Goodbye, Clothes

The other day, I posted a great photo of me wearing my old winter jacket (Didn’t see it? click here).  In that post, I mentioned that I was cleaning out my closet – some early spring cleaning, if you will.  Today, I tackled my dressers.  I have a lot of clothes that I can no longer wear, because they’re too big, and I’m tired of lookin’ at them, I’m tired of them taking up space, I’m tired of mixing up the clothes that fit with that clothes that don’t…  I’m tired of all of it.  So I’m cleaning it all out, loading up the trunk, and donating them.

Wanna see all the clothes that are headed to the thrift shop?

I took an inventory, and here’s just some of the things included in that pile:

  • 1 winter jacket (in the foreground)
  • 12 short-sleeve t-shirts
  • 3 long sleeve t-shirts
  • 2 pairs of jeans
  • 7 pairs of casual pants
  • 2 pairs of dressy pants
  • 8 button-down shirts (of varying levels of dressiness)
  • 11 polos/collared pullovers
  • 3 sweaters

Here it is, bagged and ready for the trunk of my car:

Here’s the really cool thing:  Most of these clothes were actually purchased in the middle of last year – they were the first “skinny” clothes that I bought after dropping 70 or 80 pounds!  That means I’m onto, basically, my third wardrobe.  Wowsa!

It’s also the second major charity donation I’ve made since beginning this journey – in Mid-August, after I began purchasing the first round of smaller clothes, I cleaned house and got rid of about 75% of my wardrobe.  Here’s what that pile of clothes looked like:

Halfway through, I took a break to make some lunch.  It’s been a while since I’ve featured one of my salads on the blog, but since I got so much good salad stuff at Whole Foods yesterday, I thought I’d share today’s salad with all with you.  Here was my lunch:

In the mix:  mixed greens, green pepper, cucumber, radish, butter beans, beets, capers, 2 teaspoons soy bacon bits, and 2-3 teaspoons light Parmesan Asiago dressing.  It was a big salad – the photo doesn’t do justice to how deep that bowl is.  I also had an apple.

Breakfast was the same juice mix I’ve been making for the past few days, about 1 cup of cottage cheese, and 2 pieces wheat toast.

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to Goodbye, Clothes

  1. The salad looks amazing…and I’m on my third wardrobe now too..nearing the fourth..it’s so much fun. =)

  2. Zach Russell says:

    I need help. I just need ideas for what to eat, and how much to eat. Life is going nowhere right now, and I am a depressed eater. I eat whatever I want and in huge quanities. At this rate I am going to hurt myself. I weight 358.4 lbs, at age 25, standing right at 6 foot tall. All of my weight, ALL OF IT, is in my belly. My back hurts, shoulders, I am starting to have a hard time running short distances. I just woke up the other day and decided I need to stop wearing 4X polos. So do youhave any tips to get started?

  3. Mom says:

    Are you listing the clothes for charity and putting a value on them for a tax deduction? That’s what you have to do…..and sort of rummage prices.
    xoxo

  4. Denise Stutz Zolbert says:

    Way to pass it forward David! Looks like you have become quite the cook, that is the hardest part about eating healthy, always having the right stuff in the frig to make a good looking salad like that. Love a good salad!

  5. nanasu says:

    you really are inspiring! Kudos on the new clothes! and Kudos for donating!

  6. Claudia says:

    You’re awesome and such an inspiration. BTW your mom is so cute- she’s got your back- now do what she says and make sure you get the tax deduction receipt

    • David says:

      Ha! My mom taught me well. OF COURSE I inventoried everything and will staple it to the receipt when I drop it off! My mom didn’t raise no dummy! :-)

  7. PGK says:

    I like that the second round of clothes has so much more color and brightness. A physical representation of your new life, perhaps! :) Can’t wait to see then next round!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

