Hot Tub Chat

I made it to the gym at 10:25am this morning, and was bummed to see the water aerobics class using the pool.  I didn’t bring any clothes to work out in, only my swimsuit.  Luckily, the water aerobics class was over at 10:30, and the pool emptied out.  I got in a great swimming workout:

  • 1000 yards warm-up (200 free, 200 IM, 200 kick, 200 pull, 200 IM)
  • 2 x 100 yards free at 80%, followed by 1 x 50 yard all-out sprint (250 yards total, and I did this 5x total, for a total of 1250 yards)
  • 250 yard cool-down (50 free, 200 IM)
  • TOTAL YARDS: 2500 yardsmy longest workout in this pool yet!

 

I forgot to notice what time I started or finished, so I don’t know how long I was in the pool, but my guess was close to an hour.

Then I got out of the pool, walked 4 feet, and got into the hot tub, as I’ve done as the end of most of my swimming workouts.  As I was getting into the hot tub, this guy – let’s call him Bert, because I didn’t learn his name and he looked like a Bert – says to me: “You look like you’ve lost a lot of weight.”

Well, isn’t Bert observant!  Me:  “Yep!”

Bert:  “How much have you lost?”

Me:  “I’m up to 155 pounds.  And counting.”

Bert:  “Did you have surgery?”

Me:  “Nope!”

Bert:  “I thought so.  I was looking for a scar when you getting in, and I didn’t see one.”

Bert went on to talk about how he’s scheduled for beriatric surgery in April.  “I can’t lose the weight any other way,” he says, “I just can’t do it.  I like watching TV.  I like eating.”   Bert asked me a few more questions about what I was doing, and I answered him, and in the course of talking with him, he revealed that his doctor had started him on a pre-surgery diet.  In 2 months, he had lost over 30 pounds, and then he said he fallen off the wagon a little bit.

I’m not going to judge anyone else’s decisions, but I will say that beriatric surgery scares me.  Ultimately, it’s good that Bert is taking the measures he needs to improve his health – he said he’s fighting diabetes and high blood pressure, among other things.  But losing 30 pounds in 2 months is nothing to sneeze at – it’s over 3 pounds a week!  I said it to Bert at the time, but I really want to put it out there again:  Keep on doing whatever it is you’re doing!  Keep it up, Bert!

I swung by the store after the gym and right in the middle of the produce section was a candy display.  You know, because when you’re shopping for pears and celery and bell peppers, you’d probably want gummi sharks and chocolate-covered pretzels nearby.  Memo to Kroger:  Keep your candy in the candy aisle!  I would have just walked by, except something caught my eye:

Candy corn and peanuts? I’ve never seen these two things mixed before.  Have you?  I can’t imagine it’d be terrible (I like both ingredients independently), but isn’t the texture strange?  Crunchy nuts and soft candy corn?  I just don’t get it.  Someone please explain it to me.  In the comments section.

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to Hot Tub Chat

  1. Lynn says:

    My Mom and Papa have made that mixture for YEARS during the Halloween and Thanksgiving season!!!! It’s really good!

  2. annie says:

    Kinda like butter toffee peanuts-different texture than the actual toffee peanuts which is just butter and sugar

  3. JoeBob says:

    “Hot Tub Chat”!??! What kinda blog is this!?!?!

  4. Heather Kaye says:

    Candy corn is gross, to me. So I can’t comment well on that. But I am wondering: how did he know that you had lost weight? I mean, why wouldn’t he think that you’ve always been at your current weight?

  5. Mom says:

    I was wondering the same thing as Heather, what was his clue that you had lost lots of weight?

  6. Donna says:

    Candy corn and peanuts go good together. You get what they call that sweet and salty taste. Just like you see the sweet and salty granola bars. Sweet and salty is good. But of course not good for you.

    • David says:

      Hey Donna! I’m sure I can find other things to hit the salty/sweet spot… and anything is good for me, in moderation, and if I plan for it… Welcome to Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

