Mystery Food

I took a couple more pictures in my wonderfully-lit office on my last day there before heading home.  They are of a food item (I think), and I’m not exactly sure what it is.  It just showed up at the office (all sorts of fun, strange things show up at that office).

Maybe you can help.

If you’re good with Asian languages, then you can definitely help!

Here it is:

OK.  I think it’s squid.  Mainly, because it’s squid-shaped, and the cartoon mascot is most definitely a squid.  It feels rubbery through the packaging, which squid is, but maybe it’s some sort of gummi candy?  If it is squid, it is dehydrated?  Flavored?  Cooked somehow?  Would I just cut it up and eat it straight from the package?  Or do I need to cook or prepare it?

I’m an adventurous eater, and I will open it and try it (and share my findings with you) – but I’m just curious as to what it is that I’d be eating.

Can anyone help?

Here’s the label on the back:

The table on the left looks like nutritional information, and I don’t know about anything else.  Oh, and the website address that’s written in English is for a website that doesn’t exist.  Although, seeing as how the URL ends in .kr, my guess is that product is Korean.

SO – I ask you, my worldly, intelligent, food-loving friends and readers…

what the hell is it?  And would you eat it?

Keep it up, David!

22 Responses to Mystery Food

  1. Confessions says:

    Under My Fitness Pal/Food it showed it was Seasoned Squid-HOT…

  2. Checked with a Malaysian Foodie Friend of mine. This is what he had to say.

    It is squid…actually cuttlefish to be more precise. It’s dried in the sun and seasoned with various flavors too.

    Think of it as squid jerky. :)

  3. eeewwww!!!!
    Is it candy?
    Maybe just shaped like a Jelly fish??? lol

  4. mary schmitt says:

    think it too is from the EAST—maybe…japan/chinese/malaysia/thailand…
    hope you reveal/……

  5. Nurse Karen says:

    You sure are a *brave* foodie! Most things that come dried or dehydrated somehow lose much of the flavor of the original. Noted exception is dried fruit which is so sweet, it could have a few dead ants for seasoning & I’d still munch. ;-D I wouldn’t eat dried squid. I had some broiled, at a Chinese friend’s party and it was not an appealing flavor for my palate. The nutrition info is at the link below. It wouldn’t seem to have much of high biologic value so my thought is “Why bother?” I am glad you try different foods, for enjoying our senses is all a wonderful Adventure! Keep It Up, David!
    http://www.fatsecret.com/calories-nutrition/generic/squid-dried
    and Yes, it is dried squid:
    http://www.lotteplaza.com/product/product_view.php?lan=ENG&Category=100&id=1230

    • David says:

      Thanks for the nutrition link, Karen – it’s not too bad: 99 calories, 1.5 g fat, and 172 g sodium per ounce. Hope you’re doing well! My problem with dried things – whether it’s fruit or other types of jerky (which I LOVE), is that it’s way too easy to eat way too much. The calories in dried fruit add up quickly, and it’s easy to overdose on sodium with jerky. And I have no qualms about eating squid – I love it!

  6. Nurse Karen says:

    ha ha squid jerky!!!

  7. Patt says:

    The cartoon says it all. It’s Penis.

  8. Sharon says:

    LOL @ Patt – I was going to say the cartoon on the front gives it away too … but I see a squid not ‘that’ :)

  9. crazyacezhang@gmail.com says:

    Korean squid jerky, it’s an acquired taste but I like it! Don’t worry, just unpackage it and take a big bite, worst that’ll happen is you spit it out if you don’t like it!

  10. Suyoung Yo says:

    Dried Cuttle Fish! Delish!! I’m Ellen’s friend and Korean.

  11. Debbie says:

    I loved that stuff as a kid. As everyone said, squid jerky (although that smiling penis on the front makes it misleading). It’s good, but super salty.

  12. Debbie says:

    Oops…I forgot to answer your other questions. You don’t have to cook it. You just take it out of the package and eat it…most people eat it with beer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

