDDING! Wear them with pride you so deserve it! And I also like you in blue ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

