What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Eight

Before we get to another rousing game of What’s in the RediSetGo?, I just want to go a quick chart update.  This morning I stepped on the scale (well, actually, it was yesterday morning, because I’m not posting this until after midnight), and I was down 1 pound!  That’s 148 pounds total, and now I’m only 4 pounds away from my next goal!  I added a new dot to the chart:

Now that that business is taken care of, let’s get on to the fun!

Only a couple days have passed, but it’s time for another installment of What’s in the RediSetGo? Grab your windbreaker and your chapstick, because today’s is a doozy.  If you’ve never played before, you may want to check out the prior installment just to get yourself up to snuff.

Is your Dixon Ticonderoga #2 pencil sharpened?  It’s time to play!

What’s in the RediSetGo?

OSTRICH BURGERS are in the RediSetGo!

Long-time What’s in the RediSetGo? players may have noticed that the RediSetGo cooking surface has been divided into two halves.  This is thanks to the RediSetGo Divider Pan, a subdividing insert.  It’s good for cooking two of something (duh).  Since mostly I cook for myself, I rarely use it, but I should use it more.  The Divider Pan can go from the RediSetGo straight into the dishwasher, making clean-up a breeze!

A good friend came over for dinner last night, and I had ostrich in my freezer that I had been dying to try.  I’ve had ostrich burgers before at restaurants, but never prepared it.  Here’s the package:

It was appealing at the store because it’s leaner and has less calories than chicken (4 oz has 110 calories and 1.5 grams of fat), but it’s red meat and looks like beef, and I haven’t been eating much beef lately.  In fact, hardly at all.  So I thought I’d give it a whirl!

It was delicious – tasted like beef.  I wouldn’t have been able to tell it wasn’t beef had I not known.  I put the cooked burger on a 100 calorie sandwich thin (which I’ve talked about before, in this post) with some lettuce, mustard and a little lite mayo:

Oh!  and for another topping I sauteed an onion, cooking it for about an hour until it got all caramelized:

I baked off some Ore-Ida Steak Fries (they’re 110 calories and 3.5 grams of fat per serving – the healthiest item I’ve found among Ore-Ida’s line-up of various frozen products made from potatoes cut up in different ways).  I also made a salad, so here’s my dinner:

I should confess that I probably ate about 2 servings of the steak fries, which I had doused in paprika, cumin, and a McCormick’s spice blend before they went in the oven.  They were good, and it’s not gonna kill me.

For your salad lovers, here’s a close-up of the salad:

Romaine, grape tomatoes, cucumber, radish, yellow pepper, orange pepper, capers, and I dressed it with lemon juice and a little bit of basil-infused olive oil.  There was leftover salad, which was part of my lunch today (a little soggy, thanks to sitting in dressing overnight, but not a big deal).

Keep it up, David!

9 Responses to What’s in the RediSetGo? Part Eight

  1. Dino says:

    David, nice job on the 1 lb loss since last week! I am intrigued that you cooked the onion for 1 hour. I cook mine much faster (10 min?), but yours look far better than mine ever do. I’m going to try your way next time. Not sure about the ostrich burgers, though. But glad you enjoyed them!

    • David says:

      Thanks! The idea is to let the natural sugars in the onion caramelize. If you add a little oil you can speed the process up, and if you add a sprinkle of honey or brown sugar, you can speed it way up – but I cooked this onion by itself – didn’t want the added calories. When you cook it for this long, they really shrink up significantly!

  2. Mom says:

    hmmmmm yummy!

  3. Amy says:

    Woohoo! Nice job David. Have you ever tried cutting sweet potatoes up and tossing a little olive oil on them and then sticking them in the oven? They are really good and healthier than fries. And a little trick is to slightly cook them in the microwave first so they do not take as long in the oven.

  4. Matt says:

    Your meal looks DELICIOUS. I am especially salivating over the salad. (Looks like my body wants greens!)

  5. Heather Kaye says:

    Ummm I actually like soggy salad. Is that weird?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

