Orange Cauliflower

I recently blogged about discovering vegetables in unexpected colors after finding purple and yellow carrots at Whole Foods.  Well, now I get to post another blog about oddly-colored vegetables, because guess what I found the most recent time I went to Whole Foods?

ORANGE CAULIFLOWER!

Here’s a piece of it close-up:

It was just sittin’ there, in the produce section, near the broccoli and the zucchini, minding its own business.  I saw it, and had to buy it.  It cost $3 exactly – a little more than a head of standard white cauliflower, but not outrageous by any means.

I bought an entire head of it (which was the only way you could buy it), and was so intrigued when I got home, that I chopped it up immediately into florets, and in my excitement, forgot to take a picture of the entire head.  That’s two days in a row I’ve forgotten to document things for the blog (after my recent crockpot catastrophe) – what’s going on, David?  Keep that camera handy!

I had the perfect storage container for my orange cauliflower florets – a matching orange FridgeSmart Tupperware (which I’ve blogged about before here):

I’ve been munching on the orange cauliflower over the past few days – a handful here and there, all of it raw, and like the rainbow carrots, I can’t tell the difference, taste-wise, between this cauliflower and its common white cousin.

I just finished off the last of the orange cauliflower, piling it up on a plate as part of my lunch – which you can see in that first picture.  The sauce on the side is actually salad dressing:

This Bolthouse Farms Honey Mustard dressing is yogurt based, and 1 serving, which is 2 tablespoons (just about what I put on the plate), is 45 calories and 1.5 grams of fat.  Fantastic!  Honey mustard is one of my favorite dressings and dips, and I’m particularly fond of this brand.

So curious what bizarrely-colored vegetables I might stumble upon next!  Blue radishes?  Pink arugula?  I’ll keep my eyes peeled and my mind (and stomach) open.  And, as always, I’ll share whatever I find with you.

Keep it up, David!

10 Responses to Orange Cauliflower

  1. I wonder if that is natural of if they are experimenting with color to market to picky eaters. Maybe trying to fool us that the cauliflower is cheese flavored.

    If I see a blue vegetable then I will know we don’t have long as the alien colonization has started. :D

  2. Bonnie Rose says:

    Have you had red carrots?

  3. You and your strangely colored veggies are making me happy today! I was just at Whole Foods looking for rainbow carrots again…

  4. Crazy! Those wild colored vegetables are a riot. I remember I saw purple califlower at Whole Foods and was so shocked. Haha :)

  5. Donna says:

    Hi David I almost bought that brand of salad dressing recently but it is expensive. i am in awe of how many calories are in dressing. I was actually mixing 2 different dressings for my salad cuz one i didnt want to over do it on one of them so I also added another kind that only had 25 calories but I may pick up that brand of dressing here this weekend when I go grocery shopping. i need to check and see if we have a Whole Foods in the area but I’ve not seen one but i will look on line.

  6. Debbie says:

    Hey David. I’ve got a recipe for a yogurt dip if you want. I make it once in a while so I don’t really have measurements but I’m sure you can kind of do your own thing and make it taste good.

    Take a container of plain yogurt and strain it through a strainer with a bowl underneath until it is thick like sour cream. Add chopped dill, minced shallots, minced garlic, lemon juice, salt/pepper to taste. It’s a really good dip for raw veggies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 699 other followers

