Oddly-Colored Veggies, Part Four

I’m such a dope.  I’ve spent 32 years on this planet thinking there’s a thing called a radish, and it’s a radish, and it tastes like radish, and if you want a radish, get a radish, because it’s a radish.

Turns out, there are varieties of radishes.  Who knew? I learned this not from a book or a website or a vegetable guru who holds court in a temple atop a mountain, but from strolling the produce section at Whole Foods.

A few weeks ago, my eyeballs grew 20 times their size and burst forth from their sockets, cartoon-style, when I saw Easter Egg Radishes at the store.  Holy crap, I thought, radishes come in other colors? My radish worldview instantly expanded from quite narrow to wide open in a matter of seconds (and just weeks after finding other oddly-colored veggies, like orange cauliflower and purple and white carrots).

Little did I know that the radish world wasn’t finished surprising me just yet.  I’ve now had the regular red radishes, as well as pink radishes, purple radishes, and white radishes… and now there’s a new color to add to the list, because the last time I was at Whole Foods, I bought…

BLACK RADISHES!

They are the blackest vegetable I’ve ever seen.  They’re slightly bigger than red radishes.  I gave them a wash and cut off the ends, like I do with every radish.  I was extremely curious what color the flesh was… any guesses?

Ta-da…. It’s white!

I trimmed off a slice so I could sample it:

I put it in my mouth, chewed twice, and promptly spit in out into the sink.  Gross.  While it has the unmistakable radish flavor, it’s woody and gritty and disgusting.  A quick search on the interwebs turned up a few websites that say you should treat black radishes like you would turnips (so, um, they have to be cooked), although I did stumble upon a few recipes that call for it raw and grated, along with carrots and cucumbers, in a slaw-type dish.  Have any of you cooked with black radishes before?  What did you make?

More online research is definitely needed before I figure out the fate of my black radishes, but I don’t have time for it right now, because…

…I found yet another radish variety.  This time, it’s not the color that’s different, it’s the shape.  These guys are called FRENCH RADISHES!

I found them at Whole Foods too, and each French radish was wearing its own little beret, and enjoying a mime performance over by the croissants.

They’re the same red color as standard radishes, but they’re more cylindrical than bulb-like – they remind me of bullets.  So after I separated them from the greens, I pulled out the leftover bullets from my February firing range excursion, so I could illustrate the comparison:

I can’t tell which are the bullets, and which are the radishes, can you?

Once I trimmed off the ends, I realized that French radishes are easily stackable:

FIVE HIGH!  Just remember, ladies and gentlemen, when you see a radish-stacking challenge on Minute to Win It, that you saw it here first.

I popped an entire radish in my mouth, and it tasted just like a standard radish, although perhaps with slightly less radish flavor – which isn’t a bad thing, because a radish is a potent little sucker.

Before I go, I have one more picture to share.  My friend Alix, knowing my interest in oddly-colored vegetables, sent me this picture today while she was grocery shopping: purple, green and orange baby cauliflowers, all available for purchase at the Ralph’s near her house:

Have you seen any oddly-colored vegetables in your neighborhood supermarket?  Email me pictures at keepitupdavid@gmail.com!

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Oddly-Colored Veggies, Part Four

  1. Janet says:

    You surprised me there, I also didn’t know there were black radishes. But I am only at the beginning of healthy cooking, or cooking althogether. Living alone sort of keeps the necessity of cooking somewhat low, at least for me. Thanks for the information. I will try to put some radish into my daily salad from now on. ;) Keep it up.

  2. Lanae says:

    I want to cook purple cauliflower! No black radishes for me. I’m too visual with my food and that just didn’t look appealing. I have to say, David, you are entertaining! Thanks for sharing and I will be on the lookout for different colored veggies.

  3. Laura says:

    Love the radish-bullet comparison photo! Maybe you could trim one end of the radishes to a little bit of a point to really hammer that comparison home? :)

  4. Marcy Fabian says:

    Hello David …My word…So many colours (Black Radishes)I thought I saw it all but I guess not lol …think I’ll stick with my Red for now.But now the Cauliflowers would try.You definitely make veggies look interesting…Good Photo’s KeepItUpDavid :)

  5. Good grief David! It just keeps getting better. The black radishes seem kind of gross, but to be fair, I still don’t know if I like radishes as an adult or not. I do, however, know that one day in the next week or so, I’m heading back. And I’m going to make my way into my local Whole Foods in NYC. And someone is going to have hell to pay if I can’t find any cute, colorful veggies!!!!! (Okay, not really, but I do hope to find some adorable veggies.)

    For now, I’m going to enjoy m regular old veggies…le sigh…

  6. Jeff Shelby says:

    What a fun post! I love your tower of French radishes!

  7. I also love the French radish tower! I love radishes (they are the secret ingredient in my “Super Salsa”!) and have to admit I got a little excited when I saw those black ones! By the way, I love the way you write, and though I don’t comment very often, I am always reading! Keep it up David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

