What’s In the RediSetGo? Part Two

This game is sweeping America.  If this is your first time playing, you’ll catch on to the rules quickly, I assure you.  For the backstory on my RediSetGo, click here.

I fired up the RediSetGo last night to make my lunch for today, which I ate a few hours ago.  So… What’s in the RediSetGo?

ROASTED EGGPLANT is in the RediSetGo!

Even though I committed to eating more veggies when I started my diet in January, I didn’t really start buying eggplant until a few months ago, when I start making farmer’s markets a near-weekly pit stop during my weekly routine.  In July or August or so, I saw these amazingly purple baby eggplants at one of the stalls that were no bigger than a medium-sized potato.  A perfect amount of eggplant for one person.  Since then, I’ve bought a baby eggplant or two about twice a month, and, more often than not, throw it on the RediSetGo for quick and easy cooking.

Sometimes, I slice it into long thin planks, and after they’re done roasting, I put a little dab of cream cheese on one end, load it up with sprouts or sunflower greens, and roll it up into a little bite-sized pinwheel.  I did something different last night, though, as I didn’t have any sprouts or cream cheese.  I sliced the eggplant into rounds, and smeared 2 tablespoons of Trader Joe’s Satay Peanut Sauce over all of them.

Could have wiped away those tomato seeds before snapping the photo, David.

Anyway – the sauce is delicious.  This is my second jar, and I’m almost done with it.  And those two tablespoons only added about 60 calories and 4 grams of fat to the eggplant.  And the eggplant was delicious.

Eggplant was available when I went to the 99 Cent Store to purchase produce for my 99 Cent Store Produce Challenge, but I didn’t buy any, because they were selling two large eggplants per package, and that’s a lot of eggplant for me to consume before they turn.  Oh, and while I’m on the subject, I pulled out one of the 99 Cent Store oranges I purchased to juice it this morning, and… it was moldy.  White, hairy, and puffy – three words that are perfect to describe a poodle, but not an orange.  I’ll spare you the photo, because it’s gross, and I didn’t take one anyway.  Here’s the deal:  I know fruit turns, and it could have happened from produce purchased anywhere, so I shouldn’t hold the 99 Cent Store responsible.  And I immediately checked the other 5 oranges, and they all looked fine.  But I know this wouldn’t have happened had I had the convenience of picking my own produce, instead of picking a pre-sorted bag of produce.  I don’t know if one moldy orange is a deal-breaker or not, in terms of returning to the 99 Cent Store for produce…  we shall see.

My dinner tonight was a big ole salad, and I took a photo because I thought it looked particularly lovely and colorful:

That’s mixed greens, tomato, mini bell peppers (from the 99 Cent Store!) in three colors (yellow, orange, and red), garbanzo beans, roasted piquillo peppers, capers, and lime juice.   And soon, a 1 ox box of raisins as I heading off to Latin Jam class.

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to What’s In the RediSetGo? Part Two

  1. annie says:

    remind me to tell you how to make a low fat veggie dip that my very health consciene friend(Lucy) taught me how to mae

  2. annie says:

    me= make

  3. rapomila says:

    Hi David, definitely Keep it up!, I dunno how many people have you inspired, but proudly am one of the many of them. A little bio, am 28 no boyfriend and 235 pounds but of course this isn’t the first time I tried to lose some weight, but it’s the first time I sing up to a GYM, also I have 2 mounts with food allergies and is because of so that am willing to turn around and change my life 180° basically all i can eat are veggies except my beloved tomato =( so sad, but It is impressive how much my life has change in the last 2 months am talking about energy, desire of life, optimism, health, etc. I love your blog I knew about it by th Ellen show and love how you post recipes, exercise, and all it is really inspire and I feel so happy for you so proud and so thankful that you have share this to all so I can be inspired, thank you so much!

    • David says:

      Thank you for the great comment! I’m so glad to hear about all the positive changes that have happened over the past two months, and flattered that you keep coming back to my blog for inspiration. Thanks for taking the time to write. KEEP IT UP! -David

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

