Purge Update / Week of Workouts

I’m happy to report that my mental purge the other night was quite successful.  I woke up yesterday feeling a lot stronger, and reading your amazing comments and thoughts as they trickled in throughout the day helped me immensely.  I had a really good food day, too, which was nice.  Oh, and I had to tackle a new assignment at work, and had evening plans (more on them later), so there really wasn’t much time for my wandering mind.  I got home last night around 10:30 or so, and ended my good day by catching up on a few favorite shows on my TiVo.  I also made an executive decision to hold off on writing a new blog post until today.

One of the elements that made my Shitty Sunday so shitty was that I didn’t rally to get some exercise in.  So, in the spirit of focusing on the positive and not dwelling on the negative, I thought I’d remind myself of all the exercise I have done lately.  It’s been a couple weeks since I did a Week of Workouts post – I’m due!

Let’s go back about a week or so…

Tuesday, 3/22/11: Before work: 45 minutes on the elliptical.  After work:  Craig’s boot camp class, which involved lovely devices called DynaBands.

Wednesday, 3/23/11: A boot camp class at my friend Chris’s gym.  You can read about both boot camp classes at the end of this post.

Thursday, 3/24/11: 50 minutes on the elliptical.

Friday, 3/25/11: Planned Rest Day.

Saturday, 3/26/11: I took Richard Simmons’ class at Slimmons.  Today’s theme was Rock’n’Roll music, and Richard was in full KISS makeup.  Wanna see for yourself?  Check out this YouTube video (which you can see me in):

Sunday, 3/27/11: Unplanned Rest Day.

Monday, 3/28/11: 50 minutes on the elliptical.

Tuesday, 3/29/11: Craig’s boot camp class.  For this class, Craig set up stations around the classroom, and we rotated through them, doing different exercises for 1 minute at each one.  I was sore after, and the next morning.  I love when I’m sore – for me, it’s a reminder that I really accomplished something.

Wednesday, 3/30/11: Last night, I met my friend Tavi at the pool.  Tavi hadn’t swum laps for exercise since his freshman year in high school, and wanted to give it a whirl again.  We did 1,000 yards to warm up (200 free, 200 IM, 200 kick, 200 pull, 200 IM), then did two 500s freestyle.  Then Tavi challenged me to see who could swim farther underwater without coming up for air, and I’m a competitive sonofabitch, so I took him up on it.  We tied – we both made it the entire length of the pool.  Add in a few more lengths for cooldown, and my total yardage was 2,150 yards.  This was the first time I’ve had a workout partner in the pool since I began incorporating swimming into my routine in December, and I really enjoyed it.  Tavi did, too, and just texted me, in regards to swimming, “I want more!”

The pool that I go to (see pictures in this post) is in a park that also has a few baseball diamonds, and, as luck would have it, a bunch of friends had a softball play-off game on one of the fields last night, so after we were done in the pool, Tavi and I wandered over to cheer them on.  It was a nice way to end the day.

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Purge Update / Week of Workouts

  1. Laura says:

    Go David! Loved the glimpses we catch of you at Richard’s class. Can’t help but comment that Richard’s leopard print tights and dog collar really make the outfit. Its full Kiss makeup… and so much more.

  2. Sheilah Lowe says:

    You’re sounding good! Keep it up, David!!

  3. Love this post…happy to see that you’re feeling better today!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

