Big News! Plus, Me on The Jenny Jones Show?!?

Hey – didya see me on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show”?  I was a guest on the show way back in January, discussing my weight loss with Ellen and Richard Simmons.  If you missed it, you had a second opportunity in March, when they aired a rerun of the episode.  Didya miss that too?

You’re in luck!  I’ve learned that my episode of “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” is airing for the third time next Wednesday, July 13th, 2011!  Here’s the episode preview from the Ellen website:

Did you read the third paragraph?  See where it says “one of Ellen’s former staff members”?  THAT’S ME!

If you don’t know the time or channel the show airs in your town, go here and plug your zip code into the field in the upper left corner.

Of course, thanks to the wonders of modern technology, you don’t have to wait until next Wednesday if you haven’t seen it yet.  You can just click on Watch Me On Ellen at the top of this page, and you’ll find links to watch on YouTube or Ellen’s website.  But if you can’t watch videos on your computer for some reason, or want your not-very-computer-savvy mom/grandparent/sister/friend/uncle to watch, than Wednesday’s your day.

So… shout it from the rooftops, post it on your Facebook wall, send out a tweet, talk about it at the fancy cocktail party you’re going to this weekend:  I’m gonna be on TV next Wednesday, and you and everyone you know should most definitely watch.  Even if you’ve seen it already.

SPEAKING OF ME ON TV…  My appearance on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” wasn’t my first time on national television.  I made my national television debut way back in 1999, when I was in the audience at “The Jenny Jones Show” and I stood up and made a sassy comment.  And since this post is all about me on TV, I thought I’d share, for the first time on this blog, footage of that show.  You are in for a treat.

Before I get to the clip, here’s a little background.  I was 20 years old and in college when all this went down, and I was a huge Jenny Jones fan.  At the time, the show was so popular that the NBC station in Detroit aired new episodes in the mornings and reruns at 12:30 at night, after Leno (Conan was pushed to 1:30am, airing after Jenny).  That meant that I fell asleep nearly every night watching Jenny preside over all kinds of crazy stuff:  geek-to-chic makeovers, out-of-control teens, girls that were too young (or too old) to be wearing slutty clothing, and so on.  I loved that Jenny took so many questions and comments from the audience, so I planned an entire spring break around going to Chicago to attend a taping, with the goal of standing up, making a comment, and getting myself on TV.

I succeeded.  They must have liked my comment a lot, because not only am I on the show, but they also put me prominently in the commercial for that episode!

You can watch for yourself.  You only need to watch the first 30 seconds (to see the commercial), but if you want to see my comment in context, then skip ahead:  I start talking at the 7:59 mark.  Here it is!

It’s been about 7 or 8 years since I’ve seen that clip (since, until very recently, I only had it on VHS – and thanks to my buddy Austin for helping convert it to DVD), but I will never stop enjoying it.  That shirt was my favorite shirt, and I’m sure I spent 30 minutes (and used 5 different products) on my hair that morning.  What I don’t know is what I weighed at that time:  my college years fell into the vast period in my life where I didn’t own a scale at all.  I’m not quite as heavy there as I was when I started this weight loss journey, but I’m certainly a lot less heavy now!  And for that, I say…

Keep it up, David!

P.S.  Still can’t get enough of me on television?  Click here to see me competing on a game show!

9 Responses to Big News! Plus, Me on The Jenny Jones Show?!?

  1. laura says:

    Wow I forgot about that appearance of yours. So great!! “Lemme tell ya a little somethin’ about class…”

  2. Lucinda says:

    I will definitely be in front of my tv Wednesday morning–good thing is I don’t work until 12 on Wednesday! I’ve lost 29.4# since getting inspired by your story & look forward t seeing it again. Wonder how many people your story will inspire this time!
    Keep it up David,
    Lucinda

  3. Alexa says:

    That was AMAZING. I loved Jenny Jones! You are officially the most famous person I know, when it comes to TV appearances! XD

  4. Collin says:

    HA! I totally forgot about this. Way to take a trip back to the ’90s, except that YOU look 10 years younger now.

  5. Kara says:

    David! It’s Kara! Driving us to this show was the first speeding ticket I ever got. Ah, the memories. Dan (he’s sitting next to you in the audience) and I live in MO now (he teaches art and I run a social services program). I miss hanging out with you in Couzens. Congrats on the weight loss. I’m trying to do the same myself….Lots of tennis. Hugs!

    • David says:

      KARA! Great to hear from you! I had forgotten about the speeding ticket, completely. It sounds like things are going well for you, and that’s good to hear! Thanks for reaching out – I just sent a friend request on FB. Hope you’ve been tornado-free lately. -D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

