Two-A-Day

BREAKING NEWS!  Later this morning I’m heading out of town for a few days, to Las Vegas and then Seattle.  I’ll be back next week, but don’t you worry – the blog ain’t shutting down. I have new posts planned and in the works (I’m bringing my computer with me), so keep comin’ back for fresh content.  The Vegas part of my trip is for an event that I’m incredibly excited for.  I’m so excited that I don’t wanna to jinx it by telling you what it is!  You’ll hear about it soon enough, right here, on this blog.  Now back to our regularly scheduled programming…

= = = = =

On Tuesday, I did something that I haven’t done in a loooong time: a Two-A-Day.

Two-a-Days are what sports teams call days where they have two practices.  When I was the swim and water polo teams in high school, we would have two-a-days all the time (although I don’t remember calling them that – the term might be used more by football teams).  We would have morning practice before school, from 5:30 until 7am (not 5:30 arrival, that’s 5:30 in the pool), and practice after school, from 2:30 until 5pm.  That’s 4 hours of practice a day, and we would have Saturday practices as well!

I’m not on a sports team now, but it seems like a most fitting word for Tuesday’s accomplishment: two separate killer workouts in one day.  I’ve had particularly active days before, where I would have a dedicated workout, and then, later, end up having a good long walk with a friend or something, but I can’t remember ever, in this weight loss process, have two workouts as tough as these on the same day.  Oh, and not only on the same day, only 3.5 hours apart!

First Workout: 2pm.  I had a session with my personal trainer, Craig (check out his website and his Facebook page).  It’s been almost a month since my last Craig post, but I’ve been going every week and working with Craig, who’s been teaching me tons about weight-lifting form, technique, how to use various machines, how to goose my cardio, and so on.  They’re hour-long sessions, and Craig pushes me to try and do things I don’t think I’m capable of doing, and every session leaves me exhausted, sore, educated, and proud.

This time, Craig had me warm-up a little on the bike, and then by taking a run around the block (which I just calculated to be 1/2 mile) with 3-pound weights in each hand.  Then he had me do a ton of burpee-like things where I held a wooden box, jumped as far as could with it, then put it down and either did a couple push-ups on it, or a couple mountain climbers.  Ugh, tough.  That was followed by a ton of walking lunges, with me holding a 10-pound weight over my head, and that was followed by 6 minutes of very brisk, steep inclined walking on the treadmill.

I was ready to fall over at this point, but we weren’t done yet.  Craig handed me the 3-pound weights again, and I took off for another 1/2 mile run around the block.  After that, Craig taught me a couple different types of lateral pull-downs (for the back), and then I jumped back on the bike, where I did intervals of military presses while pedaling away for 10 minutes.  We finished with 60 tricep dips, which I learned to do for the first time.  I didn’t think I’d be able to do them, but I proved myself wrong!

When I left the gym all I wanted to do was lie down, and not get up for a while.

Second Workout: 6:30pm.  Richard Simmons’ class at Slimmons!  Richard was wearing a kilt (he has them in 5 different colors, naturally), and part of our warm-up was to bagpipe music.  Always something different at Slimmons!  Here’s the video from Tuesday’s class – I’m the one wearing all-black, with the white bandanna around my forehead:

Richard class was, like they always are, really fun and high energy.  I was wondering before class if I’d be able to make it through, given the workout I’d already completed, and I did.  For most of it, actually, I felt really great – like this was the day’s first and only workout – but by the time the toning part of the class came around, my arms felt ready to fall off.  Richard’s classes don’t have tons of toning – about 10 minutes, really – but tonight those 10 minutes were tough.

Here’s a picture of me after class – it’s not a great picture, as I took it myself in my car, but this is me after 2.5 combined hours of vigorous exercise:

You can’t tell that my black shirt is completely drenched.

About the bandanna:  I was digging through my closet a few days ago, and found a stash of bandannas I forgot I had.  Lately, I’ve been annoyed at how my glasses slip down my sweaty nose when I’m exercising, so I just starting wearing the bandannas as a sweat-absorber.  Tuesday was the first day I’ve worn a bandanna to Slimmons, or to a session with Craig, and I got comments at both gyms:  Nina, another of Craig’s clients, said that with my all-black clothes and my white bandanna, I looked like a ninja, and Richard, when he first saw me before class, said “Look at that bandanna!  You look like the Karate Kid, I like it!”  He proceeded to call me ‘Karate Kid’ all through the class.

A bandanna as a sweat absorber works, by the way.  After I snapped the above picture, I took the bandanna off, opened my car door, and wrung a remarkable amount of my sweat from the fabric:

See all that wet asphalt?  That’s my sweat.

On Wednesday morning I could barely pull myself out of bed, I was so sore.  But after breakfast (an english muffin with jam, and some juice I made from 3 my free tomatoes, 2 oranges, and an apple) and some chores around the house, I pulled on my swimsuit for the first time since May 15th, and went to swim some laps.  It felt great to be in the pool again, and although I didn’t push myself very hard, I managed to crank out 2000 yards before hitting the showers.  The breakdown:

  • 1000 warm-up (200 free, 200 IM, 200 kick, 200 pull, 200 IM)
  • 500 free (at about 70% exertion)
  • 300 free (at about 85% exertion)
  • 200 cool-down

So.  That’s three workouts in about 24 hours.  Holy crap.

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Two-A-Day

  1. Caron says:

    That’s inspiring! :)

  2. Christina Georgievski says:

    Yes!!!!!

  3. Confessions says:

    Great Job on the workouts. Good to See you there at Slimmons. I saw Iris and a couple of others I recognised too.

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Wow impressive!! Safe travels. Keep it up, David!

  5. Look at all of that sweat!!!!!!! Whoa! You rock David!

  6. caseykay68 says:

    just chiming in to say I saw you taking that picture after class – i was parked by you :) I knew it would show up here!

    Always good blog material from Richard’s class Karate Kid :)

  7. What are you doing in Seattle, and when?? I just moved outside of Seattle to Kirkland. If you are near Magnolia, just outside of downtown – there are some great trails and KILLER stairs to climb in many areas of my favorite park, Discovery Park. I like to hit the Starbuck’s afterwards for a Vente Unsweetened Black Iced Tea. Yum! Lots of fresh seafood in the restaurants as well. And it’s really sunny today so I hope you got the rain in Vegas today, and get to have some sunshine here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

