Sweatin’ 5 and Workout Progress Report

A great big heartfelt Thank You to everyone that send me messages yesterday via comment, Facebook, Twitter, email, telegram, Morse code, smoke signals, and Pony Express.  You always give me so many wonderful things to think about – and they’re always the things I tend to conveniently forget about when I’m feeling down, like I was yesterday.  It’s appreciated.  It’s always appreciated.

I’m happy to report that I’m feeling better today.  I ate well yesterday and I have another good food day planned (that will end to a trip to the store so I can stock up on some badly-needed fruits and vegetables).  Last night, I displayed some workout versatility that I’m happy about.  I intended to go to the gym after work, and I did.  I drove all the way there, parked, and got my gym bag out of the backseat.  But my gym bag seemed light… so before heading inside, I rooted through it, and that’s when I realized I forgot yesterday morning to throw in my gym shoes.  D’oh!  Since I was wearing shoes that weren’t gym appropriate, I cursed under my breath a few times and headed home.

The plan was to run inside, grab my shoes, and turn around and leave again, but that’s not what happened.  I also got my mail, opened my mail, put some dishes in the dishwasher, sent some emails… then a friend called, and I talked to them for a little bit, then I turned on the TV to set something on my TiVo, and then I watched an hour or television.  I very easily could have called it a day and not exercised, but I turned my evening around, moved some furniture out of the way, and popped in a DVD that’s sittin’ on my shelf:

It has been a long time since I’ve done “Sweatin’ to the Oldies 5″ (you can buy it here).  The last time I did it was on Saturday, November 27, 2010 (wow, blog archives sure do come in handy!).  It was in Colorado, and my sister Sarah did it with me.  Prior to that, I hadn’t done it in 6 months or so… so I think it’s safe to say that this is the second time I’ve done it in a year.  It’s a lively, energetic workout – there’s 10 songs, and it’s about 50 minutes of cardio dance.

My relationship with Richard Simmons is all because of “Sweatin’ to the Oldies 5″ – he was booked to be a guest on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” to promote this DVD, and that’s how I met him (click on The Story So Far at the top of the page to learn more).  Doing this workout last night, in my living room, took me back to January 2010, when I first met Richard, and I got to thinking about where I was back then.  I was 402 pounds.  I was depressed.  I felt overwhelmed because I didn’t think I’d be able to make the changed necessary to lose weight.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been feeling similarly.  I don’t weigh 402 pounds anymore – you can just rearrange the digits, like one of those games on “The Price Is Right,” because now I weigh 240.  But the plateau and recent weight gain has certainly been depressing and overwhelming.  When I first did “Sweatin’ to the Oldies 5″ well over a year ago, I was ready for a change, and I didn’t even know it.  What’s different now?  Now I know I need to make changes: changes that will focus me, motivate me, reinvigorate me, challenge me.  Time to bust off this plateau, lose those three pounds I’ve gained back in recent weeks, and lose more beyond that.

This morning when I woke up, I took a look at my calendar, where I notate every workout that I complete.  Now that it’s May, I thought I’d do some number crunching, because I love statistics, and share with you some facts and figures from January-April (the first third of 2011):

  • January 2011:  Worked out 27 out 0f 31 days (87%), including 6 classes at Slimmons.
  • February 2011:  Worked out 23 out of 28 days (82%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes.
  • March 2011:  Worked out 25 out of 31 days (81%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 4 Boot Camp Classes.
  • April 2011:  Worked out 20 out of 30 days (66%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes.
  • TOTALS:  For the first third of 2011, I worked out 95 out of 120 days – 79%, including 21 classes at Slimmons and 10 Boot Camp Classes.

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Sweatin’ 5 and Workout Progress Report

  1. Dacia says:

    Hi! I stumbled onto your blog today and I am so glad that I did. You seem like an amazing person who has accomplished alot over the past year. I plan on reading through some of your posts to help motivate me to get where you are today. Thanks for sharing your story!

  2. I’m feeling giddy again after reading your post! For me, it’s all about Richard SImmons’ Party Off the Pounds. Someday I want to thank him for helping my change my life through that DVD. I’ve just decided that I’ll ‘party off the pounds’ today. =)

    Also, check you out! The workouts have been fantastic through the first part of the year! Keep it up, David!

  3. I’m going to compile a similar report of my workouts. I keep track of minutes, but I’m trying to move beyond that into more intensity.

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    So glad you are feeling better!! Keep it up David, one day at a time!!!

  5. Lanae says:

    David I am so glad you’re better today. I think there is something in the air, so to speak, because many that I know (including me) are going through a blue funk. I am taking today as a mental health day to search for my new attitude. Reading that you’ve found yours inspires me. Thanks!

  6. Culstuff says:

    You are putting me to shame……well done to you, KEEP IT UP…..V

  7. Nurse Karen says:

    You’re retraining your brain away from stinkin’ thinkin’. Proud of You, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

