Workout Goal ACHIEVED!

I’ll start this post with a couple skyscraper photos.  Anyone know what buildings these are?

On the left we have the Renaissance Center in Detroit, Michigan.  It is the world headquarters for General Motors, and the middle tower is 73 stories high, making it the tallest building in the state of Michigan.

On the right we have the U.S. Bank Tower in Los Angeles, California.  It is also 73 stories high (although its 73rd floor is 271 feet higher than the RenCen’s), making it not only the tallest building in California, but also the tallest building west of the Mississippi River.

As you regular blog readers know, when I post skyscraper photos, it means I’ve climbed the equivalent number of floors on the StairMaster.  You regular blog readers that really pay attention and have good memories may recall that climbing 73 stories without stopping is one of my workout goals (click here for my current list of goals).

HEREGO, since I posted the above photos, it can be concluded (and I’m confirming it right now) that I’ve reached my StairMaster goal! It happened about an hour and a half ago, when I went to the gym and faced my most-hated of cardio equipment:

Last time I StairMastered, which you can read about here, I climbed 70 stories in 17 minutes, and then practically fell over.  So today I set the machine for 20 minutes, and started climbing away.  I covered the display with my towel, so the flight count wouldn’t tease me throughout, and removed the towel around 16 minutes in, and had already gone almost 70 stories!  I pushed through for two more minutes, and after 18 minutes, stopped it (and practically fell over).  But the display shared the good news:  81 stories!  Woo-hoo!

So in addition to reaching my RenCen and U.S. Bank Tower goal, I also can post this photo:

It’s the CITIC Plaza, all the way in Guangzhou, China.  It’s only 80 stories, but it will do in a pinch, as I had trouble finding a tower somewhere that was exactly 81.

I’m getting excited for my reward to myself for reaching this goal – to go to the restaurant at the top of the RenCen when I’m back in Michigan later this month.   The views are great, hopefully the food is good – regardless, I’ll be sure to post pictures!

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Workout Goal ACHIEVED!

  1. Tavi says:

    your blog is so exciting and sometimes emotional… keep it up, David! AND, as always, thanks for sharing.

  2. Homer says:

    hi, I’m native Guangzhou citizen studying in Los Angeles. I’m excited with you posted my hometown’s pic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

