The Innards of a Passion Fruit

The innards of a passion fruit are green.  Did you know that?  I didn’t!  I found that out when I cut one of the passion fruits I bought at the farmer’s market open:

It looks kinda gross, but trust me, smells so good.  I decided I would use them in a little sauce that I was making to go over ice cream, which I was planning to serve to a couple friends that were gonna come over tonight.  I scooped the green goo out of all three passion fruits:

My friend Heidi, in the comments section the other day, suggested I give the innards a go-around in the food processor, to aid in the separation of the seeds from the goo.  But since would involve digging my food processor out of the cupboard, dusting it off, and plugging it in, I decided to skip it, and just go apeshit crazy pushing the goo through a sieve with a rubber spatula:

I watched last week’s episode of “Top Chef: Just Desserts” while I did this.  That Seth guy makes for great TV!  In this episode, he broke down into a sobbing fit during the Quickfire judging, and then it was one confrontation after another with him and the various other cheftestants.  When he spit out the sentence “The Red Hots are for my mommy!” while crying and fiercely hugging the guest judge…  well, that may be the best moment of the season for this show  – that’s right, I’m calling it now, even though they’ve only aired 2 episodes.

Anyhoo, after mashing and mashing for about 15 minutes, I was left with a few tablespoons of passion fruit juice.  I put about a teaspoon in a class of sparkling water (another Heidi suggestion, and it was delicious):

The rest went into a saucepan, along with about 3 cups of frozen blackberries, and the juice of 1 orange.  The idea was that I’d cook it on low for a little while, bringing it to a simmer, and letting it reduce into a nice thick syrupy-type sauce.  For a while, it was going quite well, until I stepped away from the kitchen to go quickly send an email.  And you know how writing 1 email turns into writing 4 emails AND checking Facebook AND checking out your blog stats?  My suggestion to you is not let that happen while a sauce is reducing on the stove.  I came back into the kitchen, and it had reduced past syrup stage and into sludge stage.  Thank goodness it hadn’t burned on the bottom of the pot.  It was practically the consistency of molasses, so I decided I needed to thin it out a little bit (I forgot to take photos during this time…  I was too busy cursing under my breath).  I grabbed an orange and started juicing it, but it was not until after I added the juice of 1/2 the orange that I realized it wasn’t an orange, it was a small grapefruit.  So now I have sour sludge.  I stirred it for a little while longer and got it to my desired consistency, and then mashed it through the sieve, to separate out the blackberry seeds.

Because I let it reduce so much, I wasn’t left with tons of sauce, but it’s a pretty color, and hopefully, it won’t be too sour:

I tried a little bit of it, and it wasn’t bad…  I just think the grapefruit overpowers the passion fruit.  My friends and I decided to reschedule for tomorrow anyway – so I’ll let you know what they think!  Hopefully it’s a hit.

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to The Innards of a Passion Fruit

  1. haley says:

    hahaha! Sorry, I had to laugh when I read that you mashed and mashed for about 15 minutes just to come up with such a tiny amount of juice… I laugh because it’s SO TRUE! People don’t realize just how much effort goes into getting that passion fruit extract :).

    We have lilikoi (passion fruit) growing where I grew up and my cousins and I would climb posts to get as many as we could. Then we’d go home, bite a hole in the top, fill it with sugar and mix it all up. Haha–as you might tell, I no longer add all the sugar, but as a kid it was the greatest! snack! ever!! hehe, good times.

    Great job trying new things! I’m excited to read more of your blog :)

    • David says:

      OMG your lilikoi sugar snack sounds genius AND delicious. I grew up in suburbs of Michigan where nobody had much of anything edible growing… but even if they did, I wasn’t the sort of kid that could just climb a tree or post and get it! Climbing over fences to take shortcuts to the playground would make my nerves race… and now, the long way around is fine with me. Thanks for stopping by and hope you come back!

  2. Heather says:

    I wish I’d seen that Top Chef episode. but then, I think that your descriptions are like books and we all know that the book is ALWAYS better than the movie…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

