First 24 Hours in Colorado

I’ve been in Colorado for about 24 hours now.  Lots to catch up on!

I got in last night at around 10pm.  Last night I slept on the futon in my sister’s library/loft.  I’ve been coming to my sister’s for Thanksgiving for the past 5 years or so, and this is the third year I’ve slept on this futon – every year since they moved in this house.  Here it is:

Yep – that is a Jerry Garcia woven blanket!

The very first night I slept here, two years ago, I got the crap scared out of me within minutes of lying down.  The futon frame wasn’t fully settled into position or something, and the whole thing shifted under me.  I became, in that instant, paranoid that I would fall off the futon, crash through the railing and fall to my death in the foyer below:

It didn’t help that I was also significantly heavier back then – nearly 150 pounds heavier.  As anyone who has spent any time in any college-related living situations know, futons aren’t really the sturdiest pieces of furniture around, and I was also rather concerned that I would break the futon.  That it would splinter and buckle and collapse under my weight.  And after it collapsed, surely I would tumble through the railing, and fall to my death.  I was literally scared to death.

But I slept on it for during visits for two years, and last night, I slept on it again.  This time, I didn’t hear it creak under my weight.  This time, nothing shifted.  It didn’t seem nearly so precarious.  It never occurred to me once that I would plummet from the second floor to the first.

Tonight, though, I’m playing it safe.  Despite my weight loss, and my much-lessened paranoia, I’m opting to share my 5-year-old nephew’s double bed.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

This morning, my sister and I dropped her kids off at school, and headed to her gym, the Bob L. Burger Recreation Center in Lafayette, Colorado.  It was really impressive!  It has a huge pool area, with a 25-yard lap pool, lazy river, 3-story water slide, smaller kids slides, waterfall…  I’ll take a photo because we’re going back to go swimming on Friday.  There’s also lots of cardio and weight equipment, much of it in a huge atrium with skylights, and a track that circles it on the second floor:

I ran around the track for 10 minutes.  Each lap equaled 1/16th of a mile, and I lost count after about 4 laps.  Then, I jumped on an elliptical for 22 minutes, and then I spied a machine I’ve never seen before:

It kinda looked like an elliptical, but different.  I was curious, so I jumped on.  It was tough to figure out, and then it was a blast.  You move your feet in a circular motion, like an elliptical, but you can vary how long your stride it – you can keep it nearly vertical, mimicking the motion of a StairMaster, use it like an elliptical, or stretch your stride out so it’s like you’re making long bounding leaps.  It’s called an Adaptive Motion Trainer, and you can learn more about it here.  Anyway – I was on that for 22 minutes as well – so add in the 10 minutes of running, and the 22 minutes on the elliptical, and that’s 54 minutes of cardio!  My sister, meanwhile, jogged on the treadmill for 60 minutes.  Not too shabby for either of us!

For dinner tonight, my sister and I made a delicious salad together:

Not a great photo, but it’s arugula, roasted butternut squash, toasted walnuts, dried cranberries, parmesan, and a warm apple cider vinaigrette.  It’s a recipe by Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa, and here it is.  It was delicious!  A big hit.  We also threw a big steak on the grill, but I only had about 1 or 2 ounces of it, to try it.  The salad was filling enough by itself.

Keep it up, David!

One Response to First 24 Hours in Colorado

  1. annie says:

    I wanna join that gym. Looks like a country club.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

