Chart Update, Salad Bar, and a Run!

Just in case you’re wondering, YES – I did use my new RediSetGo for the first time, and YES, it was fabulous, and YES, I did document it, and YES, I will be sharing the photos and blogging all about it.

But that’s gonna happen tomorrow.

There’s some other things I was planning on sharing today, starting with…

1) Chart Update.  For a long time I didn’t have a set weigh-in day – I would just weigh myself every 5-7 days or so and then update my chart accordingly.  At some point during the past few months, I got into a rhythm of weighing myself on Tuesdays – I think primarily because my sister in Colorado has Tuesday weigh-ins (she’s lost 10 pounds!), and we got into the habit of talking about our progress on Tuesdays, although we haven’t chatted in a few weeks, and so I should really call her and how did I let this sentence get so freakin’ long?  My friend at work recently pointed out a couple terrible run-on sentences in one of my reports.  Use your periods, David!

Anyhoo.  Since yesterday was Tuesday, I stepped on the scale.  And… I stayed the same.  238 pounds.  And I was fine with that.  My week had been good, both food-wise and exercise-wise, and all I can do is continue to work at this, and not go nuts about the numbers.  Chart updating time!

Hmmm…. staying the same at 238 pounds seems awfully familiar…  I wonder why that is…  OH!  Maybe it’s because I stayed at 238 pounds for about a month not too long ago!

For everyone keeping track, weighing 238 pounds represents a weight loss of 164 pounds.

HOLY CRAP!  In honor of the The Biggest Loser finale last night (a show that I don’t watch), I just crunched the numbers for the first time in months, and figured out that my weight loss of 164 pounds represents 40.79% of my original weight!  I usually save it for the end of my posts, but now seems like a great time to say… Keep it up, David!

2) Salad Bar.  Right near my office is a cafeteria that has a salad bar, and it’s often the source of my lunches.  It’s a good salad bar, but not mind-blowingly awesome.  What I like most is that there’s usually a couple good lean protein options – beans, like garbanzos or edamame, grilled chicken breast, and, if I’m lucky, tuna.

Here’s today’s salad:

There’s spinach, carrots, mushrooms, cucumber, corn, black beans, cauliflower, beets, tuna, and a few peperoncinis (which I love).  And I splashed some red wine vinegar (no oil) over all of it.  The reason I show my salad today (in addition to sharing how I manage a healthy lunch at the office) is that today’s salad was the most expensive salad I’ve ever purchased from that salad bar.

The salad bar charges by weight.  It’s $6.25 a pound.  They have 2 different size containers – the one pictured is the larger one.  Anyone want to guess how much I paid for that salad?

Anyone?

Anyone?

Bueller?

$12.01.  My most expensive salad by, like, a dollar or more.  That’s 1.75 pounds of salad!

Oh no wait – I lied.  I didn’t pay $12.01.  I paid $12.00.  As I was fishing some cash money out of my wallet, the cashier said she had an extra penny.  How kind!

3) A Sunday Run.  Somehow it got to be Wednesday, and I’m just now getting around to talking about my Sunday run.

My interest in running has been slip-slip-slipping lately.  In the fall, I was super gung-ho about running – I set a goal to run past all six strip clubs in my neighborhood (seriously – I figured out a route; it’s a 6.4 mile loop), and then ran almost once a week and slowly improved.  Then, in mid-April, I went running with two of my cousins, and my 16-year-old cousin Aaron (who’s on his school’s track and cross-country teams) pointed out that my form is shitty (my words, not his) and not good for my body.  Read about that running lesson here.  About a week after that, I tried running again, focusing on my form, which Aaron taught me, and it was hard.  Having good form is much harder than having bad form!  But I don’t want to destroy my knees or get shin splits or anything, so I’m not going to revert to my old form.

The only thing is that now that running is more difficult, I like it less.  Isn’t that always the case!  My most recent run, which was that outing a week after my lesson with Aaron, was tough and frustrating.  I caught myself reverting back into my bad form, and I only went about 18 minutes before walking the rest of the way.  It was so tiring and frustrating that I opted not to even blog about it – the run only got a quick mention, in passing, in this post.

I don’t want to give up on running though.  I like the idea of keeping it in my exercise arsenal – because I can do it anywhere, without needing equipment or a gym membership, and I really would like to reach my goal of running past all those strip clubs.

So, on Sunday, a full month (to the day!) since my last run, I laced up my shoes and hit the sidewalk.  I focused on proper technique and caught myself  a bunch of times before absentmindedly reverting back to my old form.  And when all is said and done, I was pleasantly surprised with what I accomplished!  Here’s my route:

I walked to Point A as a warm-up.  I ran from Point A to Point B (2.3 miles) in 25 minutes.  I was really exhausted, so I took a little breather, and walked from Point B to Point C, and then resumed running from Point C to Point D (1.2 miles), before running home (sorry, stalkers, but I’m not saying where that is!).  So add it up, and I ran 3.5 miles in 40 minutes.  That equals a pace of 5.25 mph.  It’s been a while since I’ve dusted off the ol’ running chart, but here it is:

  • 9/21/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 41 minutes.  MPH: 4.53
  • 9/27/10: Distance: 3.3 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 4.4
  • 10/5/10: Distance: 3.2 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 4.8
  • 10/12/10: Distance: 3.8 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 10/16/10: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 11/1/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 36 minutes.  MPH: 5.16
  • 11/6/10: Distance: 5.1 miles. Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.1
  • 11/14/10: Distance: 3.9 miles. Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.2
  • 11/28/10: Distance: 4.2 miles. Time: 46 minutes.  MPH: 5.47
  • 1/4/11: Distance: 3.0 miles. Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.3
  • 1/24/11: Distance: 4.4 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.86
  • 2/1/11: Distance: 1.9 miles.  Time: 20 minutes.  MPH: 5.7
  • 2/9/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 38 minutes.  MPH: 5.52
  • 2/16/11: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Time: 33 minutes.  MPH: 5.28
  • 2/27/11: Distance: 5 miles.  Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.0
  • 3/3/11: Distance: 5.4 miles.  Time: 57 minutes.  MPH: 5.13
  • 3/10/11: Distance: 3.0 miles.  Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.29
  • 4/10/11:  Distance: 4.5 miles.  Time: 47 minutes.  MPH: 5.74
  • 5/22/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 40 mintes.  MPH: 5.25

A few runs are missing on the chart: my two most recent runs before this one (the lesson with Aaron and the one a week later), as well as another run in March, just because I didn’t note distance or time during any of them.  My 5.25 pace isn’t my fastest, but I wasn’t expecting it to be.

Keep it up, David!

12 Responses to Chart Update, Salad Bar, and a Run!

  1. JennyO says:

    Hi David,
    Between the skyscraper stair climbing and the strip club sprinting I love your blog, it’s very inspiring.
    Keep on running!

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s just so amazing how much weight you’ve lost. I can’t even imagine it (but I hope to experience it myself). Hey I bet your body is just taking the time to adjust itself healthfully after such a large weight loss. That salad looks really good especially with such a large variety of ingredients. I’ve been focusing on having a wider variety of vegetables lately. Keep up the good work, David!

    • David says:

      Thank you, Jennifer! Having lots of veggies available, of all different kinds (whether on a salad bar or in my fridge) is important to me… keeps me from getting bored! Keep it up!

  3. Steve says:

    I am trying very hard to get back into running…this time last year I ran a half marathon, and now I can barely do anything. *shakes fist at noone in particular*

    That salad looks tasty, which it damn well better for how much you paid. :P I kind of hate salad bars like that because I always end up with a huge, thus expensive, thing. Bah!

  4. erintakescontrol says:

    Holy smokes! I spent 12 bucks on a brisket meal the other day and despite it’s HIGH level of deliciousness, I was bitchin about the cost. I would be LIVID if I had to pay 12 bucks for a salad!!

  5. Heather says:

    I had to correct my running form a while back. Like you I found it really hard at first & definitely decreased my enjoyment from running. I also developed some injuries as the new form really showed off some muscle imbalances I had (weak hipflexors!). After working my muscles a bit and keeping up practicing proper form, I can say that I’ve found my love of running again. I’m actually a bit slower but like you that’s a good trade – but I can now run a LOT longer. Keep up with the running with proper form but don’t try to be perfect with it! Just run and every now & again check in on your form & just focus on correcting one thing – not everything. That should help :) @treefrog_WA

    • David says:

      Thanks, Heather, for the great comment! Glad to know there’s hope for me – thanks for the tips! Welcome to Keep it up, David!

  6. Debbie says:

    Quinn’s day care is right next to a place that has an awesome salad bar too. I’ve done that a few times where I’ve gotten an awesome salad only to have it be super heavy and expensive. This might be kind of lame, but sometimes we just buy the toppings and bring it home to throw on top of the lettuce for a quick meal. You can do that in reverse, right? Bring a bag of lettuce to work and just get the toppings at the salad bar.

    Oh…and you use run-on sentences a lot because that’s how you talk. :P

  7. That’s quite a salad!

    I hope we can run together sometime in the next several months..of course, this means you running circles around me while I run at my leisurely pace, but whatever. =)

    Keep it up David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

