Zucchini Salad

I’ve been on a roll with salads, if I do say so myself.  I eat salads probably 4 or 5 times a week, at least, so I’m always throwing things together in a bowl or a tupperware.  Most of the time, they’re rather thoughtless:  I throw in whatever I have on hand in my veggie drawer – often, with an emphasis on eating what’s likely to go bad first.

Every once in a while, though, I assemble a salad with a little more thought, and maybe even a goal in mind – and the results are fantastic.  In recent months I’ve created two different salads with raw asparagus (see them here and here), and my most recent salad recipe post was for a tasty watermelon salad.

Lately, I’ve been enjoying salads that don’t use lettuce or greens as a base.  Different is good, and I’ve been bored with greens lately (kale being the notable exception).  I’ve also been buying a lot of zucchini lately – it holds up well in the fridge, it’s easy to chop up, it’s high in fiber, vitamin c, and potassium (for starters), it’s 20 calories a cup, and – oh yeah - It’s delicious.

So, this weekend I thought I’d make a salad with zucchini as a base.  Any guesses on what the first ingredient is that you’ll need?

ZUCCHINI!  Using the slicer side of my box grater, I sliced up 5 zucchinis, which took all of 2 minutes.  Then, I stacked up the rounds, and cut them in half, and ended up with a bowl of half-circle-shaped zucchini pieces:

Then I added to the bowl:

1 yellow squash.  I sliced and halved the pieces like I did the zucchini:

Roma Tomatoes.  I ended up using 5 small ones.  I cut off the stem end, sliced them in half lengthwise, and, using a spoon, scooped out the seeds (I didn’t want the extra liquid in the bowl), then chopped them into pieces:

One Half of a Small Red Onion, and 3 Scallions.  A little raw onion goes a long way, so I only chopped up half of one, and I thought scallions would add some color and a little more onion flavor that wouldn’t be as strong.  Both types of onions are in the bowl:

One Red Pepper.  Diced.  For crunch.

Mint.  About 9-10 leaves, minced as fine as I could get them.  Fresh herbs brighten up any salad!

Now for the dressing.  Most of the time, I’m fine with using whatever bottled dressing catches my eye in the door of my fridge, but today I wanted to make a dressing, so I whipped up a lemon-mustard number that I ended up really enjoying.  I got a small container, and squirted 2-3 tablespoons of dijon mustard:

Then the juice of 1 and a half lemons:

And about 2 teaspoons of olive oil.  Then the lid goes on the container, and I shook it, shook it, shook it…

…until it was all incorporated:

Tangy and delicious!  I dumped it all on the salad, gave it a stir, and…

Are you ready to see the end result?

TA-DA!

Man oh man is that salad delicious!  Lots of flavors, lots of textures.  I hope you try it – I’m sure you’ll love it!

Keep it up, David!

9 Responses to Zucchini Salad

  1. Karen says:

    I’m on a zucchini kick myself, and I’ll have to try this!! I don’t tend to think outside the lettuce box when it comes to salads (except broccoli salads), but your recipes have been looking tasty. You have a real knack for mixing up guilt-free dressings… I’d love to hear more about your favorites flavor combinations in that department.

    My favorite zucchini (and/or yellow squash) preparation at present is peeling the non-seeded portion with a julienne peeler so they end up as a mass of long spaghetti-like strands. Then I saute them until tender in a pan with a tsp or two of oil. They hold together and can replace pasta or rice noodles in any dish… and they taste great! They’ll even wind around your fork just like spaghetti. All you need is a julienne peeler ($5-8) or a mandolin slicer with the right attachment…

  2. Amanda says:

    I love gathering recipes from your blog. It’s one of the few weightloss/life change blogs that I read that actually uses food that real people eat! None of this “fake beef, weird veggies no one can find in grocery stores.” It’s a real person losing real weight, writing for real people.

    Keep it up!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Yum! I’ll have to try that mustard and lemon juice dressing sometime.

  4. Chance says:

    I love your food posts! You have great ideas and always inspire me to try new things or new combinations of things. It’s a happy day when I see that your blog has just been updated – you always bring a smile!

  5. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Wow, that sounds and looks delicious. I am definitely going to try this one. Thanks and keep it up, David!!!

  6. Sounds delicious, and I’m going grocery shopping today!

  7. This sounds amazing! I’ve been trying to come up with something to do with all the zuchini I never got around to baking. Thanks!

  8. I made your salad and dressing today for dinner with some pork tenderloin. It. Was. Outstanding! Definitely a recipe that’s a keeper! Thanks, David… keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

