How Many Calories Do You Burn Changing A Flat Tire?

One of the great things about living in Los Angeles is having the ocean so close.  I’m not a big beach lover (I can count on 2 hands the number of times I’ve been to the beach in the 8 years I’ve lived here), but it really is beautiful.

I was reminded of that today because I went with my friend Alix for a walk on the beach.  She lives in Culver City, so I swung by her house, and then we headed to Marina Del Ray, about ten minutes away.  We walked about a mile down the beach or so, and they headed over to the marina, and walked among the docks.  I love walking on the beach – walking on sand is more difficult than walking on a harder surface, and you use your whole foot and more muscles in your legs.

Here’s some photographic evidence.  Me on the beach:

Me with some boats:

I had a really nice time catching up with Alix, who I hadn’t seen the beginning of 2010 (if I recall correctly).   And I saw some clever boat names, too – my favorites were ‘Sail La Vie’ and ‘Anchor Management.’  Wordplay!

While my morning was really enjoyable, my car’s day pretty much sucked.  Let’s start with this present that was left for me:

Thank you, City of Culver City, for the parking ticket.  You are correct, I failed to notice the signs saying that parking was prohibited on the east side of the street between 10am-2pm on Thursdays due to street cleaning.  What’s the damage?

Just $55!  Suh-weet.  Can I have you earmark my money to go towards arts education in the Culver City Unified School District?  Thank you very much.

Then, on the way home from Culver City (about a 30 minute drive), guess who gets a flat tire?  Me!  Luckily, it was just a few blocks from my place.  If I had gotten it on the freeway, and had to pull over to the shoulder, I probably would have cried.  The last time I had a flat (about ten years ago, when I was in college), my friend Becky was with me, and she knew what she was doing, so I barely paid attention.  Having to change a tire with traffic whizzing by at 70mph would probably give me a heart attack.  And when the ambulance came, that would lead to a traffic jam, and my death would anger thousands of Angelenos.  It’s not the way I want to go.

Thankfully, as I said earlier, I was a few blocks from home, so I was able to slowly inch my way back into my parking garage, and I changed the tire ALL MY MYSELF.  I know it’s not rocket science, but I’m still proud.  Even though it’s not health/food/exercise related, I still documented the process and will walk you through it in this blog.

My flat tire:

My car all jacked up:

Flat tire off, spare tire on:

Car lowered, jack removed, lug nuts tightened.  All done!

My first plan was to take it to the dealership first thing in the morning to get a new tire.  But since changing it took less time than I thought (about 45 minutes), and it was 4:30pm, I decided to head out and get the new tire today.   The Goodyear tire place less than a mile down the road didn’t close until 6, so I had plenty of time, and by 5:15, I was driving home $100 poorer but with a new tire.

Total car-related expenses today?  $155.  Unless I don’t pay that parking ticket. [Insert maniacally evil laugh here]

The good thing about getting the tire today and not tomorrow is that I’ll be able to attend two workouts that I really enjoy.  Latin Jam class is tonight (you can watch a video about it in this blog post), and tomorrow I’m heading back bright and early to the park to work out with Joe and Oscar, like I did on Wednesday.  Both would be off the table if I didn’t get a new tire, because getting to both involves freeway driving, which you’re not supposed to do on a spare tire.

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to How Many Calories Do You Burn Changing A Flat Tire?

  1. You’ve gotta burn at least a few changing a tire. ;)

    I like how you end your posts.

    Keep it up, David!

  2. Julie Mead says:

    Maybe you should take a bus today? ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

