Platinum Card AND Another Pummelo

I got a little something in the mail the other day – a Platinum card.  While I do have good credit, it’s not a new Visa or MasterCard – it’s from Casual Male XL:

I’ve been a long-time member of Casual Male’s Rewards program – basically, every time I spent a couple hundred bucks there, I’d get a gift certificate for $10 to use on my next visit.  As Casual Male XL was one of the two Big and Tall stores in my area, I was getting those gift certificates a couple times a year.  Now, it seems, they’ve targeted me for a bigger, better Rewards program.  Apparently my spending habits make me an ideal candidate for their Platinum Prestige Program – at no cost to me! There’s just one problem – I’m done with Casual Male XL.  I stopped shopping there about 6 months ago (read my open letter to them after shopping there for the last time), because after losing so much weight, I found I could shop pretty much anywhere I wanted, which, by the way, is an incredible feeling after not being able to shop at many places at all for so many years.

I still get, however, mailings from Casual Male XL, and I’m still technically a member of their Rewards program, and I still get their catalogs.  I get lots of Big & Tall catalogs, from a bunch of retailers.  One arrives, on average, about once a week.  For a while I was using them to create a little humor on the blog (read all the Big & Tall Catalog Model Drama installments by going to My Favorite Posts and scrolling down), but now, I’m just getting sick of them.  Here’s my current catalog collection (which I was holding on to in case I wanted to use them somehow for the blog):

Bye-bye catalogs!  You have a hot date with the recycle bin in your future.  I’ve also added to my to-do list calling each company and removing myself from their mailing list.  I’m done with big and tall!  Done!

Moving on…

Earlier today I ate my second ever pummelo.  Earlier this month, I documented, on this blog, how I went about eating the first one (which was a process, but completely delicious), and I got great feedback from some of you about how you love pummelos, and I also got a suggestion I wanted to try, from Reinaldo.

Reinaldo is a fitness blogger in Chile, who has lost a bunch of weight and writes about his process.  While Spanish is his native language, he blogs in English, which he taught himself – very impressive!  Check out his blog here.  He suggested eating a pummelo this way:

Easier way to eat them tip: just slice it! Like you would slice a tomato into little “wheels”. Then dig in into the fruit’s meat with your mouth, and discard the outer ring. Messier (because of the juice), but a lot more faster and fun.

I bought another pummelo last week and decided to give it a go.  Here’s the pummelo after I started cutting it into wheels:

But that picture doesn’t really give you any sense of scale, so here’s one wheel, with my hand in the picture, too:

That’s a big pummelo!  The first couple pieces I ate like Reinaldo suggested – digging into the flesh with my teeth, standing over my sink, letting the juices dribble down my chin.  So tasty!  But I wanted to enjoy the rest while watching TV (because I watch a lot of TV), so I took a few more slices, cut around the inside of the outer peel to separate the peel from the flesh, and cut out the little core, too:  I put them on a plate (don’t they look pretty?), and you can see the peels in the background:

In total, I’d say I spent 5 minutes chopping apart this pummelo, compared to, I don’t know, 15 minutes the first time around?  I love a good time saver, so thank you Reinaldo!  I’ll be enjoying many more pummelos this way, I’m certain of it!

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Platinum Card AND Another Pummelo

  1. nicolette atkins says:

    Is pummulo different from grapefruit? I always think they are interchangeable because in Afrikaans – my home tongue – POMELO is the word for grapefruit. I suspect it may have a Malay origin (the word I mean) becos so many Afrikaans food-words do. In the 1700s the Dutch India Company settled South Africa becos the needed a half-way station to provide fresh fruits and vegetables for sailors on their way to the East for the spice trade. Prevents scurvy. Big problem for sailors on long journeys before they figured out the fresh fruits and vegetables thing. Anyway, later the settlers in South Africa imported slaves from Malay and many of them were employed as cooks, bringing their terminology for fruits and vegetables that were exotic to the Dutch but grew well in South Africa with them. Another example…we call banana piesang. Malay cooking also had a huge impact on what is now regarded as South African cuisine. Lots of curry and cinnamon and meat dishes prepared with fruits like bananas and raisens etc. Hmmmmm delicioius. Anyway, here’s how I prepare a POMELO or grapefruit: take small sharp knife (sharp point and serated edge works best for me) and slice pomelo in half. Then slice around the pomelo just where the juicy part begins. Pare each pomelo segment from its casing with your knife. One little slice on each side of the segment works great — all in all takes me about 2 to 3 minutes. And voila, pomelo meat is ready to be scooped out with a teaspoon. Delicious. John’s family serves grapefruit segments with chopped avocado sprinkled with a little salt. I’m hungry now!

    • David says:

      WOW, Nicolette – LOVE the history lesson! Pummelo/Pomelo/Pommelo IS a different fruit than a grapefruit – they’re similar, but pummelos are bigger, have a thicker, spongier peel, and are a little less sour. I used to eat grapefruit in the method you described… it hadn’t occurred to me to try a pummelo that way! Looks like I’ll soon be bringing home my third pummelo!

  2. Meg says:

    Hey David, These are great with a little sprinkle of cinnamon! YUMMY. =P

  3. steven says:

    Your hands have gotten so much smaller! Keep it up, David!

  4. Lori says:

    Try using http://www.catalogchoice.org to remove yourself from those mailing lists. And congratulations on your weight loss!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

