Pulling Myself Back On The Wagon

So.  Just to catch everyone up… yesterday, I felt like I was getting dragged behind my wagon, nearly ready to fall off the wagon altogether.

Today, I feel like I have two firm grips on the wagon, and I’m in a great position to continue pulling myself up and out the dirt and dust.

Yes, that’s an improvement!

I’d say today was a successful day.  More successful than the past few days.  Here’s why:

  • I went to the gym after work, and did the exercise I was planning on doing.  Almost exactly.  The intended workout was going to be 30 minutes of weights, then 30 minutes of arc trainer, and then abs.  I ended up doing 25 minutes of weights before jumping on the arc trainer (because one opened up, and I had to claim it before someone else did).  I burned well over 600 calories on the arc trainer, then did my sit-ups (about 100 of them), and walked out of the gym feeling good.  I take that back – I felt great.
  • I ate much better.  I ate all the veggies I brought along for the day (the uneaten broccoli and cauliflower from the day before, bell pepper, and yellow squash), and supplemented it with proteins (beans, tofu, a little grilled chicken) from the salad bar at the cafeteria near my office.
  • Snacking was curtailed.  I didn’t go completely snack free – I had 8 saltine crackers mid-afternoon, and a few pieces of candy, too.  A big improvement over Monday.

Oh, and there another small morning snack that made its way into my mouth.  “Snack” might be too generous a word – it was a sample.  My new friend Maggie, with whom I share an office, made…

…Kale chips!  I tried a couple (for the first time ever):

Basically, you can take kale, which is a dark leafy green, rip it up in pieces, drizzle them with a little olive oil and salt, and bake ‘em for about a half-hour, and they crisp up and taste like potato chips, except for that they’re not potatoes, they’re kale (which is a nutritional powerhouse)!

Maggie was inspired to make kale chips by Gwyneth Paltrow, who was recently on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” and showed Ellen how to make them:

I’ve eaten kale before, at restaurants and such, but I’ve never bought it before.  I think I’ll have to pick some up next time I’m at the store!

Before I wrap this up, I just want to thank all of you that posted such wonderful, supportive comments yesterday.  My tendency, despite knowing better, is to gravitate towards thinking that I’m on this road to health all by myself, so thank you for reminding me, for the 10,000th time, that I’m not.  Keep it up, readers, and…

…keep it up, David!

9 Responses to Pulling Myself Back On The Wagon

  1. Crystal says:

    So what did the Kale chips taste like? I have wanted to try them for years and now that I have moved to the south Kale is one of the easiest to find veggies. I was thinking of picking some up and giving it a try but I am not sure if my family will enjoy them or not.

  2. Lanae says:

    I’ve heard about kale chips but thought you had to have a dehydrator so I’m excited to hear you can do them in the oven! Oh and bravo David for the good day yesterday!

  3. tin says:

    hello david! im new here and im soooo lucky i found your site! yeeeyy you really helped me alot inspired me! i was searching for a really healthy snack because i tend to eat all the time while learning ( since its almost the only thing i do i eat a lot of unhealthy foods) good to know i can substitute this to potato chips! <3

  4. Marcy Fabian says:

    Hi David! I seen this on the Ellen Show and forgot about it till now!Gwyneth Paltrow made me interested in her cooking. Something different… I will be getting her book.I can’t wait to try the Kale chips! If you say there good then they have to be!Glad you back on track David.It’s fun trying different foods. KeepItUpDavid!Thanks for putting video up with Ellen Show and Gwyneth!:)

  5. missmarisol says:

    I’m gonna get my kale on soon. I want to introduce more veggies into my diet and recently started roasting cauliflower which is delish.

  6. Sonya says:

    David,

    The Kale chips are good.I tried them at a local outdoor market and they taste pretty good. The one’s I had tried had some kind of cheddar cheese flavoring, which made them taste yummy. I’d love to try some again.The video makes it look really easy to make.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

