Salad For 12

Get ready, salad fans – it’s my biggest salad yet!

My parents had 10 people over for dinner tonight, and my mom asked me to help prepare dinner.  Being the healthy eater that I am, I took on the salad, executing an idea that my mom picked out.

Here’s what I served:

It’s a roasted pear, walnut, and arugula salad!

I basically followed this Food Network recipe, although I cut a few corners and changed a few things.  First I cut 4 d’anjou pears (2 green, 2 red) in half and used a melon baller to scoop out the core.  I brushed the cut side with honey, and popped them in the oven at 375 degrees for 20 minutes (I roasted them earlier in the day, and let them cool completely before slicing them).  My mom really likes green leaf lettuce, so I added that to some arugula for the greens.  The recipe includes instructions on how to make your own dressing, but I just used bottled balsamic vinaigrette.  I also added one red pepper, sliced, for some color, and some shaved parmesan.  I did toast some walnuts, as the recipe says, and threw those in too.  Toasting nuts, by the way, is simple pimple: toss the nuts in a skillet – no need for oil or butter or Pam – and put them over low heat.  It only takes a few minutes, and they’re done when you start smelling them.  Their flavor is enhanced – it’s totally worth it.

I got a lot of compliments, and the biggest compliment was that at the end of the meal, most of it was gone:

I tried some of it too (making it a salad for 13, I suppose), and it was tasty!  I thought I over-dressed it, although since I’ve cut way back on dressing since I started dieting, I’m sure my definition of too-much-dressing is much lower than most people’s.

Now my parents and their friends are spread between three tables in three different rooms, playing bridge.  Since my mom spread bowls of nuts, M&Ms, and other chocolates across all three tables, I’m hanging out upstairs, avoiding the temptation.

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

