Citrus!

How was your weekend?  Mine was fantastic.  It was jam-packed.  It was fantastically jam-packed.  I saw three and a half movies, attended a kick-ass barbeque, had a great brunch, and saw a fun Cirque Du Soleil show.  Add in a workout in the little gym in my building, and a run with my cousin, because those happened, too.  And now it’s ending with me sitting at my dining room table, across from Kenlie, who’s hanging out at my house.  I can’t complain about my weekend at all.  I hope you can’t either.

Remember last week, when I wrote about the limes I plucked from my friend Emily’s lime tree?  I also mentioned in that post my friend Robyn, who has a variety of fruit trees in her backyard, including lemon trees that she thinks are about a month away from being overflowing with lemons.  It turns out her other trees, a meyer lemon tree and a tangelo tree, have plenty of ripe fruit, so the other day I headed over there and stocked up on some citrus.

Here’s Robyn and me:

We’re on her front porch, and her head is blocking out a few digits of her address, but she is totally a ten.  I’m sure her hubby Jake would agree.

I made two new friends at Robyn’s house:

Robyn’s dogs are adorable.  Here’s an action shot – they both loved licking me (what can I say?):

On to the backyard!  Robyn and Jake have 3 or 4 lemon trees, the meyer melon tree, and the tangelo tree.  Meyer lemons are a hybrid of lemons and oranges, and a tangelo is a hybrid between a tangerine and a grapefruit.  Whether or not the tangelo tree is actually a tangelo tree is not entirely certain, it’s Robyn’s best guess (they haven’t lived there too long yet).

The lemon trees:

They have lots of lemons, but they’re still green and growing:

Here’s something I did not know about lemon trees: they have thorns!  Check out this bad boy:

Those trees are covered in them.  Ouch.

There’s one more lemon tree on the other side of the yard that had a few lemons that were ready to go, so Robyn grabbed a few for me while I headed over to the meyer lemon tree:

I pulled a handful of these beauties, and then Robyn got out her picker pole thingie, and I picked some fruit from the possibly-a-tangelo tree.  An action shot:

Here’s my bounty, in one of Robyn’s baskets:

The basket would be perfect for Little Red to load up with sweets and take to Grandmother’s house, don’t you think?

OH! There’s one more tree in Robyn’s backyard that I forgot to mention, and it was completely ready to be harvested.  It’s a rare protein powder tree.  Check out what I plucked from its branches:

It’s been a good season for protein powder trees – that specimen is 4.6 pounds.  I should take it to the county fair and enter it in a contest.

OK, you got me, protein powder doesn’t grow on trees.  But Robyn did give it to me.   A while ago, she became vegetarian, and got that tub as a protein source, because she was concerned that she wouldn’t be getting enough protein.  She made a lot of protein shakes and protein smoothies, but then, more recently, she transitioned from vegetarian to vegan, and had to give up the protein powder, because it has egg- and whey-based ingredients in it.  She thought I might provide a good home for the remaining contents, and so it ended up in my car along with the citrus.

This is the first time I’ve ever had protein powder in my house.  I’ve been good, throughout this whole weight-loss process, of getting protein from food (egg whites, jerky products, fish, chicken, beans and dairy being my biggest sources), so this is all very new to me.  Having another protein option around seems like a good idea, especially if I need something quick before or after a work-out, so we’ll see how much I use it.  I’ve tried it once, and it was OK – it reminded me of the shakes I used to make 5 times a day when I was on a liquid diet in college, but that’s a whole different blog post.

In the meantime, I have a giant tub of protein powder sitting on my counter, because it’s too big to fit in my limited cupboard space, and a big bowl of citrus that I’m slowly making my way through.  I wonder if I juice one of the tangelos, and mix it with the vanilla protein powder, if the resulting drink would taste like an orange creamsicle?  It sounds like that would taste either really good, or terribly bad.

I wonder which it will be.

What do you all like to do with your protein powder?  Any kick-ass smoothie or drink recipes out there?  Share in the comments section!

Keep it up, David!

14 Responses to Citrus!

  1. My favorite smoothie is my Green Monster Smoothie.
    1 cup 1% milk
    1 cup frozen strawberries
    1 cut up banana
    1 cup fresh baby spinach
    WW vanilla smoothie packet

    Put this all in the blender & you can’t even taste the baby spinach.

    PS – The comment you left on my latest post was just priceless! hehehe

  2. DesertNails8 says:

    Put in blender:

    1/2 cup water
    1/3 cup cow’s milk or coconut milk
    (optional: add in fresh spinach or kale and blend it in now)
    1/2 cup canned unsweetened pumpkin puree (or
    steamed butternut squash)
    1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
    1/2 frozen banana
    1 serving protein powder
    1 tablespoon ground flaxseed

    Blend away!

  3. DesertNails8 says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention that sometimes I drink half and stick the other half in the fridge.

    • David says:

      Sounds fantastic! I’d need to buy pumpkin puree (Or steam some squash), flax, and pumpkin pie spice, otherwise, I already have everything I’d need! :-)

  4. Pat says:

    Love Robyn!

  5. andy says:

    After a workout, I do a scoop of protein powder, some fresh-ish fruit juice (usually orange), half a banana, and a few berries (fresh or frozen) and then depending on whether I want it thin or thick, I’ll add water to get me to the desired quantity.

    I usually buy biggest loser protein powder since it’s low in calories – about 50 a scoop, instead of light muscle milk (100 cal) or others, 200 calories and up. The last thing I want to do after a workout is have a refreshing smoothie that has 400 calories…. ugh.

  6. Lynn Mackie says:

    The protein powder that I use is 45 calories per scoop, so 130 sounds high, but it all depends on what brand I guess. I like to blend a scoop of powder with vanilla soy milk, ice cubes and some type of fruit and then hit the blend button on the blender and it tastes like a fruit smoothie. I have added the powder to sugar free vanilla pudding and put it over crushed graham crackers for a low cal treat.
    David, I was on that liquid diet too! I lost a ton of weight, but I also lost my gallbladder because of it. Not good. Back then, the powder tasted kind of gross, the chicken soup was the worst.
    Those lemons looks so good, and you can add lemon juice to almost anything you cook and it just brightens the taste; soups, chicken, veggies, you name it.

  7. Bella says:

    I love the photos of you with the doggies – too cute. There’s nothing like having fruit trees readily accessible! Meyer lemons are the BEST.

  8. Ryan says:

    David!

    I have a very strong affection for smoothies, you can check out my thoughts in a few posts, including 2 recipes :)

    http://www.1year100pounds.com/tag/smoothies/

    Ryan

  9. Carrie says:

    I make chocolate peanut butter oatmeal with a scoop of chocolate protein powder, a third cup of oatmeal, a teaspoon or two of peanut butter and a half cup of water. Microwave for about two minutes. Yummy. I have also made pumpkin oatmeal, using two tablespoons of pumpkin puree, the oats, a scoop of vanilla protein powder, water and a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

