12/19 Weigh-In

Those of you with good calendar sense have already figured out that today is no longer December 19th.  I’ve been busy the past day, and it’s taken me this long to share my good news:  Yesterday, I weighed myself on the scale at the gym (which previously had been the deliverer of very good news), and…

I’m down 2 more pounds! I now weigh 247 pounds, and have lost a total of 155.  If only I wasn’t 2,300 miles away, I’d update my chart (last seen here).  Alas, it will have to wait until I’m back in California.

I credit those 2 pounds to a fantastic week of exercise.  Finding and joining a gym for the two weeks I’m in Michigan was an excellent decision, and I love that I’ve been able to add swimming to my exercise rotation – it’s been a nice change, and that change has been invigorating!  I’ve also been working hard to stay on track with my eating, and I’ve enjoyed some indulgences because I planned for them, without ever falling completely off the wagon.

Yesterday, I had dinner with a longtime friend Molly, and her hubby Dan.  Molly made a delicious dinner – a pinto bean and corn salad:

Molly heated on the stove a can of pinto beans, a can of corn, and about 1/2 cup of salsa.  When it was heated through, she added scallions and diced tomatoes (diced by yours truly).  Then she served a couple scoops of the mixture over a bed of romaine (cut up and salad-spinned by yours truly) and added a few tablespoons of shredded pepper jack cheese and about 1/4 of an avocado.  Dan (his plate is upper right) added some tortilla chips to his, too.

If this recipe seems familiar, it’s because it is.  Molly left the recipe as a comment to a post on this very blog in October!  Here’s the post – scroll down to the comments section and see for yourself.  And check out her second salad recipe, in the same comment!

It’s been a good two days of exercise.  Saturday was a rest day, but on Sunday morning I was back at the gym, where I hopped in the pool.  Here’s what I did:

  • 800 warm-up (200 free, 200 IM, 200 kick, 200 pull)
  • Ladder (all free):  100, 200, 300, 400  – I intended to go back down the ladder to 100, but I was bored and tired, so I abandoned the ladder and moved on to:
  • 100 free – all-out sprint
  • 200 cool down
  • TOTAL YARDS: 2100 yards.

Then, today, I was back at the gym, where I did:

  • 1 mile jog warm-up around the track
  • 20 minutes toning with free weights
  • 30 minutes on the CrossRamp elliptical
  • 10 minutes ab work
  • 10 minutes of stretching at beginning and end

 

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to 12/19 Weigh-In

  1. Tavi says:

    glad to hear that you are stretching… cuz a happy muscle is a strong and long one! However, I recommend more than 10 min!!!

    PS. there are 1760 yards in a mile!

  2. Heather Kaye says:

    You had dinner with Molly. Ohhhhh!!! Wish I had been there. Miss you all so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

