Day After Christmas

It’s been 5 days since I’ve last blogged… my apologies to anyone that stopped by hoping for something new!  It’s been a fantastic 5 days – lots of family and lots of fun, and Christmas as well!

I haven’t worked out this week as much as I would have liked.  I decided to make the 22nd a rest day, because my shoulder was acting up.  I have recurring pain in my shoulder – little flare-ups about once a month that stem from a rotator cuff tear earlier this year.  When I first started experiencing the flare-ups, I mistakenly thought I could push through the pain and work out like any other day, but nope, I can’t.  It only makes it worse.  On the 22nd, the pain was tolerable, and I knew I had to rest it instead of worsening it.

On the 23rd, I just didn’t make it to the gym.  My brother was in town, and we were sharing a car, and it just didn’t happen.  On the 24th, my shoulder was feeling great, and my sister came along with me to the gym, and together, we did 45 minutes on the crossramp elliptical and then some sit-ups.  I didn’t exercise on Christmas day – the gym was closed, and plus, it was a busy, family-filled day.   Earlier today my sister and I went back to the gym, and I did a more varied workout:  I ran a mile on the track to warm up, then did 23 minutes on the crossramp, followed by 35 minutes on the bike.

My eating during the week has been pretty good, with the exception of Christmas day.  The other days, I was mindful of proportions, and while I indulged in seasonal treats, I didn’t go overboard.  On Christmas day, I was grazing and munching all day long, and on lots of stuff I normally wouldn’t eat (or, at least, wouldn’t eat nearly as much of):  Cookies.  Nuts.  Fudge.  Baklava.  I got back on the wagon today.

I haven’t done a weigh-in since the 19th (1 week ago).  I know I’m up a couple pounds, and I’m okay with that – I just don’t need to know the specifics.  Tomorrow I’m off to Mexico – My sister’s birthday is in a couple days, and she planned a birthday trip for family and friends.  So I’m gonna wait until I get back to LA after the new year before I weigh myself again.  My goal is to stay even.  Oh – and I may or may not blog from Mexico… we shall see!

Now on to a few photos.   My sister brought to Michigan a shirt I had accidentally left at her place in Chicago the last time I visited her there, over the summer.  It’s a 4XL – the size I was wearing at my heaviest (and was still wearing when I visited her, as I had yet to do much shopping for smaller clothes, despite having lost around 85 pounds at that point).  It’s heading straight to Goodwill, but I thought I’d take a photo wearing it before sending it off:

Very tent-like – I love that!  I’m wearing XL shirts now, and earlier this month even bought a size Large hoodie!

I was given a new (and badly needed) wallet as a Christmas present, and tonight, I transferred everything from the old wallet into the new one:

I was able to toss a bunch of stuff during that process.  Most of it was old receipts and notes to myself, but there were also 2 things of note that I no longer need:

On the right is my Casual Male XL Rewards card.  Basically, I got a $15 gift certificate for every $200 or $300 I spent in the store (I forget which it is).   For the past 5 or 6 years, I was getting an average of 2 of those certificates a year.  But no more.  I no longer have to shop at a big and tall store, so my rewards card has a new home: in the trash can.  You can read about my final visit to Casual Male XL here – it’s one of my favorite blog posts!

On the top is my card for the local Bally Total Fitness gym that I joined when I arrived in Michigan on the 9th.  it was a great decision to join that gym – I went to it 13 times in 17 days, and since I only paid $20 for it, it divides out to only $1.54 a visit!  Those visits include taking 2 different classes (Step and Powerflex) and doing 6 swimming workouts, during which I swam a combined total of 12,250 yards.  That’s 490 total lengths of the pool, and 6.96 miles!

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Day After Christmas

  1. Tavi says:

    heating your shoulder will loosen up the muscles and tendons, but also increase swelling. So be sure to ice it after which will increase blood flow to that area. If a particular part of your body is cold, your blood rushes there to try and bring it up to warmer temperatures. so, heat ice heat ice. And if you’re up for some supplements, Here’s two: Glucosamine- great for your joints… I take it in liquid form a table spoon a day (and I get it at whole foods). also, collagen (it comes as a powder and I dissolve it in water) great for regrowing muscles, tendons, ligaments, also hair, nails, etc. Neither taste good, but both work extremely well! Just ask my rib!!!

  2. thebettylife says:

    Awesome! I love trying on old baggy clothes and seeing the difference. Betty x

  3. Nicolette says:

    Oh thank goodness you didn’t blog for 5 days. I didn’t get on my computer for about 2 weeks because my niece was visiting, Christmas was looming etc etc etc. So at least I am 5 blogs less behind and also have the solace that someone else’s routine is disrupted by the season. Makes me feel less guilty about all the things I have neglected, and probably will until after New Year’s. Have fun in Mexico. Plenty of time for the wagon when you get back.

  4. I love that tent you’re wearing! Hahahahaha. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

