Do I Look Like Taylor Lautner?

In January, a few days after my appearance on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” aired, my friend Debbie sent me an email saying that someone had posted a comment YouTube saying that I look like Taylor Lautner.  What the person, whose user name is “chuuchiee”, actually said was:

From a long distance, David looks a bit like Taylor Lautner.

Then, when my episode was rebroadcast a few weeks ago, someone named “Cecy J.” posted a comment on the Ellen website, saying:

Great Job David!!! Awesome and Inspiring!!  P.S. Anyone noticed that he kinda resembles Taylor Lautner??? Just saying.

When I heard about the first comment, I laughed it off.  Sure, I took it as a compliment, since, after all, Taylor Lautner is a huge Hollywood heartthrob that gives girls a tendency to shriek and go weak in the knees.  And, I noted that the compliment had conditions: I only looked a bit like him from a long distance.  So, Taylor and I could stand together at the end of a football field, and you could stand at the other end, and just try to tell us apart!

After I saw the second comment, however, I got curious.  Do I look like Taylor Lautner?  I hadn’t considered if there was any truth to the comparison… until now.

Before I get to the side-by-side photos, I thought I’d help out the readers who live on the moon or under the sea or, for some other reason, don’t know who Taylor Lautner is.  I did my research, and found out that the two of us actually have a few things in common:

  1. We were both born in Michigan (Taylor in Grand Rapids, me in Pontiac).
  2. I love sharks, and Taylor starred in the 2005 film The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl in 3-D.
  3. We’ve both appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine in a wet t-shirt.

Okay, so 2 is a stretch, and 3 is a flat-out lie, but still, we’re both native Michiganders.  Taylor, Madonna, and I should start a club!

Taylor is best-known for playing Jacob Black in the Twilight movies – a role that made him a star in the dreams of millions of teenage girls worldwide.  Last year, he was #2 on Glamour magazine’s list of “50 Sexiest Men of 2010,” and he was also #4 on People magazine’s “Most Amazing Bodies” list.  He’s reportedly worth over $30 million – not too shabby for a 19-year-old.  That’s right, he’s nineteen.  And not even “almost twenty” – he’ll be 19 until next February!

What I really like about Taylor is that he works hard.  After making the first Twilight movie, the producers considered re-casting the role of Jacob Black, since in between the first and second movies, Jacob supposedly bulks up and becomes a werewolf (I haven’t read the books and have only seen one of the movies, so pardon me if my Twilight trivia isn’t exactly right), and they thought Taylor might be too scrawny to play the bigger, beefier Jacob.  So Taylor set out to prove them wrong, and after wrapping production of the first movie, he hit the gym, and he hit the gym hard.  He ended up gaining 30 pounds of muscle in a year.  According to the December 2009 issue of Men’s Health, the 5’10” Taylor went from 140 pounds to 170 pounds, all in muscle mass.  Impressive! (When I first read that, I thought, ‘Cool! I’ve lost more weight than the old, scrawny Taylor, and am only 5 pounds away from losing the new, beefcake Taylor!’  See more fun weight loss comparisons here.)

Ready for some photographic evidence to judge for yourself?

Here you go.  Taylor is on the left, and I’m on the right – just so nobody’s confused!

Oh, but let’s not forget that we may only look alike from a distance, so maybe you should look at smaller photos:

You could even step a few feet back from your monitor to increase the distance.

Since I like to be thorough, here’s some profile pics:

After spending hours scouring the interwebs for Taylor pictures, taking photos of myself, and writing this post, I stand by my initial gut reaction, which is to be flattered, although I don’t see the similarity myself.  But I open the floor (and the comments section) to you:  so, what do you think?

I’ll say this much: I don’t think I’ve ever been compared to a hot piece of 19-year-old Hollywood man-candy before, so…

Keep it up, David!

22 Responses to Do I Look Like Taylor Lautner?

  1. ragemichelle says:

    Hey David..you know, I wouldn’t have made that connection, but now that you mention it..you do look a little bit like him!

  2. From the front views… absolutely no way, YOU are way better looking than Taylor. I have to admit though, the profile side-by-sides… there really IS a likeness! I keep going back and looking over and over again! Wow!

  3. sara Rivett says:

    You have better hair. That’s a fact. the photo of you from the photo shoot that was first in your Photos! Part Two Post you look most like him second the one above from the side. The angle of your jaw is quite similar as is your profile. head on unfortunately you have completely different face shapes. So considering those factors Yes you do look similar even from close up) however not enough to pursue a career as a Hollywood body double. That could be a new goal though! So Keep it up David! (btw I’m a 286 lb mother of two from Canada have been reading your blog for a few months and am impressed and inspired by your travel from where you were to where you are. I used to be a model and now I never feel pretty, reading your blog gives me hope for myself, Thank you David.)

    • David says:

      Here’s the other thing preventing me from becoming his body double… I’m 6 inches taller than him! Ha! Thanks for a great comment, and I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying the blog!
      -D

  4. Melissa says:

    I agree with Laura. I can kind of see a resemblance in the profile shot, but not so much in the front views. Someone posted recently on my blog that they though I resembled Amanda Tapping from Sanctuary. I don’t see the resemblance at all other than maybe hair color. LOL

    http://is.gd/8jtui6

    • David says:

      I see the resemblance a little bit, maybe – but I’ve only seen 1 picture of her – the one you linked – and have never heard her name before, and barely have heard of Sanctuary! I think what helps fuel my opinion that I don’t look like Taylor is that I have seen him walk and talk. Have a great weekend, Mel!

      • Melissa says:

        I had never heard of her either and had to Google her. LOL I’m usually pretty good at knowing names of celebrities because I worked in the entertainment industry for about 10 years and had to keep up with things. I guess the habit has finally been broken. ;)

        Have a great weekend yourself! Hopefully we can dodge the rain they are predicting. I don’t know about you, but I’m really for some SoCal sun again! :)

  5. Shannon says:

    I had actually thought that you resembled TL. However, I thought that mostly after viewing your new pics that your friend had taken.

  6. chris says:

    I think the bigger question would be “Does Taylor Lautner look like you?” You were here first.
    From a completely objective (i.e. I don’t know you so have no emotional bs to wade through) No.
    Then again, I think he looks like a woman…you look like a dude.
    Celebrate your maleness.

    • David says:

      Well said, Chris. I was here first – by 13 years! ‘Celebrate your maleness’ – well, there’s something for a t-shirt! Welcome to Keep it up, David!

  7. Heidi says:

    Yeah, I see it. (I agree with Laura though, you’re the more handsome.)

    Tom just walked by and said we should all get t-shirts that say “Team David.” This is only funny if you go to opening night of the Twilight movies (populated by “Team Edward” or “Team Jacob” shirt-wearers) to laugh at tweens’ hormones. Which, well, we do.

    • David says:

      “Team David” t-shirt = funny! Let’s make up 20 of them, gather some friends, and go to a taping of “The Price is Right.” I really want a new dinette set.

  8. Debbie says:

    I’m not a fan of Taylor’s squinty eyes and protruding forehead…but that’s just me.

    Haven’t you been on The Price is Right already?

    • David says:

      I’ve been once, about 8 years ago, but wasn’t called up onstage. It was a fun time, I went with my mom and sister. (They didn’t get called up either)

  9. tommy riles says:

    Absolutely from the profile. Fantastic. Team David.

  10. Okay, so…to be honest, I feel slightly dirty thinking either one of you are smokin’ hot, but I do. =0) You’re both very good looking though I don’t see a particular resemblance.

    That being said, you’re half a foot taller than him (best male feature in my opinion) and you know my name…so in my book that makes you hotter – not that there’s anything wrong with excess man candy. =0)

  11. Rizam says:

    NO! You dont resemble him at all !!!!
    I dont wanna be rude .. but i love that guy .. =/
    not that I hate you, I just dont want anyone else to be like him :P .. .
    But apart from that, i dont think u like him at all .. :D

  12. Anonymous says:

    Dear Hollywood Smokin’-Hot Eye Candy:
    You may remotely resemble what’s-his-name in profile, a wee bit in the lush lips, & head shape; other than that you are better looking, ’cause you don’t have squinty eyes, your nose is Just Right to the size of your face, your hair is gorgeous, and you are tall, with an open smile and demeanor which makes women want to rush into your arms and get hugged. I love the way you are so easy to welcome a person with affection. There is so much coldness in the world and you make it easier to bear with your sweetness. You’re also a great kisser. So there. Better start work on that electric fence around your home. The hoards will be a-knockin’ on your door begging for samples of David The Candy Man. Just Sayin’. Now don’t forget who loved you before your healthy transformation. I signed my name anonymous because I don’t want people to think I am lascivious. I can admire rare works of Art from afar, even if I can’t afford to have it in my home. ;-D

  13. In the second picture(side profile),you two almost looked alike.This is my first visit here,and losing 165 pounds is like WOW!!

  14. Sean says:

    Nah but u look like Blake griffin lol

  15. nati says:

    haha….come on be ur selveshe is way cuter n very different da u

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

