Parking Garage NSV

For anyone that’s unfamiliar, NSV stands for Non-Scale Victory.  The number on the scale is the most common way people recognize and quantify their weight loss, but a Non-Scale Victory can be anything else.  Although I haven’t labeled them as such, I’ve blogged about lots of things I can do now that I wasn’t able to do when I was at my heaviest – whether it’s ride roller coasters, sit in an airplane seat without a seat-belt extender, or said good-bye forever to my former favorite big & tall store because I no longer needed to shop there.  In fact, I’ve done a whole series of posts about fitting into smaller sizes of clothes (which you can see in my My Favorite Posts section of the blog) – and all of these things are Non-Scale Victories.

Twice in the past two weeks, I’ve experienced a new kind of Non-Scale Victory in the parking garage at work.  This parking garage has two types of spots: regular spots and compact spots.  I drive a Ford Focus, which is a smaller car, so most of the time, I park in one of the compact spots:

Every so often, some dummy parks their SUV or yacht-sized sedan in the compact spot next to mine, leaving hardly any space for me to open my car door to get in.  Twice, in the past two weeks, I’ve had to go around and enter my car through the passenger door, and climb through my car to get into the driver’s seat.

When I was heavier, doing that was awful.  Terrible.  When you’re 400 pounds, it’s a tight fit in most cars, including my Focus, and negotiating myself into the driver’s seat via the passenger seat wasn’t easy.  Some part of me was always pressed up against the steering wheel, or there wouldn’t be quite enough room to get a leg over the center console because my belly would be in the way.  I remember one time when I managed to get myself into the driver’s seat relatively quickly, only to realize my right leg was tucked up under me, and there just wasn’t the room to swing it out from under my butt so it could go where it needed to go – you know, to operate the pedals.  So I had to shimmy back into the passenger’s seat and basically start over.

It’s been a while since I’ve had to climb through my car, so when I was forced to climb through it two weeks ago, these memories came back, and I started dreading it.  It didn’t really click in my mind that it might be different now that I was 164 pounds lighter.  I may have even groaned.  Audibly.  And then I opened the passenger door, climbed in, and I’m not exactly sure what happened, but about five seconds later, I was in my driver’s seat.  Five seconds later.  Did that really just happen?  It was so easy, so effortless.  I didn’t feel like a contortionist trying to squeeze their way into a suitcase.

Then, when it happened again a couple nights ago, a smile crept across my face, and I actually thought: this is gonna be fun!  And you know what?  It was.

Doing things that I struggled to be able to do before is most definitely fun.  And being able to easily climb through my car is most definitely a Non-Scale Victory.

What’s Your Most Recent Non-Scale Victory?  Share in the comments section!

One more picture before I go:

Look!  The parking spot with the same number as the amount of weight that I’ve lost!

I wish everyone a fantastic long holiday weekend.  I planning on posting something at some point over the weekend, and you should definitely come back on Tuesday, because I have something really fun and special planned!  Don’t miss it!

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Parking Garage NSV

  1. Culstuff says:

    Wow, good for you David. Just a little useless piece of information, I drive a Ford Focus too!!! I’m delighted for you that you can get such a kick out of your NSV’s. I know for me shopping at a “regular” store is definitely one I got a kick out of…..unfortunately I need to start again in order to benefit from that NSV again…..but I will……. Keep enjoying those NSV’s. They are almost as good as winning the lottery!!!!!!!
    V

  2. Sheilah Lowe says:

    That’s great, David. It’s great that you can see how far you’ve come. Have a great weekend and keep it up, David!!

  3. Arlene says:

    The Focus must be a popular car. That’s what I drive, too!

    What a great NSV. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Janet says:

    It’s great to discover things that have changedm isn’t it. I am really looking forward to experience some more off those for myself. You are really an inspiration and have become a daily checking point in my life. Thanks for having the courage to make your journey public.
    Janet

  5. Heather says:

    Everytime someone parks so close that I 1: can’t get myself in, or b: can’t get the baby in (for heavens sake YOU RUDE PEOPLE YOU CAN SEE THE SEAT. FOR A BABY. RIGHT THERE. BACK THE EFF UP.) I get a little…um…unreasonably angry. And I’m tempted every single time to wham their car with my door. Hard. Or leave a nasty note with TONS of swears.

    I don’t though, I finagle my way into the car and then rant about the inconsiderate butt who blocked me. On the internet. To keep me sane and out of anger management.

    Good for you on your focus finagling abilities! (that sounds dirty. Lawlz.)
    Maybe you should do it for fun eveery so often! Keeps you sharp.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

