Employed Again

Remember about a week ago when I put up that post about how I had quit my job? Well, my unemployed days are over.  For now.  I’m employed again.  Today was my first day, and I’m really excited about it all.  On Monday, a friend and former co-worker contacted me and told me about a position they were trying to fill in his office.  It sounded interesting, and I sent along my resume.  Yesterday, my friend told me they wanted to bring me in for an interview.  I went in towards the end of the day, got the job, and today was my first day.  I’m excited for a couple reasons: the position is different than the work I’ve done before, which was something I was looking for.  It’s also short-term, lasting about a month or so.  So I get to dip my toes into a new pool, work with a friend and some cool new people, and wash my hands of it before Thanksgiving.

Of course, then I’ll be unemployed again, and the job hunt will resume, but I’m choosing to see this in a positive new light, and my first step into the scary world of freelance.  Freelance used to terrify me.  I don’t think of myself as a natural schmoozer, and I don’t think I’m that good at selling myself – which are two essential freelance skills, I think.  But I’m smart and talented and if I continue to work hard and deliver, than my work will speak for me, and with any luck I’ll continue to get jobs.  Some may be great, and some may not be, but the cool thing about doing short-term gigs is that sooner, rather than later, they all end, and I can move on to something else.

I saw two things today that I interpreted as signs that I was making the right move.  The first was early in the day:  When I was settling in at my new desk, I noticed there was only one thing that remained from the prior occupant – a fortune from a fortune cookie that was tacked on the wall:

I usually don’t pay much attention to fortune cookies, and I don’t plan on filing this one away in a safe-deposit box or anything, but it did give me pause for a brief second, during which I thought, ‘Yes, fortune cookie, I agree.  Thank you for pointing that out, and also thank you because now I’m craving moo shu chicken” (the craving was gone in an hour).

Towards the end of the day, during a meeting, we saw, out the window, evidence of actual weather!  In Southern California!   For those of you who don’t live in these parts, weather of any kind is a rare treat.  Normally it’s hot and dry, hot and dry – which is fantastic – don’t get me wrong – but repetitive.  So when we first saw dry lightning, and then the skies actually opened up for a 5-minute drizzle of actual precipitation, man oh man – all eyes were on the window.   I made a change and started a new job, and the weather changed on my first day… I know it’s a bit of a stretch but I took it as a sign anyway.  And as a lasting memento, I snapped a photo of the rainbow that appeared.

Looks like there was a pot of luck right near downtown Burbank.

My friends and readers were so kind after my post about quitting my job, and although I’ve already thanked you, I want to thank you again, quickly.  I think some time will pass and maybe I’ll look back at my quitting post and laugh at how dramatic I was and how ridiculous I sounded.  But I really did feel everything I wrote about, and I was honest about the internal struggles that came along with it.  I’ve never thought of myself as a brave person (nor do I think I’m cowardly either), but to read that specific compliment in your comments (both on the blog, and in personal notes/emails/voice mails) over and over…  well, I noticed, and I’ve thought about it.  I know the past few months have made me stronger and braver.  So thank you for bolstering me up.  Maybe next time I won’t have to lean so much on my friends and family, but it feels so good knowing you all are there if I need you.

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Employed Again

  1. Jim says:

    Awesome! Sounds like the perfect project. Can’t wait to hear more.

  2. Laura says:

    David, I watch for signs too, and I believe that signs are personal- no one else is meant to see or understand your signs but you. So keep on watching for them and who cares if anyone else gets it! :)

    • David says:

      Agreed. Done and done. But I had to share that rainbow picture – especially since I got ribbed at work today for getting up, mid-meeting, opening the blinds, and taking the photo!

  3. Nicolette says:

    Lean in whenever — you’re very good to lean on when our down times come. Congrats on the new job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

