Garden Fresh Salad. Literally.

You know by now that I love produce straight off the tree.  Or vine.  Or bush.  Most recently, I scored some great lemons and oranges from my friend Robyn’s backyard and some limes from my friend Emily’s.  Although they’ve told me about it, I had completely forgotten that this year, my sister Sarah and her husband Justin put in a little garden along the side of their house, and Justin and I raided it to help put together last night’s dinner.

Here’s the garden:

They’re growing tomatoes, and these two guys were ready to go:

Justin harvested four cucumbers from his cucumber plants (he says they can barely keep up with the cucumbers they’re growing):

There’s also green peppers that are coming along nicely:

And some strawberry plants that haven’t yielded much this year, but I did find this little green guy:

So what did we do with the tomatoes and cucumbers?

We made a salad, of course!

Both tomatoes and 2 of the cucumbers got chopped up.  My 5-year-old nephew Sam helped – I did the chopping, he put them in the bowl.  We added a few more store-bought veggies: baby arugula, mushrooms, and 1/2 an orange bell pepper.  For dressing, we added a little olive oil, some vinegar, and salt and pepper.  This may be one of the freshest salads I’ve ever eaten:

Delicious!

The rest of my dinner was two sliders (each burger was 2 ounces), with tomato (also from the garden), lettuce, pickles, and mustard.  I split 1 bun between the two of them, and ate them open-faced.  I also nabbed about 4 french fries off my nephew’s plate.

My back is doing much better.  If you saw yesterday’s post about pools and high-dives and moving and skyscrapers, then you read about how I threw out my back.  Ouch.  I consulted the fitness professionals in my life today: Richard Simmons, among other things, suggested a massage (which is a great idea), and Craig laid out a plan for when I should get back to the gym, and what I should do.  Over the course of the day, during which I occasionally did stretches, my back improved.  It’s not 100% better, but it’s improved.

Tomorrow I hop on a plane and fly to Michigan.  Hopefully, this travel day won’t be as long and arduous as my last flight!

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to Garden Fresh Salad. Literally.

  1. Sarah says:

    the salad was good!

  2. Keith - SuPeR K! says:

    I love fresh salads! Looks tasty :)

  3. Kristy says:

    David, where in Michigan will you be?????? I have an AMAZING Chiropractor :)

  4. Bella says:

    I love using fresh summer produce, too, and am so thankful that my parents’ garden is now coming into its own – lots of tomatoes and zucchini for all of us!!

  5. Nurse Karen says:

    Ice packs the 1st 72 hours, then warm moist heat, warm soaks with 2 cups Epsom salts in a tub, healing touch…you said you purchased Aleve. Sorry you are hurting, but the fun sounded wonderful ! xo

  6. David, I love your garden! I’m also trying to grow mine. My garden isn’t as large as yours. I have better boy tomatoes, basil, and peaches.

    Next year, I hope to grow so much more and live off 90% home grown foods.

    • David says:

      Whoa – 90% home grown foods! That’s a fantastic goal.
      Thanks for the compliments on my garden – but it’s not mine! It’s my sister’s and brother-in-law’s – I’ll pass along the kind words, though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

