A Much Better Monday

Just as so many of you predicted in your comments, emails, tweets, and messages, today turned out to be a whole new day.  Go figure!  My really shitty Sunday ended, and was followed, as Sundays often are, by a Monday.  While many Mondays can stink for their own reasons, mine turned out to be pretty good, and a vast improvement over my Sunday.  Here are the things that contributed to my much better Monday:

1) You. So many of you came out of the woodwork to offer support and guidance, and sent love and good vibes my way.  I read every comment and email, and appreciated every one of them.  So, thank you.  What a network I have!

2) Richard Simmons. He never fails to make me laugh, and while I didn’t see him in person today, I watched his new video.  Earlier this month, he flew to New Zealand, and shot the new in-flight safety video for Air New Zealand, and it’s the funniest safety demonstration I’ve ever seen.  Have you seen it yet?  Take a look.  Fans of The Amazing Race, keep your eyes peeled for the Phil Keoghan cameo!

3) Scream 4 Trailer. I love the Scream movies, and in a few weeks, the fourth one will be released.  I can’t wait!  Today I watched the trailer for Scream 4 for the first time – it looks terrifyingly fantastic!  As an added bonus for me, it was filmed in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where I lived for 5 years, so I’ll be on the lookout for familiar locations.  Have you seen the trailer yet?

4) Batman. A good friend of mine (I’m going to protect his anonymity, as he’s rather private) read yesterday’s post and emailed me a quote from, of all places, a Batman movie:

Alfred Pennyworth: Why do we fall sir? So we might learn to pick ourselves up.
Bruce Wayne: You still haven’t given up on me?
Alfred Pennyworth: Never!

Although I’ve seen all the Batman movies, I couldn’t remember which one it’s from, and my friend had to remind me it’s from Batman Begins, Christopher Nolan’s 2005 movie that featured Christian Bale, for the first time, as the Caped Crusader.  Then he sent me the clip from the movie that features the quote (it’s at the very end):

I muttered “Never!” in my best Michael Caine accent under my breath for the rest of the day.

5) New Music. I bought a song for my workout playlist that I love.  It’s “Stereo Love” by Edward Maya and Vika Jigulina.  It’s not brand-new music, but it is brand-new to me.  I’d embed a video here, since I’ve already embedded three others in this post, but I couldn’t find one on YouTube that was embed-able (is that a word?).  But go to Youtube, after you finish reading this post of course, and search “Stereo Love,” and it’ll be the top result.

6) Me. I saved the best for last.  The thing that most improved my attitude today were my own actions.  I ate really well.  I went to the gym after work (and listened to the above song about 3 times on the elliptical) while yelling out the answers to the Wheel of Fortune puzzles.  Then I indulged in a little retail therapy, at Whole Foods.  It’s been a while – months, perhaps – since I’ve shared my produce purchases, but I lined it all up on the counter tonight.  Check out what’s new in my refrigerator!

Let’s see – starting from top left, and going clockwise, there’s celery, a cantaloupe, baby carrots, a mini-watermelon, mushrooms, bananas, asparagus, a container of pre-cut broccoli and cauliflower, strawberries, a starfruit, zucchini, green grapes, cameo apples, yellow carrots (read more about them here), Persian cucumbers, red bell pepper, roma tomatoes, red bartlett pears.

Here’s a closer look at the starfruit.  I’ve never bought one before, and have no idea how to eat it, but that’s what the internet is for.

Don’t you worry – I’ll definitely share my thoughts on this guy when I eat it!

OH – and that’s not it!  There are two items I didn’t include in the photograph, because I’m so flippin’ excited I just had to keep them a secret for now.  I’ll let you in on the secret soon enough.

Now to figure out what I’m going to eat tomorrow!

Keep it up, David!

12 Responses to A Much Better Monday

  1. Trinity says:

    David I am so glad to hear that your spirits have been lifted! Retail therapy is a great option to get ya in a better mood every time :) Also your determination and the positive things you did to stay on track. The journey you have been on is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change. Your doing an awesome job of finding the real you and I commend you on all your hard work. This is a little blunt but one of my favorite quotes is “Shit makes gardens grow” ;)

  2. So glad to hear Monday was a better day for you, David! I sure like seeing that “Keep it up, David!” tag back at the end of your post, too. :)

  3. Marcy Fabian says:

    DONE&DONE…Sunday is over then came your Monday of new ways a new beginning.That was a good clip of Richard,if we could bottle his energy & spirit we’d all be RICH lol.As per *Stereo Love* never heard that song-Wonderful-going to put that one on a C.D. for work out music.As for the Star Fruit..very different can’t wait for you to tell us what’s it like.Your Blogs are so interesting and inspiring :) KeepitupDavid !!!P.S.Bat Man (Never give up) Words all should live by! :)

  4. Lanae says:

    Bravo David! Great rebound from a shitty day. Sounds like you’ve got it together and are moving on and keeping it up. Good for you. I must say, I absolutely love Trinity’s quote – “shit makes gardens grow”! Thats my new mantra for this week! Can’t wait to hear about the Star Fruit!

  5. Pat says:

    Hell with Batman. Captain America Summer ’11 !!

  6. Su says:

    Way to go on the SS Recovery! ;)
    And congrats on your first star fruit! The scientific name is Karambola. No matter what you call it, they are yummy! The one you’ve purchased looks fairly ripe, but they are better (sweeter and juicier) as they turn more yellow to almost an orange yellow. When they begin to develop brown spots along the ridges, they are getting overripe.
    Just wash and eat! Slice them to see the pretty star shape. Can eat the skin and all. There are tiny seeds to avoid (but they won’t kill you if you ingest any).
    They also make terrific juice because of their high water content.
    Can’t wait to hear how you like it!

  7. I think Dave it’s especially hard to not beat the crap out of ourselves when we take a few steps off the path we’ve been on for so long. I mean we should have this under control by now right? Everyone is looking to us to find the motivation to continue but how in the hell can we motivate when we feel deflated and can’t get out heads out of a cereal box (for me its just about shoving whatever I can in my mouth).

    One thing I’ve learned on this journey is that as hard as it is to admit getting off the path those coming behind me are really good at catching me and setting back right where I need to be. You my friend are a force to be reckoned with and writing about Sunday and coming back to fight again on Monday makes you human.

    For that I appreciate you!

  8. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Just read Sunday’s post. So sorry you had a rough one. But it sounds like your spirit has refreshed itself and you’re back on track. Enjoy your fruits and veggies and keep it up, David!!!

  9. Kelly B says:

    Love the attitude! I really enjoyed the quote from Batman. NEVER! Awesome!

  10. Nurse Karen says:

    Dancing a Happy Dance for you!

  11. Sandra says:

    Go David! Go David! Go David! If we never fail, we won’t appreciate our successes…and there lies the lesson. Keep taking care of the inside and the outside will shine all the more…You deserve to be strong of mind and body…learn to enjoy your self and make time to share with others…Always here for you Sandy

  12. Heather Kaye says:

    I love you so much David! Glad to hear this week started off better than your Sunday. Miss you a lot!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

