Chart Update and Collage

I was very excited to step on the scale this morning.  I had worked my ass off, exercise-wise, over the past week, and eaten really well, too.

Last week, I weighed 239 pounds.  Yesterday, when I got on the scale, I weighed…

…drum roll, please

…238 pounds!  WOO-HOO!  Down one pound.  Fantastic news!  All you regular readers know that for the past few months, I’ve had my rough patches, whether it’s hanging on for dear life, so I don’t fall off the wagon, or confronting the terrible voices in my own head after a gain.  I don’t think I’m done with the plateau, which I’ve basically been on for a few months now (more on this later), but it does feel good to work hard and stay focused, and see that resolve reflected on the scale.  There have been weeks over the past few months where I feel like I’ve done everything right, but haven’t seen the number change – that’s the joy of a plateau, and it’s completely frustrating.  But that didn’t happen this week, and that’s fucking amazing.  Pardon my French.

So – time to update the ol’ weight loss chart!

Look at that!  I’ve lost two pounds over the past two weeks – the same two pounds that I gained during the two weeks that ended two weeks ago.  Ya follow?  I sure do like that the line is heading downwards.  Down is good.

If I were to sum up my weight loss progress over the past few months, I could basically say that I plateaued in February, dropped a few pounds in March, plateaued again in April, and since then fluctuated up and down a few pounds.  But when I look at my chart during that time (and I spent a good long time looking at my chart today), basically what I’m realizing is that it’s been one big long plateau pretty much since the end of January.

To illustrate that point, I took a few more pics of the chart, and assembled them together in a fun little collage.  Take a look:

Hmmm – you may not be able to read the numbers in the collage – they’re pretty small, so I’ll walk you through it.  The left-most number is 242, which is from my January 29 weigh-in.  I lost another pound a week later, and plateaued at 241 until the beginning of March.  Throughout the first half of March, I dropped 4 pounds – this is where I hit 238, my current weight, for the first time (on March 11).  I got to my all-time low, 237 pounds, but gained a pound back, and stayed at 238 from March 29 – April 19, and then I gained two more pounds, which I’ve since lost, which brings us to the present, where I’m back to weighing 238.

All that is a lot of jibber-jabber that can be boiled down to the simple fact that in the past 3.5 months, I’ve stayed within a five-pound range.  That’s one long plateau!  On one hand, it’s a little frustrating, because generally speaking, I’m busting my balls to lose weight, and I’m not really doing it.  But on the flipside, Holy Shit!  I haven’t succumbed to the difficulties and given up, or taken a few days or weeks off and seen my weight shoot up 10 pounds.  That’s something to be proud of, and I’m very proud of that.  There’s that saying: When the going gets tough, the tough get going, and that’s exactly what I’ve done.

This bodes well for whenever I reach my goal weight, whatever that may be (it’s still TBD), because then I have to transition from weight loss to weight maintenance, and winter/spring 2011 has shown me that I’m capable of weight maintenance.  These 3.5 months have been good practice for the rest of my life.

I’m ready to keep losing – I’m 18 pounds away from my next (but possibly not final) goal weight, and these past two weeks, where I’ve posted losses, is a good foundation to build on.  And you know what?  I’ll say it.  I’m proud of this post, which marks a shift in thinking about my plateau.  And for those two reasons, I say…

…Keep it up, David.

10 Responses to Chart Update and Collage

  1. Dacia says:

    Great job! Your determination is inspiring and you are exactly right- it is great practice for maintenance.

  2. claudia says:

    i’m proud of you too- you gotta take each pound when you can get them. setbacks suck, but they are part of it, i guess (they can be a good motivator, that’s for sure)

  3. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Only thing to say is how proud of you I am!! Keep it up, David!

  4. Laura says:

    Another perspective: that is one long plateau, OR, that is a great lession and giant step forward in learning what it takes to maintain and stabilize your weight! Staying within 5 lbs over a course of months is an accomplishment in itself. (from the mouth of the queen of weight swings) :) xoxo

  5. Will says:

    Great job just keeping it off is a amazing job and losing is a great bonus I have been trying to maintain a 140 loss for a year now and it is not easy

  6. Reinaldo says:

    Just keep at it! Eventually, for body will listen. Or we’ll make it listen.

  7. Culstuff says:

    Nice one David, so proud of you. Well done. I had to go clothes shopping today for a wedding, I hate clothes shopping…..why????? All the mirrors in the dressing room that showed what I’ve RE gained having last 3 stone last year…….I hate it so much……I know I have it in me, but i am finding it so so hard to go back to losing the weight……You are an inspiration though and I am sticking to my cycling, so hopefully the food will follow!!!! WELL DONE YOU!!!!!!!
    V

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

