One Day, Two Markets

Today was a long day, but a good one.  I got up early, as planned, and went to Sherri’s 9am aerobics class at Slimmons – and my friend Jen came along with me.  It was her first time to Sherri’s class, and about my 20th, and we both had a good time and had a good workout – 90 minutes, split up between dance aerobics, free weights, stuff at the bar (like squats and leg lifts), sit-ups and ab work, and stretching.  Phew.

Even though it was still drizzly, we headed over to the Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market afterwards.  I left my camera in the car because of the rain, but I ended up cleaning up pretty well:

Clockwise from top:

  • Baby lettuce mixture – $4.20
  • Sprouts (sunflower, mung bean, and red lentil) – $7.00
  • 1 enormous cucumber – $1.00
  • 1 head cauliflower – $1.00
  • 1 basket fresh figs – $4.00
  • 1 persimmons – $1.00
  • 3 bell peppers – $2.00
  • 1 basket cherry tomatoes – $2.00
  • 1 eggplant – $0.50
  • 1 oz Jamaican Jerk beef jerky – $2.00 (not pictured, because I ate it in the car on the way home)
  • Grand Total: $24.70 (more than I’m used to spending at the farmer’s market, but oh well.)

I’m not kidding when I say the cucumber is enormous.  Here it is next to an apple.

Enormous.

The persimmons is this week’s new-for-me item – every week I try to buy something that I’ve never bought before, to expand my horizons (in the past couple weeks I’ve bought cactus pears, pineapple guava, and passion fruit).  My persimmons:

The guys that sold it to me said it’d be ready in a day or two, and then I can cut it up and eat it like an apple.  They also said something about a few seeds, possibly in strange places, but they were both kinda talking at once, and all I was focusing on how rain was dripping on my head from the edge of the tent above me.

And I specifically picked this bell pepper because the strange growth appealed to me.  Have you ever cut open a red pepper and inside the cavity there’s a tiny green bell pepper growing in there?  A pepper in a pepper – always a fun surprise.  Here’s a pepper outside a pepper:

Later in the day, after working from home and taking a little nap-a-roonie on the couch, I realized that I was low in other non-produce types of food.  I needed oatmeal, sparkling water, and some protein sources.  So at 7pm, I headed out to a grocery store I had never been to before, Superior Grocers:

According to their website, they have 34 stores throughout southern California, and yet, this is the only one I’ve ever noticed.  It’s very close to my house, but I don’t have a good reason for never going in.  I drive by it every day on the way to work, and although you can’t really make it out in the photo, there’s a banner under the store name advertising their Anniversary Sale.  Seemed like a good time to check it out.

The store was crowded, a little cramped, and a little dirty, but they had some good prices.  I’ll have to go back when the Anniversary Sale is over and compare, naturally, but, among other things, I picked up 4 plums ($0.17), 2 bananas ($0.28), 1 large cantaloupe ($0.97), and a pineapple ($1.49 – 1 cent cheaper than at Super King!).  They had a small selection, but good prices, on Morningstar frozen fake meat products (I bought phony sausage links for $3.69); Yoplait Lights for $0.69 cents each (I bought 4), and…  eh. That’s enough of that.  I’m even boring myself.

On the flipside, however, I saw moldy grapefruit on display, and the flies that had already found them.  Yuck.  That’s when I pushed my cart right out of the produce section.

I’ll share a couple of the other things I bought later in the week, and OHHH! I nearly forgot! I’m pretty sure this dude was checking me out at Superior Grocers!  I can’t say I was looking my best – I confess I was still wearing my gym clothes, despite have finished the workout over 8 hours prior – but this guy somehow ended up strolling by me in 4 different aisles, and I could see in my periphery the sideways glances and lingering stares.  Too bad he had a skeevy, lecherous vibe and a cart overflowing with junk food, and the whole thing made me feel altogether uncomfortable.

But hey.  I can’t think of the last time that’s happened to me in public…  so…

Keep it up, David!

One Response to One Day, Two Markets

  1. Tracy says:

    I enjoy hearing your grocery lists. It’s just nice to hear how other people do things. I have a blog and I frequently (well, not so much lately) take pictures of my food and my shopping. People in other parts of the world are always fascinated by it!

    I have a new person checking me out lately as well. Unfortunately it’s a 190 year old man who keeps walking by my house! Even my slightly neurotic husband can not get jealous about that!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

