Quickie Thanksgiving Post

It’s  just past 10pm on Thanksgiving Day, and I’m thankful for having an amazing family, and thankful that I was able to be with most of them today.

Although I didn’t blog about it, I had come up with a couple ideas to help get me through this food-based holiday without sending the number on the scale skyward .  One was that I would photograph everything I ate during my Thanksgiving dinner, and the other was that I wouldn’t take seconds of anything.  Technically, I ended up breaking both rules, but I did pretty good sticking to both of them.

Here’s what I ate during the big Thanksgiving meal.  Everything in it was homemade, most of it by my brother-in-law Justin, who loves Thanksgiving more than any other holiday, and is a really terrific cook.  One of his Thanksgiving traditions is oyster soup, so that was the first course:

Here’s my plate full of all the main Thanksgiving foods:

Clockwise from top, that’s stuffing, brussel sprouts, dark and white meat turkey, cranberry sauce, and mashed potatoes (with a little gravy).  Although I wasn’t going to get any seconds, I did eat more turkey, and about 1/4 cup more stuffing – neither of which I photographed.

Dessert:

A small slice apple pie, a small slice of pumpkin pie – both made by my mom.  I also ate a pumpkin cookie (unphotographed).

And that’s the damage from the big meal.  I ate a lot – much more than I usually eat during one meal, but also much less than I’ve probably ever eaten during Thanksgiving.  Here’s some good things about the day:  Breakfast was pretty healthy, I got some exercise (about a half-hour walk to the park and back), and tomorrow, bright and early, I’m going with both my sisters to take an exercise class.

Hope everyone out there had a lovely Thanksgiving, and Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Quickie Thanksgiving Post

  1. annie says:

    Food looks great! And now your back on that horse again. great job. wish i could be there visiting the famiy

  2. Tracy says:

    Sounds like you’re having a lovely time. It’s not about one meal, right? It’s about a lifestyle, and you are living a healthy lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

