Super Bowl Salad (Plus a Chart Update)

Yesterday afternoon I headed over to my cousins’ place for the Super Bowl.  We had decided, earlier in the week, that my contribution to our little family party would be a salad, so after going to Sherri’s Sunday morning class at Slimmons, I got to work on a super salad for the Super Bowl.

I decided to make a pretty traditional spinach salad, but I’d make it special by doing two things I normally don’t ever do: make my own dressing, and make my own croutons.  I can’t remember the last time I made an actual salad dressing, and I don’t think I’ve ever made croutons, but how hard can they be?  (This is what they call foreshadowing.)

I invented my salad dressing recipe, which was a Grapefruit Honey Mustard.  I juiced a grapefruit that I had plucked from Tavi’s tree, and added a few tablespoons of dijon mustard (I should have measured, for the recipe’s sake, but oh well), and a few tablespoons of honey.  I also threw in a teaspoon of poppy seeds, and three scallions.  After incorporating it all with a whisk, it was ready to go:

In addition to being delicious, this dressing is almost fat-free (that teaspoon of poppy seeds added 1 gram of fat, hence the ‘almost’).

For the croutons, I cut up 5 slices of sourdough bread, sprayed them with a little Pam – just enough to get some seasonings to stick – then started ransacking my spice rack:  I tossed in garlic salt, rosemary, oregano, thyme, and a little Mrs. Dash, then tossed the croutons a little bit, spread them out on a baking sheet, and popped them under the broiler to toast up.  Couldn’t be easier, right?  Well, here’s what happens when you leave croutons under the broiler for too long:

Not so tasty.  But since one of my cousins had specifically (although jokingly) requested croutons, and I didn’t want to have to stop at the store, I decided to salvage what I could.  That involved about fifteen minutes of cutting off a lot of burnt parts and tossing a lot of croutons in the trash altogether, but in the end, I was able to put together this presentable container:

I also hard-boiled some eggs for the salad, which went off without a hitch, unlike the last time I hard-boiled eggs, when I didn’t cook them enough.  I love Horizon Organic eggs – I think they may be my favorite eggs out there!

Oh, and I nearly forgot – here’s the salad itself:

That’s a whole lotta spinach, four hard-boiled egg whites (I didn’t use the yolks), cherry tomatoes, 1/4 of a red onion (thinly sliced), and mushrooms.  I forgot to take a picture at my cousins’ place of the finished product, but it looked like that, with dressing and croutons.  I’m sure you can imagine it.

The salad was a hit, and there weren’t any leftovers, although I wouldn’t have minded if there were, since it was a good salad!

Lastly, I don’t know why I haven’t blogged about this yet, but the other day I had a weigh-in, and I’m down another pound!  That puts my weight at 241 pounds, and my weight loss at 161 pounds.  Here’s my updated chart:

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Super Bowl Salad (Plus a Chart Update)

  1. that’s a great looking salad! I love the dressing idea – I will have to try that!

    Have a great week!

  2. Kathy says:

    YUM! Salads can be boring, but yours looks good; add on that delicious sounding dressing and it adds up to a big yum factor! You are doing great!

  3. Wow…great job on the salad…even the croutons. =) And great job losing another pound too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 699 other followers

