Sand, Salad, & Scale

Happy Sunday!  It’s the beginning of a new week, or the end of one, depending on how you look at it.  I’ve always thought of Sunday as the end of the week.  It’s much better for me to get through a tough week knowing there’s 2 weekend days at the end, instead of only one.  But this wasn’t a tough week – I’m just making conversation.

Went to the gym today, but not before finding the very valuable sand I was looking for in my shoes.  I’ve been pouring sand out of my shoes for days – well, ever since Thursday, when I went walking on the beach with Alix.  I thought I got all the sand out of them that day – but on Friday, the sand elves paid a visit and left some more for me.  The sand elves came again on Saturday, and again today.  I would like to hope that there will be no more sand in my shoes, but who knows.  Maybe this will go on for weeks.  This is what I poured out of my shoes today:

With my (hopefully) sand-free shoes on, I headed to the gym, and had a nice good long cardio workout:  30 minutes on the bike, and then 30 minutes on the elliptical.  I flipped through a couple magazines on the bike, and read a wonderful article in New York Magazine about the growing trend of vegetarian menus at high-end eateries, called “Why Vegetables Are the New Meat.”  It mentioned vegetables I’ve never heard of before, like salsify and spigarello, so I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for those at the grocery store, since I do enjoy bringing home things from the produce department that I’ve never tried before (read my most recent produce adventure, which failed, here).

The gym worked up my appetite, and so for lunch, I made myself a big ol’ salad.  I haven’t treated all my lovely readers to a salad picture in a while, so I grabbed my camera:

In the bowl:  One 5-oz can of Trader Joe’s albacore tuna (packed in water, no salt added), romaine, grape tomatoes, zucchini, green pepper, bamboo shoots (read about them in this post), and a few teaspoons of Trader Joe’s nonfat Sesame Soy Ginger dressing.  Deeeee-lish!

I saved the best part of this post for last: I had a weigh-in this morning, and I’ve down another pound!  I got to update my chart:

I also did something else new today – I photographed the scale.  I thought it’d be a nice visual.

I only look at the first three numbers.  I know I can easily become obsessed, and dealing with 10ths of pounds seems like a one-way ticket on the express train to Crazytown.

I’m now three pounds away from my next goal, and I’ve lost 149 pounds altogether!

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Sand, Salad, & Scale

  1. Glory says:

    How often do you do weigh-ins?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

